We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,259)
Filter reviews
2,259 results
Traveller rating
1,596
496
114
27
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,596
496
114
27
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge nanjing road people's square great hotel people's park walking distance lounge access excellent location breakfast buffet japanese restaurant high floor concierge desk corner room rooms are large fitness center hotel staff business trip
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 2,259 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

I visited this hotel during a long exhibition event, so I stayed here for a week.
Overall it’s okay, but when you’re getting into details (and compare with other Marriotts over the world) you get a bit disappointed.
Unfortunately I didn’t feel the international style that Marriott usually keeps around the world.
Most of personnel don’t understand English - we gathered a group of four persons trying to explain what we need, there’s no 24 hours bar that really a must when you are struggling with jet-leg.
Room service is swift and accurate - complimentary water is provided daily, sheets quality is perfect.
Breakfast is various and consists of two sections: Chinese and Western, food quality is great. During big events it’s advised to come earlier as you might get into a line for up to 15 mins
There are a couple of restaurants for a lunch and dinner - I visited Japanese a couple of times and that was absolutely great. Be careful not to order too much.
Location is nice - just a block away from Nanjing road, other 5 stars hotels are around which is very convenient for events and negotiations.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 36artd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankSanders, General Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Art D,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that we were able to impress you with our housekeeping services as well as with our extensive breakfast buffet on the third floor. I have also noted your comment for us to further enhance our English language training.

Man Ho, our Chinese Restaurant, is also certainly worth a visit on your next trip. Chef Yang is highly passionate and serves the finest dishes that you can find in Shanghai.

Art D, thank you once again for your comments which are of great assistance to further fine-tune our services and facilities.

Kind regards,

Frank Sanders
General Manager
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in August 2018, paid the extra for a skyline high floor room so got to take the express lifts. Long wait at check in even though we had checked in on the app. Room was functional, but without power sockets both side of the bed.

The hotel is corporate, you could be anywhere, and the decor etc is neutral and boring. You communicate using their app and so don’t talk to anyone.

Breakfast ok but too small a space at weekends, the queue was huge on Saturday, we went to costa coffee instead where the coffee is seriously better.

Lobby lounge was soulless also and the staff had - none of them - heard of a gin and tonic. We had to explain every night.

Good location, get the metro lines 1,2 or 8 to People’s Square and get out at exit 19. The hotel is one block away. They only give you 2 small bottles of water but the family mart is opposite and cheap.

They did late check out which is why they get 4 and not 3. For 700++ we got the room until 21h.

Needs some life put into it but it could be a great hotel if they tried harder.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Belgian_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Fantastic hotel! Staff met you on arrival with bottles of water and the taxi and concierge staff were great helping you in and out with your baggage. They ordered your taxis and had water while you waited also.
Room was stunning and very clean. Large comfortable bed.
Lobby bar was great and had great service and the coffee shop did lovely salads abbr pastries.
Location was excellent. Minutes walk to the shopping area and metro.
I could not fault it. Had a really lovely stay here and recommend it very highly.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ladylaura27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Very good hotel in the city center. Booked a one bedroom suite which has a second washroom. Nice city view (Pudong skyline) and huge executive lounge with good selection. Very friendly staff and nice restaurant. Just 20 meters to a big shopping mall. Can really recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankSanders, General Manager at Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Stephen D,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments and pictures with the TripAdvisor community.

Our “Executive Suites” are a recommendation and great value. Besides the additional living room, the suite also allows access to the 37F executive lounge where we serve breakfast, all day refreshments and evening cocktails and snacks.

Thank you for staying at our hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Frank Sanders
General Manager
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel is very well situated close to People’s Square and Nanjing Street so plentiful of restaurants, shopping etc. just around the corner. The rooms are nice, tidy and spacious enough. Staying on a high floor you will have a very nice view of central Shanghai. Also, having a morning jogging tour down to the Bund and back is an inspiring start of the day.
Price is reasonable for this very good standard.
Only remark I might have is that at times check-in may take long time due to too few staff to handle long queues.
So top score based on price/performance ratio.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MaxG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews