We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actual American Food Available”

Marriott Cafe (JW Marriott Shanghai Tomorrow Square)
Ranked #67 of 17,245 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: People’s Square
Description: Features the best in international casual dining; serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu. Recommendations: Indian Food, Sea food.
Reviewed 22 October 2017

China has a very rich culture and food is an important part of it. However, for a Westerner, it can get to be a little much after a few days (and avoiding foods washed in water can drag a little bit). My coworkers and I retreated to the Marriott Cafe and were absolutely delighted by the Wagu Beef Cheeseburger and fries. It sounds crazy, but five days of staring at alive-animals-turned-food and picking through crazy Chinese concoctions, a burger was exactly what we needed and we were all satisfied by it!

Thank AmyTurner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guillaume_m000, Manager at Marriott Cafe (JW Marriott Shanghai Tomorrow Square), responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear AmyTurner15,

We are delighted to hear that you and your coworkers enjoyed your meal at Marriott Cafe. Our culinary team takes a lot of pride to serve and prepare the best ingredients even for what might be considered as a simple dish.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon
Best regards
Guillaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

We had access to the club level breakfast but enjoyed the Marriott Cafe breakfast given its array of offerings.

Thank NV_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guillaume_m000, Manager at Marriott Cafe (JW Marriott Shanghai Tomorrow Square), responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear NV_Travellers,
Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food variety presented to you at breakfast time.
Our Culinary team understands the importance of this meal and make their outmost to offer the best possible experience with both local and western specialties.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon
Best regards
Guillaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I ate breakfast there every day. There were so many options for western and local culture. I appreciate the freshness of the food and the availability of so many options.

Thank PaulLloyd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guillaume_m000, Manager at Marriott Cafe (JW Marriott Shanghai Tomorrow Square), responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear PaulLloyd35,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our Culinary team is extremely focused on food quality and receiving such praise about it is the best reward there is.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Guillaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Overall i would rate the breakfast buffet here as average based on what is received for the price. Compared to other locations, this seems to be rather expensive for the food provided and it is extremely variable. On the first day, the food selection was to my wife's liking (she is Chinese and I'm american). I found it to be about the same as other Marriott properties which was disappointing as the JW is supposed to be the top of the Marriott line. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the food that I requested was prepared as I had ordered it. Overall the food was fresh and replenished often. My recommendation is if the buffet is included in your room price by all means eat there. If not, you might find some local restaurants on the Nanjing street to be a better value.

1  Thank Byron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Breakfast buffet has many items, Western and Chinese. Very good coffee. You can have dim sum and cook to order noodle as well.

Thank Hung N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marriott Cafe (JW Marriott Shanghai Tomorrow Square) also viewed

 

Been to Marriott Cafe (JW Marriott Shanghai Tomorrow Square)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing