We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$97
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$144
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$110
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$91
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,176)
Filter reviews
2,176 results
Traveller rating
1,268
584
212
65
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,268
584
212
65
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdin tai fungclub levelhigh end shoppingnanjing roadbit datedbusiness tripjing'an templebreakfast buffethotel is locatedexcellent hoteldumplingsfitness centerfrench concessionbusiness hotelshopping mallthe executive loungesubway station
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 2,176 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017

I visit Shanghai several times a year for business and like the Ritz Portman hotel because it is centrally located to nice restaurants, pubic transportation and shopping. Additionally, the hotel is located at Shanghai Center, that comprises several retail businesses, restaurants, grocery, banks, and medical facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company
1  Thank ladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz_Carlton_SH, General Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear ladd,

On behalf of the Ladies and Gentlemen in our hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai and spending the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. At The Ritz-Carlton, we pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for all of our guests to enjoy a warm, relaxed yet refined ambiance.

Once again, thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai soon.

Sincerely,

Tarik Temucin
General Manager
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

I stayed in the Portman for business during November 2017 for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. The staff were kind and extremely helpful and professional, especially Fiona from the Front Desk, who helped to book us a car at our next hotel in Ningbo for pick up at the train station. The rooms were lovely, as always and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The hotel is really centrally located with lots of bars, restaurants, shops and malls close by.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz_Carlton_SH, General Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Kate M,

On behalf of the Ladies and Gentlemen in our hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai and spending the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

We are delighted to know that the genuine care and personalized service provided by our lovely Fiona had made your stay memorable. At The Ritz-Carlton, we pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for all of our guests to enjoy a warm, relaxed yet refined ambiance.

Once again, thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai soon.

Sincerely,

Tarik Temucin
General Manager
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai
Sub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Very good service from check until the departure. Very professional and attentive staff, especially in the Ritz Carlton Club Lounge. Top quality furnishing and comfort. Good equipped fitness center and SPA. Tasty food.Very good location. In summary exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sabriaydin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz_Carlton_SH, General Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Sabriaydin28,

On behalf of the Ladies and Gentlemen in our hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai and spending the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

We are delighted to know that the genuine care and personalized service provided by Club Team had made your stay memorable. At The Ritz-Carlton, we pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for all of our guests to enjoy a warm, relaxed yet refined ambiance.

Once again, thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai soon.

Sincerely,

Tarik Temucin
General Manager
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

The location is great - very convenient for a lot of things. The room and hardware are not as good compare to other RCs. Probably because of location, the hotel seems having very high occupancy rate and they really don't mind if you stay there or not. As a Marriott Platinum member, I did not receive any appreciation and actually was told that my membership does not matter for anything.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puebloan1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz_Carlton_SH, Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Puebloan1995,

Thank you for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, and we appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us.

It is paramount to us that our most loyal guests receive the genuine care they undoubtedly deserve, and please be assured the details of your feedback have been shared with our team in an effort to improve our service.

On behalf of our Ladies and Gentlemen, I hope we will be given another opportunity to restore your confidence in us, as your loyalty and patronage are greatly valued. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly at Gloria.chen@ritzcarlton.com so as to better understand how we failed to live up to your expectations, and to have the chance to organize your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Gloria Chen
Assistant Quality Manager
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Once again my stay at the Portman exceeded my expectation..A special call out to the staff in the Ritz Club lounge..Angel, Peggy and the whole team "rocks the house".. Their spirit, professionalism, sense of humor, and attentiveness to details always leaves a lasting impression.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company
Thank scottpS9992AV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ritz_Carlton_SH, General Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear scottpS9992AV,

On behalf of the Ladies and Gentlemen in our hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai and spending the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

We are delighted to know that the genuine care and personalized service provided by Club Team, in particular Angel, Peggy, had made your stay memorable. At The Ritz-Carlton, we pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for all of our guests to enjoy a warm, relaxed yet refined ambiance.

Once again, thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai soon.

Sincerely,

Tarik Temucin
General Manager
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews