We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow
Nearby Hotels
US$182
US$158
CachetHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$365
US$302
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$101
US$95
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$220
US$202
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
US$145
US$124
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
78
283
149
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
283
149
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are cleanvery nice hotelmetro stationchinataxiatm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I stayed at the Rainbow Hotel (also called Hong Qiao Hotel) in Shanghai. The rooms are very nice and the service excellent. The best part is the room rates - at 600 RMBs, this was definitely value for money. As an extra measure, they threw in the breakfast as well. This hotel is right in the middle of the city and fairly close to the domestic Hong Qiao airport and station (which are next to each other). As we were travelling frequently out of Shanghai for day trips, this proved very convenient. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debabrata19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Rooms are very clean and service is very good. This kind of hotel & service . Very Cheap( 600 yuan).It is very difficult to get this kind of hotel at this price in India.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandran1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 23 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 January 2010

I stayed at the Rainbow Hotel ( Hong Qiao Bin Guan ) for 10 days in a standard room on the 9th Floor during January 2010. My travel experience to Shanghai goes back to 1994 and I have completed at least 40 trips to Shanghai. I found the room to be in its original decor from the late 80's early 90's. The carpet was dirty and stained, the toilet bowl leaked when in use and wall tiles cracked in the bathroom. TV reception was poor in most channels. Airconditioning was noisy and not warm enough on the coldest night.
During my stay, the Hotel was being renovated on the outside with jack hammering works on the outer walls that made any stay in your room during daylight hours impossible due to the noise and vibration.
Service was good when called upon, but it was poor in terms of free water not available all days during my stay, hotel staff barged into the room immedately after ringing the doorbell without waiting for me to get to the door. They caught me out naked twice !
the food and "entertainment" was woeful at the garden restaurant on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MenQiaoXi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

i went to Shanghai and stayed at this rainbow hotel, and i think it was pretty good, compared to the other hotels in China. This hotel provides English staffs(some even speak Japanese) so we had no problem staying here. Theres also a Japanese supermarket nearby.

Stayed: September 2009
Thank KoheiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews