We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$97
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$155
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
US$128
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$99
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$91
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
62
117
18
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
117
18
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping mallla olivared barchinese buffetwestern restaurantrooms are cleansongjiangstarbuckskfcbusinessenglishchina
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Upscale property located across from the Opera House and 2 blocks from the Convention Center.
This hotel is very new with expected great condition and a fitting addition to the Davenport collection. The staff are well trained, exceptionally nice and accommodating.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The New Century Grand Hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was spacious and clean, bathroom large, bed comfortable and overall standard good. TV with international channels, and available WIFI. Hotel close to University area which is easily and shortly reachable by cab. It is located just off a small shopping center - which was a welcomed opportunity after a long day.
The staff was not up to the expected standards regarding language (practically no English) and attentiveness. The breakfast offering was enormous, but unfortunately very little "Western" variety.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christopher306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Basically the hotel is in Songjiang, meaning 1h20 from Downtown Shanghai by metro, so if you're looking for a Shanghai stay, it's probably not the hotel you want.
Beside that, it's super net, clean, has a great gym and an excellent breakfast and staff is friendly.
In addition it's just next to a mall and a nice park, so quite a nice place to stay, as long as you don't expect to be downtown Shanghai

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

I stayed at the hotel for three days in Nov/Dec 2016. I stayed on the top 28th floor in an average size room. Together with the 27th floor, this was billed as the privilege floor. Well, we did get a small bowl of three fruit every day, and there was a fax in the room (?), but this did not make up for the deficiencies. The entertainment unit (TV) was billed as having over 100 Chinese and international stations, but only five Chinese ones were available; the toilet flush did not work properly and needed to be reset by working its intestines every time; other amenities were also less than a 5 star aspiration would promise. The room keys never worked properly and we had to ask the cleaning staff to let us into the room; the Sauna was broken on all three days, although we were assured it would be fixed every day. The main restaurant had ample food, but the seating sofas were old, too low and one could feel their springs. On the last day, we were supposed to be picked up by a driver. We inquired with the concierge, but they had 'no idea', although the diver had checked in with them and had been waiting for us for half an hour already. In sum, the hotel is ok, but far away from downtown Shanghai (18 km) and while perhaps an upper level 3*, calling it a 5* is overreaching and overly ambitious.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank holger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I came for a Business workshop and very disappointed. First room I got was smelling smoke so strongly that no chance to stay there. I asked non smoking room and they say me that all rooms are non-smoking which is not true. Finally I got a room in kids floor which was probably only real non smoking room. I attended conference in meeting rooms and they allow smoking there, just disgusting! In addition, telephone connection was so poor that you couldn't even make phone calls in your room. Also wifi was very slow. I'll definitely never stay there again and would not recommend this hotel. Only positive was the shopping mall in the same building.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank 909eevamariak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews