We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive view and not so impressive food”
Review of M on the Bund

M on the Bund
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 19/06
20:00
Ranked #69 of 17,624 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: US$0 - US$200
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Puxi (Downtown Shanghai)
Description: For more than 21 years, M on the Bund has played host to the most glamorous gatherings in Shanghai. The sweeping views from our Art Deco terrace, the warm glow of our velvet-and-wood interiors, the attentive service of our staff and delicious fare make any event shine. Summer cocktail receptions overlooking the glittering river, cosy winter feasts, formal parties, product launches and more—whatever the season and the event, we promise a memorable occasion. M on the Bund's menu features a wide array of delights, including classics like M’s Crispy Suckling Pig, the Slowly Baked, Salt-Encased Selected Leg of Lamb and Our Hot House-Smoked Salmon. M’s Very Famous Pavlova, with layers of crisp meringue threaded with cream and fresh fruit, is a favourite finishing flourish to a meal. And it's all homemade—we bake our own bread, churn our own ice cream, craft our fresh pasta by hand and bring only the best to your table.
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Right on the bund.
There is a balcony where you can dine and take pictures.
We had a dinner for party of 10. Service was good but food was underwhelming. Appetizers are much better then main dishes

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank JVDZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 237 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended as it was our last night, before traveling to Beijing. Husband & I decided on the taster menu which we throughly enjoyed. Staff very attentive without being pushy. Ask for a terrace table as the view is fabulous.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank carolu691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

A local couple took 8 of us to dinner. This place has a good reputation as the first upscale western restaurant located in the Bund with views of Skyline of Pudong ( in 1999 not as spectacular as today.). Nowadays many locations also offer excellent views like Terrance of Peninsula , Peace and Marriott hotels We sat in a round table inside , nice decor , attentive service and decent wine list with Australia flair . The menu is well balanced We had a variety of appetizers and main courses. The lamb and Pork very good. As a whole is good but not outstanding. This is a good place but may need to reinvented itself to compete with other places like 81/2 for supremacy of food

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank 69tiger888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

The view from the terrace is amazing. Especially in the evening Shanghai's tallest buildings look amazing with wonderful colors. Oriental Pearl Tower in different combinations of colors and wonderfully lit old buildings at The Bund look amazing in the evening. Food is excellent. My beef was wonderfully cooked to perfection in medium rare, and the raspberry souffle dessert was perfectly fluffy. Service was very good and the location at The Bund is awesome.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank terot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Beautiful classic restaurant with spectacular view of the Shanghai bund. Highly recommend to secure an open balcony table. Fine dining menu with wide choices. Well covered long wine lists to pick but on pricy side.
Bisque soup well prepared so as the grass fed Australian beef with foiegrass along with truffles and sautéed spinach.
The crispy sucking pig with braised cabbage roll, currants and pine nuts.
Service above average.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tuea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed M on the Bund also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to M on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.