We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Shanghai Must-do!”
Review of M on the Bund

M on the Bund
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 24/06
20:00
Ranked #69 of 17,620 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: US$0 - US$200
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Puxi (Downtown Shanghai)
Description: For more than 21 years, M on the Bund has played host to the most glamorous gatherings in Shanghai. The sweeping views from our Art Deco terrace, the warm glow of our velvet-and-wood interiors, the attentive service of our staff and delicious fare make any event shine. Summer cocktail receptions overlooking the glittering river, cosy winter feasts, formal parties, product launches and more—whatever the season and the event, we promise a memorable occasion. M on the Bund's menu features a wide array of delights, including classics like M’s Crispy Suckling Pig, the Slowly Baked, Salt-Encased Selected Leg of Lamb and Our Hot House-Smoked Salmon. M’s Very Famous Pavlova, with layers of crisp meringue threaded with cream and fresh fruit, is a favourite finishing flourish to a meal. And it's all homemade—we bake our own bread, churn our own ice cream, craft our fresh pasta by hand and bring only the best to your table.
Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

What an incredible evening! Amazing food, spectacular views, outstanding service, and fantastic value. A trip to Shanghai would not be complete without dinner at M on the Bund. Thank you for an unforgettable experience.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank Dee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2020

Beefsteak & Burgundy Club #238 had our annual holiday dinner event at M on the Bund this year. As carefully planned with the team at M, led by GM Matthew Nilon and Executive Chef Hamish Waddell, our dinner event (36 members and guests in total) went really well. Highlights were:

1) Really tasty food, cooked perfectly, with the highlights being King Prawn, Clam Voulete, Venison Carpaccio and Tomahawk Steak. Along with Champagne to start with canapes, we paired wines with each of M’s courses, which tailored the entire meal experience nicely.

2) Exceptional service - Matthew, Johnny and team took care of us in an amazing way! We cannot say enough great things about how we were treated from beginning/planning through execution of the event.

3) Great space for a large (semi-)private group event - the Glam space is perfect, especially for a holiday vibe, Champagne reception, dining with a Bund/lights view, after dinner cocktails in the back, and a room dedicated for cigars with our digestives.

In summary, we were very happy with our overall experience at M on the Bund, and are looking forward to future Club events there with Matthew and team.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Seth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2020 via mobile

Brilliant venue, terrific views of the waterfront especially as the light fades.
Food and service outstanding well worth a visit

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Richieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2020

Attend a wine dinner that was focusing on Cloudy bay Wines and Seafood. Hamish the presented an outstanding menu well balanced with tasting Wines.

View over the bund was ok , but it was cloudy...

Service was amazing... worth a visit

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kiwiawayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

If you can get a table on the terrace you get wonderful views down onto the Bund and across the Huangpu over to the Pearl Tower. On top of this the food is delicious even if the portions may leave you wanting more...so have a dessert too!

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank CumbrianAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-17sh, General Manager at M on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Dear CumbrinAbroad,

Thank you for your very nice review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your time at M on the Bund and happy to give us a glowing review.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Happy Dining!
The M Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed M on the Bund also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to M on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.