We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Charm at its Best”
Review of St. James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. James Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Selma
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Selma is a hidden gem of the south and the heart of the Civil Rights movement. Since it's a small town, hotel offerings are limited. I highly suggest you choose the St. James hotel (and 'splurge' for one of four suites - especially one facing the Alabama River). I would rate the hotel 3 stars but it's worth the experience. It's also the best hotel in Selma.

The suites are HUGE and include a walk-in closet, working fireplace, fridge, and shared patio. The service is also top notch.

Here are some things to consider before planning your trip:
The rooms have window air conditioners - I would suggest travel in the fall/spring. The room was WARM in early June.
Room service is not available but the restaurant is open late.
Adjoining rooms are available.
Room rates are affordable ($80-100/night - The suite was $100)
The wi-fi is slow - don't plan on getting work done.
The hotel offer complementary continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Even if you're a hotel snob, let it go for a day to stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank fortitude8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

My husband went down to eat at the hotel and to see what the Birmingham News recommended as one of the most haunted spots in Alabama. We ended up staying the night in the "haunted" room. The air conditioner did not work well and there was a mildly sour odor to the room, but the bed was comfortable, the view was spectacular, and the staff was super friendly. With a few cosmetic changes, this hotel could be a wonderful destination. By the way, the night passed without "disturbance." LOL

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chauntiel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

Desk clerk Annie n Monica n Bartender
Are the nicest most beautiful people ever.
I jst had to mention them...they made our stay sooooooo wonderful.
An funny we laff n laffed.
Thank you
It was great meeting you.
Have a wonderful summer.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank zeusnzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

We spent the night in Selma & this appeared to be the only hotel here. The building itself is very beautiful, just a bit run down. As are many buildings in Selma, but this is all part of its charm. The hotel is basic, you can by no means call this a lavish hotel. But the river view is gorgeous & our experience of the hotel was absolutely fine, the staff were friendly & helpful & our stay was very comfortable. Don't go here thinking you'll be getting anything other than the basics but there's no need to be wary, this place is fine & anything more updated would be completely out of place in Selma. It's got it's own unique charm which should be appreciated!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hardoAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

I made a reservation through TripAdvisor's link to Booking.com. After a tiring 4 hour drive, I arrived looking forward to a relaxing evening in an historic hotel. GUess what? NO reservation, NO rooms available. ST James does NOT accept reservations through booking.com. So I sit in a crummy motel writing this, listening to traffic go by at 11 at night.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank KK61273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selma
4.8 km away
Hampton Inn Selma
Hampton Inn Selma
#1 of 10 in Selma
266 reviews
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma
2.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Selma
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Quality Inn Selma
Quality Inn Selma
#4 of 10 in Selma
72 reviews
36.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Address: 1200 Water Ave, Selma, AL 36703-4471
Region: United States > Alabama > Selma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Selma
Price Range: RM 234 - RM 507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. James Hotel was built in 1837 and is one of the few river front hotels, which remained standing after the Civil War. During 1881, it is reported that Jesse and Frank James were guests of the St. James Hotel. The exterior doors and window casings are all original to the hotel. The cast iron fireplace in the lobby is also original. Most of the furniture in the public areas are period antiques bought at Paris antique auctions or donated by individuals. The tea set in the lobby was donated by a lady who is ancestor of Catesby Jones, who was the Commander of the Merrimac in the Civil War. Fabrics and colors used throughout the hotel are historic and have been used to reflect the period when the hotel was in operation. The period of architecture reflects the French influence used extensively during the 1800's. The fountain in the courtyard is symbolic of the artesian well, which was located on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing