We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
12
25
13
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
25
13
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsedmund pettus bridgevoting rightslovely old hotelour room was spacioushauntingrumored
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Found this place online, when we decided to see historic Selma on our road trip this summer. The place has so much potential, and so much history it was a shame to see that it wasn't fully booked and more alive. I was in a king room with my husband and a friend was in a queen room. Both on the third floor with a shared balcony overlooking the river and Edward Pettus Bridge. If the balcony wasn't full of old and smelly water from the ACs it would've been a perfect place to sit and relax in the evening.

The rooms are simple and has a historic charm, but needs a bit of TLC, especially the sliding doors that are impossible to move if you want to avoid loud squeeky noices.

Also, they have breakfast, but only when there are enough guests to serve it to. If there isn't the cook isn't even in... We couldn't find the breakfast, so we assumed there wasn't enough guests at the hotel when we were there.

It is a shame if a place as historic as the St. James Hotel doesn't get more guests than it seemed to during our stay, so I urge people to go there. Stay at the hotel while you dig in to the history of the city and its surroundings. If you're in to history, African American history or even old abandoned cities, this hotel has the perfect location as a head quarter. It is very affordable as well ;)

Street parking is free, so is the wifi Connection.

Last, do NOT book your room through booking.com, it won't reach the hotel. The hotel has asked to be removed from that site numerous times, but they're still there....

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank InaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Selma is a hidden gem of the south and the heart of the Civil Rights movement. Since it's a small town, hotel offerings are limited. I highly suggest you choose the St. James hotel (and 'splurge' for one of four suites - especially one facing the Alabama River). I would rate the hotel 3 stars but it's worth the experience. It's also the best hotel in Selma.

The suites are HUGE and include a walk-in closet, working fireplace, fridge, and shared patio. The service is also top notch.

Here are some things to consider before planning your trip:
The rooms have window air conditioners - I would suggest travel in the fall/spring. The room was WARM in early June.
Room service is not available but the restaurant is open late.
Adjoining rooms are available.
Room rates are affordable ($80-100/night - The suite was $100)
The wi-fi is slow - don't plan on getting work done.
The hotel offer complementary continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Even if you're a hotel snob, let it go for a day to stay in this hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank fortitude8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

My husband went down to eat at the hotel and to see what the Birmingham News recommended as one of the most haunted spots in Alabama. We ended up staying the night in the "haunted" room. The air conditioner did not work well and there was a mildly sour odor to the room, but the bed was comfortable, the view was spectacular, and the staff was super friendly. With a few cosmetic changes, this hotel could be a wonderful destination. By the way, the night passed without "disturbance." LOL

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chauntiel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

Desk clerk Annie n Monica n Bartender
Are the nicest most beautiful people ever.
I jst had to mention them...they made our stay sooooooo wonderful.
An funny we laff n laffed.
Thank you
It was great meeting you.
Have a wonderful summer.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank zeusnzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

We spent the night in Selma & this appeared to be the only hotel here. The building itself is very beautiful, just a bit run down. As are many buildings in Selma, but this is all part of its charm. The hotel is basic, you can by no means call this a lavish hotel. But the river view is gorgeous & our experience of the hotel was absolutely fine, the staff were friendly & helpful & our stay was very comfortable. Don't go here thinking you'll be getting anything other than the basics but there's no need to be wary, this place is fine & anything more updated would be completely out of place in Selma. It's got it's own unique charm which should be appreciated!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hardoAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews