We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western University Inn
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Reviewed 31 January 2017

This is an older place that could use some work. The front office is small, the staff are not very helpful (ie: our remote for the TV did not work, they gave us another one which also did not work - we think the batteries were dead - the woman said oh well, we can't do anything about it.) The room itself has all the basics, but again it is nothing exceptional. It was somewhat noisy, which was a surprise not being anywhere near the University craziness. Weird entrance and exit to the place, although it is convenient to most things, For the price, I'd go someplace else.

Room Tip: traffic noise is a problem. I would ask for a room not facing the roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 February 2017

Dear Eileen S,

Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 205-556-9690.


Sincerely,

Tracy Smith Luker
General Manager
BEST WESTERN University Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Great place to stay, Great staff and affordable. Breakfast was great Good and hot food. Coffee and juice were good Breakfast area was keep clean and organized. Staff welcomed you in and wished you a great day when you left.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Called the motel the day before our visit and was greeted on phone by Tracy, the manager. She assured us a room would be available the following night - just call her a bit before we arrived. Followed up on her suggestion and things were super smooth. We travel with a small dog. The motel has "pet rooms". Could only get room w/2 Dbl beds - not sure if Kings are available in pet rooms. Sort of a turn-off but that's business - I get it. The room was good - furniture shows wear but overall - clean, OK.
Great parking. Doors open to outside (some may not - don't know). Very close to I-20 so you get a bit of noise. Eateries are all around. Breakfast was the normal fare and was well presented. Coffee was great!
Price was a bit more than I expected but I had the choice to go somewhere else and didn't ...so no complaint there. Overall - GOOD!

Room Tip: King beds may be available in "pet rooms" but none were when I checked in. Pet room faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I first stayed here in November 2016 after fleeing an awful experience at different hotel. Stayed here again Jan, 12, 2017. It is pet friendly (I was traveling with a dog) and I feel safe here. The rooms are clean. The drain in my room tub (153) was very sluggish and needed work. Most of all the staff has been very welcoming each visit. Some noise in the morning as I tried to sleep til 7 am, and my fellow travelers were banging around at 5 am. I use a white noise machine so that helped.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Very poor quality. People checked out. I would call for assistance and get no help. The television went out and did not come back on for a week. I was contacted to stay, so I continued the duration of my stay unwillingly.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
2.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
1 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Tuscaloosa, AL
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#20 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#5 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
326 reviews
6.3 km away
Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa Downtown
0.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
#18 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn

Address: 3801 McFarland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-2403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#4 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#9 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range: RM 370 - RM 472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Award Winning Tuscaloosa, Alabama hotel providing convenient access to key area attractions including the University of Alabama, Alabama Museum of Natural History and the Bama Belle Riverboat. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Park Plaza where guests will experience the best in award winning customer service and accommodations at an unbeatable value. Guests staying at this Tuscaloosa hotel will be conveniently near the Bryant Denny Stadium, Paul Bear Bryant Museum, the University of Alabama campus, Battle Friedman House and the Black Warrior Railroad.The BEST WESTERN Park Plaza proudly offers 117 well-appointed, newly remodeled guest rooms each complete with cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Guests staying at this Alabama hotel will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast buffet (Tuscaloosa's best hotel breakfast which includes: sliced breads, bagels, croissants, muffins, doughnuts, French toast cinnamon rolls, cereal, oatmeal, grits, eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, fresh pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and three juice choices. ), Tuscaloosa's largest hotel swimming pool, exercise facilities and business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tuscaloosa
Park Plaza Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa Park Plaza
Tuscaloosa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing