We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
431
374
104
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
374
104
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hi express free shuttle san jose costa rica free breakfast rosti pollo denny's restaurant next morning hour shuttle an early flight rental car last night bagged breakfast shuttle service rooms are clean yogurt stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Easy to reach (a shuttle drives by regularly just outside the arrival gate) and was within arriving in Costa Rica at the hotel within 5 mins, which I really appreciated given the late hour. I was only there for 5 hours (literally the same staff was there during check in and check out), but the room was clean and I felt well rested departing. Despite not being able to use much of the extras, I was impressed by the included gym, pool, free wifi, free local calls and international calls for a cheap price. Got a small breakfast baggie to go since I left too early for regular breakfast. It had a banana, vanilla muffin, cereal bar and a juicebox. Not very nutritious, but I appreciated the effort. Staff is friendly and speaks english. I had a good stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zuleika123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear Zuleika123, thank you so much for posting your great comments about your stay in our hotel.

We are delighted that you had such a restful stay even though it was so short because our guests' comfort and well being are always very important for us so that they can be truly satisfied and happy about having chosen to stay with us.

It is also great that you found our services so helpful like our free 24 hour shuttle service to and from the airpor, the free wifit and our bagged "to go" breakfast (for those guests departing before 6 a.m., the time when our delicious and assorted complimentary breakfast is served) among others. We really do hope that the next time you stay with us, you will be able to stay a little bit longer so you can experience everything the hotel has to offer.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We landed late in to San Jose (midnight) and had a 8am flight to Nosara (Nature Air) the next morning so we needed to stay relatively close to SJO. The Holiday Inn Express fit the bill perfectly. Right when we walked out of the airport doors, the free shuttle was there and we were off. A quicj 10 minute shuttle ride and we were there.

The next morning, same thing. Free shuttle back and we were on our way.

Room Tip: a tad expensive $121 USD) for a HIE, but the proximity and ease made it AOK
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Dear Matt E, thank you so much for sharing your superb comments about your stay in our hotel.
We are ecstatic to learn that our hotel was the perfect hotel for you, since you found our location very convenient (we are less than a mile away from the airport), our accommodations so comfortable and our services so great, especially our free 24 hour shuttle transportation to and from the airport. We really strive to make our guests feel completely comfortable and to see them totally satisfied during their entire stay, that way, they will always know that this is their home away from home and that they can always entrust us with their comfort, satisfaction and well being.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We were very disappointed in this stay. We were first placed in a room with a non-functioning AC unit. We stay at couple of hours while the hotel changed out the old AC unit twice with two other old AC units, which also did not work. We were eventually moved to a room with a better functioning AC unit but it never really became cool enough to be comfortable. I was also disappointed to learn there was no bar/lounge as list on the website amenities and the only places to eat or drink were a grossly overpriced Denny's and a local chicken place outside the hotel. While suffering through the AC issue, I was able to locate other hotels near the airport with far better options for eating or having a cold beer after a long travel. I will say that they staff were very nice, much as all of Costa Rica but I won't stay at this hotel again. There are far newer options with better amenities for the same price.

Room Tip: It is very close to airport and highway so if you are going to stay here request a room on the opposite side from the road
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Glenn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear Glenn E, thank you for sharing your comments about your stay in our hotel, we really appreciate our guests' feedback.

We are a hotel which is totally committed to our guests' comfort, satisfaction and well being so we do everything we can to ensure and guarantee that their stays are always a very pleasant and relaxing experience so we feel very bad about all the inconveninece you experienced with the A/C, we ask you to please accept our most sincere apologies for all the trouble. You saw how important our guests' satisfaction is for our entire staff since they did everything they could to help solve the problem and they always comply to our guests' requests as quickly as possible and with a big smile across their faces, because for all of here at the hotel, more than a job, it is a pleasure seeing our guests glowing with satisfaction.

We would really appreciate if you could contact the hotel directly either by sending us your email or your telephone number because we would really like to make it up to you and because we really like you to tell us which was the website in which you saw that our hotel has a bar/lounge so we can immediately see to it that such information is changed. We have a Hospitality Promise to all our guests, and since your stay with us was not up to your expectations, we would like to make it up to you by honoring this promise which states: "Making your stay a complete success is our goal. Just let our Manager on Duty or front desk staff know if any part of your stay isn’t satisfactory. We promise to make it right or you won’t pay for that part of your stay¨. It is our desire and wish to honor our promise to you by making it a reality so please contact us as soon as possible.

Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced, we are very sorry that they happened.

It was a pleasure being able to serve you. Thank you so much for staying with us. We will be looking forward hearing from you very soon.

Best regards. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

San Jose traffic can be a little crazy in my experience so I wanted a hotel near the airport for my final night in the city here on business.

Its basic, but does everything you need. Staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast is good, lots of choice and the bedrooms are comfortable.

Only complaint is the breakfast area is a little small so some of my team had to eat their breakfast whilst sat on the lobby area sofas, but as i said, its basic but good!

I wouldn't stay here if i was visiting the city on holiday, but for one night when you have an early flight the next day its great.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank answersonapostcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear cazerous, thank you so much for posting you comments about our hotel, we really appreciate them.

It makes us very happy that our hotel was such a comfortable place for you to stay, providing very comfortable accommodations, excellent services (like our delicious and assorted complimentary breakfast which you liked so much), with a very attentive and friendly staff and with such a convenient location (we are less than a mile away from the airport) since there is nothing better than seeing our guests depart so happy and very satisfied with our services.

We are very sorry that you found our breakfast area so small, we are going to share your comments with our Management so that they can take it into account since our guests' satisfaction is so important to us.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Check in was fast, freindly and efficient. Bed very comfortable and room clean. Breakfast sufficient. Some noise from overhead planes but bearable. My big gripe was at 2am there were other guests making noise in the hallway ......door knocking, laughing, carrying on etc which seemed to last in excess of over half an hour. In the end I got up and asked them to shhhhhh!!! Not the hotel's fault I understand, but I wondered why no staff member had asked them to be quiet. We were on the ground floor after all, just around the corner from reception. Then at approx 4am an alarm went off on the bedside phone.....hence to say I was pretty grumpy after a crappy nights sleep. Shouldn't housekeeping have been responsible for 'disarming' this alarm?......sorry, I'm not normally one to complain but I'm not a happy camper if my sleep is disrupted for no good reason! Other than this, I would happily recommend this hotel for a basic overnight airport stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear funtravelsmelbourne, thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay in our hotel.

We are truly sorry that you had such a sleepless night because there is nothing we want more than to see our guests very well rested and totally satisfied for staying with us. We thrive on our guests comfort and well being, so it is very important for us to make sure that our guests have the most comfortable accommodations, excellent services (like our complimentary breakfast which you liked so much among many others) and an excellent staff that are constantly making sure that they have at hand everything they might need and complying with their needs and requests as quickly as possible. We assure you you that if you had informed our front desk about the disturbance you were experiencing, they would have immediately send someone from security to make sure that the people making the noise would stop, because as we mentioned before, our guests comfort and satisfaction are so important for us. Regarding the alarm, we ask you to please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience, we are very sorry that it happened.

It has been a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews