We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Hotel Mango Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mango Valley
Ranked #2 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We found this place on Trip Advisor. Because we stayed 6 nights, we had a free shuttle from the airport. We were very happy to see a friendly face coming out of the airport. Jose drove us to their place. It has a great sceneries of the country side, coffee fields, Poas volcano and their beautiful gardens.
The breakfast, included in the price, comprised fresh fruits, bacon, eggs and hash brown. There is also delicious home-made papaya jam. When my husband said he liked yogourt with the fruits, there was always a bowl for him and he really did appreciate it.
Maite is a great source of information. We did not have a car, so we used the public buses. She gave us a map, suggested great restaurants, etc. etc.
The day of our departure, she quickly found us a taxi, as the one we ordered was no longer available.
The rooms are cleaned, with a mini kitchenette which we used. Free Wifi, TV with a few English channels, use of BBQ, etc... Maite and Jose did everything to make us feel comfortable.
The only advise is, since it is cool at night, there is no air conditioning. The windows being opened, you hear the sounds of the night.. There is this loud bird that enjoys singing in the night. If you are a light sleeper, I suggest bringing ear plugs.
It was a great stay and we really enjoyed it. Thank you Maite and Jose.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loubuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hello Louise!

Thank you very much for your comment! It is very nice to get a good review from great travelers like you. Sometimes we need a small injection of energy and you have given it to us :)

Hope you enjoyed in Manuel Antonio!!

Hugs,
Jose and Maite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mango Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Jose's wife(joke), Jose and Nuria(housekeeper) were all fantastic, friendly and extremely helpful with information, directions and recommendations. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves with one exception! It was only two weeks! We absolutely fell in love with the area and are planning on relocating there within the year. I didn't unpack for 5 days because I wasn't sure if I was staying and not going back! Miss you three!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoRo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Jose's wife?? Hahahaha!!! I'm seriously considering a tattoo of my name on my forehead hahaha!!

Thank you very much for your comment! We hope in the coming months you became our neighbors. Maybe if you are here we can think about going to "La Electa" for breakfast hehehe

See you!! Pura vida!!

Maite and "Maite's husband" ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Mango Valley Hotel is a basic hotel, North of Grecia and close to the Poas Volcano. We received a warm welcome by the hosts who love their job and are giving great advice. The rooms are rather basic and have a small kitchen, comfortable beds and a little balcony with great views of the mountains. The scenery is beautiful and the hosts really go out of their way to assist you. The road leading to the hotel is covered with huge potholes, one of the more extreme ones in Costa Rica we have experienced. A 4WD is a pre not a must here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hello Bas!

Thank you for your comment! We have sent it to our City Council so they can fix the road as soon as possible. After the wet season the roads are damaged in Costa Rica and are fixed in dry season but it can not be everywhere at the same time...

We wonder if you wanted to say "simple" instead of "basic" about our rooms... Because those two words are very similar for a non-English speaker (like us) but it makes a important difference. We hope so :)

We wish you the best for your life! Pura vida!
Jose and Maite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Located this hotel on the internet while in Costa Rica and wanted to get closer to San Jose as the leave date approached. We ended spending 3 nights here and were able to visit close attractions and small towns, using only the local buses and a couple of taxis. Wonderful accommodations and great breakfasts (especially the papaya jam made by Jose). Met several other guests and we all seemed pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: There are only 6 cabins but we had the best view of all I believe.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goody945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hello girls!!

"Jam made by Jose"?? HAHAHAHA!! You're kidding me!! :):):) I must say that all that Jose does is help me removing the jam, Jose is the worst chef in the world!!! hehehe
Anyway we are happy that you enjoyed Mango Valley, we'll continue cooking our famous jam :)

Be happy!
Jose (the chef) and Maite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Jose and Maite have created a lovely oasis outside of the hubbub of Grecia. With their command of several languages and their commitment to hospitality they are a welcoming homebase for travels within the Alejuela area. Views from the property are fantastic. Breakfasts are fresh and satisfying. They offered us inside information on places to visit within the area as well as turning us on to a great restaurant just up the road. The picture on their website of the parking lot does not do it justice. Mango Valley is run by remarkable people who have chosen to try something different outside of the corporate rat race by offering uncommon hospitality in a gorgeous setting.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the valley was the best!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoValley, Propietario at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hello Annie!
Thank you very much for your comment!!
We are going after a dream like Eric, life is short and we have to do what makes us happy :)
We wish you the greatest happiness in your life, maybe we meet again...
A big hug,
Jose and Maite

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
8.4 km away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
683 reviews
14.5 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
10.9 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
6.2 km away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
76 reviews
6.1 km away
La Terraza Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Valley

Address: 300 mts. antes de Pipasa | Carbonal arriba de Grecia, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range: RM265 - RM336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Valley is set in the green hills just outside Grecia. It offers a garden with an outdoor pool and fantastic views. The rooms at the Hotel Mango Valley feature free Wi-Fi and a TV with cable channels. Each one has a private bathroom and a kitchenette with a hob, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel serves a daily full breakfast in the garden, overlooking the coffee plantations. Takeaway meals are available on request from local restaurants. La Paz Waterfall Gardens is 45 minutes' drive away, and the charming town of Sarchi is a 15-minute drive away. Juan Santamaria Airport is 40 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Mango Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing