We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Valley Views”
Review of Hotel Mango Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mango Valley
Ranked #2 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Mango Valley. We stayed in one of the valley view cabins with a great little kitchen and my favorite Costa Rican rocking chairs out on the deck. The grounds and pool area are very pretty. Unfortunately the pool water is very cold....I couldn't get in! It was a great location from which to visit the Poas volcano and to visit Sarchi. Javier is a very kind host and was able to answer all of our questions regarding directions, etc. The complimentary breakfast was a nice way to start each day. The drive from the hotel to Poas volcano is very beautiful. As advised by others, do go early and do dress warmly...It is chilly and windy up on the lookouts! We had a nice dinner at the restaurant just up the road ( and apparently they also deliver to the hotel). I think our only complaint would be the comfort level of the bed and pillows...not great, but overall good value for the price. I would stay here again :)

Room Tip: One of 3 cabins looking out over the valley
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tr0picaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mango Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2017

This is a reasonably priced bed and breakfast located in the mountains above Grecia, CR with sweeping views of coffee plantations and fauna. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with cooking facilities. The grounds are well kept with a nice pool and walking areas. The included breakfast is freshly cooked, plentiful and the staff shops weekly for fresh fruits from local markets. The staff is very friendly, helpful and eager to please. From Mango Valley you can easily access major roads to visit volcanoes and tropical forests. This is a place to relax with quiet surroundings. We loved it.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a room with the outside balcony. The views are worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltcinf108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

of course the place is a bit remote and you would ideally need a car to go there but the place is absolutely lovely and gorgeous. you will be lost in the middle of the plantation and will benefit from the great swimming pool. in addition the owners are very adorable and take care of you the while time. very simple and welcoming people. the rooms are great and really clean. it was a great stay I do hope to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ArnaudO1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night when we first arrived in Costa Rica. It was roughly an hour's drive from the airport so a good first stop. The chap who greeted us was very friendly and helpful (sorry cannot remember his name). You have your own little cabin which comes with separate bedroom, bathroom and a kitchen and living area. We also had a balcony with lovely views. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. You can take a short walk up the hill to local restaurants. For breakfast we had fresh fruit and eggs. Both of which were delicious. I definitely recommend this place!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Location: Great location for vacation and relax, not close to the city, about 1 hour drive to Poas volcano.
Check-in : fast and friendly.
Setting: clean, and comfortable, there are only six cabins with well kept garden and a small swimming pool. Can see the poas volcano from the garden.
Breakfast: Great local complimentary breakfast.
Parking : Free
WiFi: Free and excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Weipin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
8.4 km away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
682 reviews
14.5 km away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
10.9 km away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
6.2 km away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
76 reviews
6.1 km away
La Terraza Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Valley

Address: 300 mts. antes de Pipasa | Carbonal arriba de Grecia, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range: RM264 - RM336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Valley is set in the green hills just outside Grecia. It offers a garden with an outdoor pool and fantastic views. The rooms at the Hotel Mango Valley feature free Wi-Fi and a TV with cable channels. Each one has a private bathroom and a kitchenette with a hob, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel serves a daily full breakfast in the garden, overlooking the coffee plantations. Takeaway meals are available on request from local restaurants. La Paz Waterfall Gardens is 45 minutes' drive away, and the charming town of Sarchi is a 15-minute drive away. Juan Santamaria Airport is 40 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mango Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing