We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
353
131
53
36
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
131
53
36
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lavash groupon package google translate foosball tables liquid soap costa rica hot water every morning rice and beans taxi ride pura vida small fridge an adventure nice pool white water rafting book tours air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We stayed at this hotel via a Groupon deal. I went with my 11 year old son. The hotel is basic, clean. No amenities such as shampoo, though soap is provided. Breakfast is great with fresh fruit, and whatever dish they are serving. They will also customize breakfast for you if you want. It was fun seeing what dish they would bring out each day. The best part of the hotel is Carlos, the manager. He will work with you to find activities you will like and make sure the locals don't take advantage of you (i.e. taxi fees etc). He doesn't speak English but we made do with the poquito Spanish I knew.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We bought their package with full excursions everyday. Two rooms, four people total. We had a great time. Carlos was so amazing the whole time. He was always available for us. We were able to switch out excursions last minute. He went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. The dinner cook is absolutely amazing!!! Loved the food. Last min we decided to change our stay and head the Jaca Beach, four hours away. Carlos did all the research for us and most cost-efficient way to go. That's not his job at all, but he did it. Thanks for everything!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We stayed at Lavas through a groupon deal. Carlos was the person who was in charge of the hotel and activities booked through our deal and was always available to answer any questions we had. The rooms were very clean and had the basic necessities that we needed (microwave and mini fridge). Transportation was always set up for us so it was easy to get around. When the weather became an issue and plans had to be adjusted around them, Carlos did his best to make sure we could do everything that we had booked for our 7 day trip. Breakfast was included and delicious (especially the coffee). The kitchen is open till around 9 and they have a nice selection of food that is made fresh. The staff on property are very welcoming and sweet. Downtown La Fortuna is a short $8 cab ride each way. If you book through groupon, make sure to bring cash to pay for the taxes on your stay because they are unable to accept credit for tax payment. Overall we had a great stay and highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel! It is conveniently located and the owner goes above and beyond for all guests! Transportation to and from the hotel was easy, the food at the hotel restaurant was authentic Costa Rican food - which was delicious, and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Krystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

My friend and I stayed at lavas for 4 nights be 5 days while in la Fortuna. We stayed here as part of a groupon packaging we bought. This isn't a luxury stay but you will grow to appreciate it. The room was clean no bugs and they changed our sheets everyday (another review said they had to ask for sheet change so I did that each morning). Soap/shampoo in the shower and clean towels everyday. The staff and service is 5 star. Carlos, Mario, Luis, Andrea were amazing hosts. They took care of everything we needed from food to transportation to vouchers for the hot springs at Baldi. one thing I would recommend is more comfy pillows,they were so fluffy and big that my neck hurt from being propped up. The internet was spotty but we just asked carlos and he fixed it for us. Also, there is a little river tributary behind the hotel which is cute, pool and foosball tables for use. The food was also very good at the hotel. Lastly, every room has a tv. Overall a really great stay in the forest.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zelikha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews