We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chill Out Backpackers
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Luigi's Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regina Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Fortuna(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Bosco Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Rabfer Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monte Real(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arenal Montechiari(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cabinas Arsol(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
34
12
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
12
12
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We had to hunt bugs in our small rooms, one even falling in the bed from to ceiling :( please do something about it ! Otherwise you get a private bathroom for 20$ so it could defintly be a good deal...

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cyrille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2015

Loccated 2 minutes from the bus station and a few about 3 from the main road.
The owner is very helpful. Keeps the area clean.
Rooms are basic but have hot water and private baths.
A nice common area with hammocks and swings, a kitchen.
We paid $20 a night. ($10 per person)

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AKlausn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Chill Out looks a bit like faded glory. The rooms could use some new paint. The bathroom was okay, but smells moldy. The toilet didn't work right. The kitchen looks old and I wouldn't cook there. The sheets on the bed were torn and the pillows smell sweaty. The lady at the front desk only speaks Spanish. There is cable tv and wifi. It's close to the busstation and the shops are close.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lieke86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

At Chill Out Backpackers, the host was incredibly kind and very easy to work with. We paid $10 per person and breakfast was included. The rooms were very clean and the so were the bathrooms. It was a great atmosphere to chill out and lay in a hammock. It is close to the city center. There was a kitchen, wifi, cable tv and the bed's were comfortable!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel a few days ago and I have to say that it was not bad, I had a good sleep even though is right next to the street, maybe i was tired.
The room was ok, there was a cable tv, the bed was confi and the bathroom was very clean. I paid 20 bucks, maybe because I'm a local.
I would stay again if I'd had to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Esteban M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews