We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chill Out Backpackers
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Perfect place after zip lining! The Ceviche was fresh ,the tuna Tartare delicious! If the perfect way the end an adventure in the rain forest. Relax atmosphere in front of Arenal lake and the Volcano. Food is great clean fresh a joyful experience

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Leor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

Very nice place to spend time in Fortuna, cheap and clean with a good kitchen and a courtyard with hammocks looking at the Arenal Volcano. Luis is a great host will give you the best advices on the area, a very nice guy : -)

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lazzale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

I wish that I had stayed here longer the first night we were sent to a horrible place up the road. So in the morning I went looking for a better place .Luckily we found Chill Out Backpackers. This place is bliss it is easy to see why it has such high ratings. The rooms & the wonderful kitchen were spotlessly clean. I loved it. The view to the volcano is amazing especially in the morning when there are clouds sunrise & sunset were fabulous. There is plenty of outside seating and hammocks to just chill & look at the volcano. The owners are lovely people who ensure that you have every thing that you need.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015

This place was cheap and cheerful. The girl showed me the room we would have before we made any decisions. It was super cheap (10mil per private room with private bathroom in low season) sowas only 5mil pppn. The kitchen is fully functioning with a fridge and tons of utensils. Its very basic and yes there are bugs because we aee in Costa rica! 5 star hotels have bugs too.
The service was good too, we kept changing our minds about when we were leaving and always had loads of Qs and they didnt mind at all.
When my friend was going to leave and I had to stay one more night alone, she even was going to let me stay for the same price in the same room and not pay more!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We had to hunt bugs in our small rooms, one even falling in the bed from to ceiling :( please do something about it ! Otherwise you get a private bathroom for 20$ so it could defintly be a good deal...

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cyrille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.0 km away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#6 of 76 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
651 reviews
8.6 km away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,562 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
5.8 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,368 reviews
4.1 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chill Out Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chill Out Backpackers

Address: 100 meters W of the bus stop | Next to Gringo Pete's II, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 119-5655, Costa Rica (Formerly Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 76 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: RM41 - RM91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill Out Backpackers is under new ownership and moved location. We are the ultimate and economical place to stay in La Fortuna with rooms only 10 dollars per person. Free Breakfast, Free Internet and Kitchen use is included. Located in the center of La Fortuna, only 100 meters west from the bus station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chill Out Backpackers Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing