We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Volcano Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kokoro Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,594)
Filter reviews
1,594 results
Traveller rating
656
640
204
53
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
656
640
204
53
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slidesant farmobservation pointbutterfly gardenswim up barhot springssuperior roomarenal volcanowet barcosta ricahot poolszip lininghorseback ridingshuttle servicespring poolscanopy tourbreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,594 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is beautiful and spacious. The 11 pools and 2 water slides are super fun. Be careful the big water slide is no joke! The swim up bar is lively and everyone becomes friends very quickly. The famous 13 zip lines run right through the property and end at the entrance. We had a private little building with 2 rooms and a cozy patio to sit and relax at the end of a busy day. I called the restaurant to order delivery soda and ice (to go with my rum) and they arrived in 5 minutes. It’s a difficult decision to choose a resort you’ve never seen, but this is definitely the place you want to stay, it’s amaaazing!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank sharonballestero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This resort is great for anyone traveling with family that has teenagers or young adults. We were a group of 6 friends and family with 20something kids. How awesome for everyone. This place has eveeything. Warm pools, swim up bar, zip lining, view of volcano. We all loved this place.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank WENDY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I posted a review of our day at Los Lagos Hot springs in Los Lagos Hot springs, and then wanted to add the review of the zipline but TA does not let you post 2 reviews of the same place :( So I will post here instead.
It is only the review of the zipline, not of the hotel.

We loved our day of zip-lining with los Canyones.
Their zipline is probably not as big as some largest in the area but very fun and in the beautiful surroundings. It was the first time ziplining for our 10 year old, and it was perfect size and speed-wise.
The very last zip line of the series goes over the Los Lagos resort - if you look from the hotel grounds it might appear that the zipline is very small but actually most of the 'rides' are hidden in the canopy.

Pros:
They use carbon fiber cables - faster and less noisy than the regular steel
New gloves - or rather sturdy leather half-gloves (fingers are open) for breaking - very nice comparing to some filthy gloves we had to wear on other ziplines
Very friendly guides - we felt safe and entertained at all times
Really cool tarzan swing - this is the only one I dared to try but it felt safer than in some other places - when you jump, the area is very clear and you are above canopy, and they let you to swing for a few times before using rope attached to your harness to gently pull you to the platform
Your fee ($55) also gives you access to Los Lagos resort grounds (they give you a bracelet) for an entire day - there are water slides, 5 different thermal pools and 2 cold pools so you can easily spend an entire day there

Cons
Reservations have to be made through the hotel (there is no separate contact info for Los Canones), and because of that there is room for miscommunication. We had some issues with our reservation but it was solved quickly and professionally. I wish there was a direct way to book with them though.
$55 fee with no discount for a child. For an adult I think it is a fair price (especially as you get access to Los Lagos grounds) but a bit pricey for kids.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank YaFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Staff, Great Stay. The place was awesome. The heated pool was great. Rosa at the front desk was delight. Help us with everything and knowledge of English was the best. Had spent days on the beach in Playa Hermosa, Coco and Tamarindo. Wish I would have come to Los Lagos first would have never gone to the Beach. So much to do and the crowd of people were awesome.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

I stayed at the Lagos for 2 nights. They rooms are large and well equipped with two large beds fridge and plasma TV. There was also a coffee maker and complimentary water. Its a pity there was not a kettle to make Tea. But the staff brought hot water and tea bags to our room. The bathroom was clean and tidy with a shower and a hair dryer. There was a cover seating area front and back of the rooms, which was nice to sit and either watch over the Arenal valley or the Mountain itself. The grounds are large and well stocked with plants, and various interesting walks that have already been talk about. In our case our room was a little way out from the reception /dining area, so a courtesy bus would pick us up if you did not want to walk. The food was of good quality and a good varied choice. This was one of our better hotels on our tour .
Staff were very friendly and helpful and I wished we had stayed longer there.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ciderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews