We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Odiferous & Inefficient” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
204 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Odiferous & Inefficient”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

After fighting insane Friday traffic on the Interamerican Highway and Highway 142 all day, the promise of a well-rated hotel in La Fortuna sounded great. Upon arrival, the exterior (particularly the balcony, canopied with blooming orchids) looked promising. Check-in went smoothly enough, and all seemed well.

However, once we got into our room, we were assailed with an odor that can only be described as a combination of a high school locker room combined with a pile of souring, wet towels. Even turning on the air conditioning made little difference. We probably should have made a fuss but were too tired.

Breakfast was pretty skimpy (only 1 egg and no gallo pinto) but prepared well and tasty enough, but checking out was a pain. Either the computer was down or the clerk was inexperienced, so it took longer than seemed reasonable. Another customer behind us in line was nearly frantic, as it looked as if he'd miss his tour bus.

We'd like to re-visit the town and surrounding area but will definately find other lodging!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadingOut98229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, General Manager at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your review, we realized than during the rainy days, (because the 100% of humidity) is better to leave the rooms opened, so the humidity don´t get into the room.

About the check out, we still remember that day, because the computer was not working at all, and the billing system neather. The clerk was really the hotel owner with more than 25 years of experienced but very embarrass about the situation....because she wasn´t able to make checkouts or using the credit card machine, so, yes, it is true it was a pain, but, it was awful also for us!
The same day, the computer technic came to fix the computer, so at the end we had to change the PC memory and to add another hardware.... now, everything is fine!!

Very sorry for all the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    179
    63
    18
    5
See reviews for
73
203
52
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

It is a very nice experience! Its the best hotel that we stay in Costa Rica, one thing to improve will be the wifi signal, but generally the hotel is ok! the Service is the best!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pabloechava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you ... and Wow, being the best hotel in Costa Rica for you is so great, THANK YOU!!

Well, good news, we already upgrade our WI-FI Signal, we decided to put a outdoord antena in the mittle of the terrace area, so NOW all the rooms, corridors,areas and balconies of our hotel have an excellent signal and faster also.
Very happy to make this improvement, thank you for your advise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very nice people running this hotel, useful location and good prices on the rooms. Street noise gets a little loud in the morning, but this place IS in the middle of town, so I can't really complain. The breakfast was pretty decent as well. I miss gallo pinto.

Would definitely recommend this place. I already miss their friendly faces.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Is very nice from you to take the time to write this review, we really appreciated!!
Thank you !!
All the family comes to make a the difference every day, so if you like it... is not a job !
That is why we receive guest from all parts of the world every day and it make us feel happy, proud and try to improve every day!
You must came back to Costa Rica to taste Gallo pInto one more time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is a very clean, comfortable, brilliantly located, and accommodating hotel. The employees are very very nice and GO OUT OF THEIR WAY to make you feel at home. For example, when my girlfriend and I stayed there for several days, they upgraded us to a very nice room merely because we stayed there for an extended period of time.

Also, there patio has an amazing view of the volcano!

Room Tip: Ask for the one on the balcony facing the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely review!!!
It make us feel very proud about our job and our service, we are a family run bussines so makes you feel like home, means makes you feel like part of our family !
The terrace area was our best idea during the remodel progect, as our sustainable dedication like to uses Solar Enegy for the showers and all the architecture decision we have made so the guest can enjoy beautifully Arenal Volcano views, open corridors and green plants all over the hotel!
Very happy than you have enjoy your stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 days while in Arenal and had a great time!
The front desk staff was amazing and so SO helpful!

We loved the view from the veranda of the volcano and had great service. We were originally in a smaller room too and when we asked to transfer to have a bit more space they did it happily and upgraded us without extra charge! Impressive.

The location is also great here. You are right downtown and dont' have to take a taxi to get out and have something to eat. They are also very helpful in booking tour and arranging transportation so all you have to do is show up and enjoy.

Great place to stay and I would highly recommend it. :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view.. it is awesome to fall asleep to the sun setting on a volcano from yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for you great review!!!
For us is always a pleasure to give our guest a little bit more of what they expected, at the end the important think is YOU to enjoy YOUR stay, so why not???
We try to have information from all nearby activities, therephore we can help our guest to maximisize their time in our town.
Our hotel is special for people who are looking for all the small town services, like restaurants: beef, sea food, sushi, typical, many others... souvenirs, massages without have to look for a bus or taxi, everything is very close and with the best rates!!
La Fortuna is the most beautifull town in Costa Rica, quite, safe, beautifull park located just a a half a block from our hotel !!
Thank you to choose our hotel for your stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
5.8 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,684 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.1 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Property: Hotel Las Colinas
Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): RM288 - RM430
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing