We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, Comfortable and Great Birding!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Naturalista

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turrialba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho Naturalista
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Great Birding!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Yes, we are birders, but we also want to enjoy ourselves when we travel, which includes seeing the sites and being able to relax. Rancho Naturalista fit the bill.

Rancho Naturalista is geared towards birders - everyone on staff knows the birds and can give you tips where to find them (if they don't take you there) - but if you are not a birder and just want to enjoy being the in Costa Rican rainforest, this a also a good place. The food was wonderful - plenty to eat at every meal. And if you were going out at an odd time, they made sure there was something available for you.

The rooms were comfortable with enough room for the two of us. The bathroom was clean and there was always hot water (important after a long day of hiking). Neither of us had any trouble falling asleep quickly at night.

No matter why you are there, make sure you spend quality time upstairs watching the hummingbird feeders. Stand still and they will fly right up to and around you. With 20+ birds zipping around, it is quite an experience. (The Snowcap is there, but you will probably have to go away from the feeders to see the male!)

We only stayed for 3 nights, which was enough time to introduce us to the area. We had a wonderful time, met some wonderful people and look forward to going back!

Room Tip: For a room, book one of the separate bungalows, and find a fan as soon as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrecology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    21
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
73
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Situated in the middle of virgin nature, it is a fantastic initial point for photographers, birdwatchers and another lovers of nature. Very friendly stuff and owners, the best meal and coffee I have had in Costa Rica, 24 hours a day service, clean and stylish buildings, you feel like a part of their family.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JardaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I stayed in Unit 1 which is on the second floor with a large covered deck to watch the many hummingbirds and other birds that visit the premises. At any one time there were 30 or more hummingbirds visiting the feeders which made it easy for me, a novice photographer, to get some professional looking photos of the hummingbirds. The bedroom had a queen size bed and a futon that could also be a bed. The room was BIG with a nice bathroom. The hotel was very clean. It is located on the side of the mountain with nice views of the small town of Tuis below and the Turrialba Volcano smoking in the distance. Dinner and breakfast was included and the food was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. While eating breakfast many different kinds of birds were close by eating bananas and fruit put out there for them by the staff.

I walked down a hiking trail which led to a stream with pools which birds sometimes visit to bathe. Lisa, the manager, stopped by in the morning to see how I slept, and to make sure everything was good. The place exceeded my expectations and I will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevezimcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Valley City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Although not being a birdwatcher, I recently had the privilege of staying at Rancho Naturalista in Costa Rica. Arriving about 5:30 PM in the cool of the early evening before dark to be given accommodation in Unit 2, a beautiful large room with a queen size bed with an adjoining bath. The veranda was spectacular with gorgeous views and seating to observe the many hummingbirds zooming about the feeders. Smelling BBQ chicken being prepared for dinner, along with rice and corn on the cob, I am told that a lot of the foods served are grown and raised on the premises,thus are natural and delicious. All in all a very restful place.

Breakfast was served outdoors on the patio overlooking beautiful gardens and a flowing fountain where again I could observe the many birds and butterflies all around. This is a place all would enjoy year round. I will definitely place this on my "return to" list.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We just got back fro our trip to Rancho. Calli is a fabulous guide! He took us to see so eof the awesome birds such as male snowcap, white-collared and white-crowned manakin, all sorts of wrens, antbirds, and other hard-to-see species. We also met another guide named Harry who was energetic and quite knowledgeable as well. Either of these guides will do great i showing you the birds. The rooms are quite basic, and it is expensive if you are more than one person in a room. But overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SingapuraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turrialba
23.9 km away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
9.5 km away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
23.0 km away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.3 km away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
10.8 km away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#6 of 12 in Turrialba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
15.6 km away
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
#9 of 12 in Turrialba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Naturalista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Naturalista

Property: Rancho Naturalista
Address: 1 Km este de Tuis de Turrialba | Tayutic, Turrialba 7150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Turrialba
Price range (per night): RM245 - RM1,431
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier birding lodge in Costa Rica, Rancho Naturalista is among the finest in Central America. There are plentiful hummingbirds on the large, open upstairs balcony where you can view the distant smoking volcano. Over 430 species of birds have been recorded in the area. You can hike and bird the trails on your own, and excellent guides are available as well. At Rancho Naturalista the atmosphere is warm and relaxed, and the staff are friendly and welcoming. This comfortable lodge is famous for its excellent food, well prepared, and made with the best fresh local ingredients. (All meals are included.) The weather is almost perfect, not too hot and not too cold. Rancho Naturalista is a wonderful getaway for bird watchers, hikers, and nature lovers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Naturalista Turrialba
Rancho Naturalista Hotel Turrialba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing