We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having a fantastic time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Having a fantastic time”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Spent one week in March at the resort. Sunny and warm every day with nice breezes. Reading all the reviews on trip advisor in advance made a big difference in enjoying the trip. The resort does not do the best job in explaining how all the activities work, but we figured it all out in a day or two. We took other travelers advice and asked for a room near the pool and restaurants. We (husband and myself) had a room past the pool, building one, very quiet, and found the location very convenient.
I wish I knew sooner to get an activity list for the week at the activities desk. There are several nice daily activities that are complimentary. I enjoyed yoga at the beach and water aerobics at the pool. The fitness guy Jorjay (spelling? George) taught all the classes and was great.
There are other activities like arts and crafts too but we never had time. The hotel leaves a daily schedule in your room, but this arrives very inconsistently so just ask for the weekly schedule at the activity desk at the pool.
We took other travelers advice and booked excursions from Erik Garcia (on the beach, just go out to the beach near the kayaks). He was excellent. His trips were well priced and he will give good advice. My favorite was the 2 hour ATV sunset ride. Just me and my husband with a friendly guide Papai (spelling?). ($50 per person) Guide stopped along the way to show us a cashew tree and we sampled the fruit, saw howler monkeys, volcanic rocks on the beach and other spots of interest. At the end we drove the ATVs to the little town of Brasalito and saw the sunset from there. Papai was very helpful in instructing us in the use of the ATVs and the trip seemed very safe. We had Erik arrange two other trips for us, the Tempisque River to see the wildlife, and the zip line trip. Both were very good. The drive to the zip line is very bumpy on dirt roads for about 45 minutes but worth the trip. OUr river guide Jeffrey made sure that we saw capuchin monkeys and many crocodiles. We went very early in the morning because the animals are resting in the afternoon. We fed the monkeys banana slices and they climbed all over the boat. Very entertaining and great photo op.
Overall the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Waitress service was inconsistent but the food was pretty good. We made dinner reservations at each of the restaurants the day we arrived and had no trouble getting 8 PM reservations each day. We loved the buffet breakfast at Mitra and the made to order pizza at the pool, every day from 12 to 6 PM.
The nightly show at 9 PM is very hokey but we went anyway and appreciated how hard the 5 or 6 dancers worked to make the show engaging each night.
Bring plenty of sunblock. The toiletries in the gift shop are quite overpriced.
Pool area is beautiful, plenty of chaises but on windy days when we were not allowed to use the umbrellas a bit hard to find shade. Great swim-up bar at the pool with fun tropical drinks and full bar.

Room Tip: Near pool and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,475
    1,009
    359
    94
    73
See reviews for
1,264
1,817
42
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rupert, Idaho, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Westin in Costa Rica. Outside the hotel complex, on the beach was Jeffry Rodriquez, Erik Garcia. They assisted us on tours. We went on 4 wheelers to the zip-lines. We also went to the river and experienced the wildlife. They were half day trips. We enjoyed both tours.
Angels Hand Massage, on the beach, was the best place for massages. We got four 1 1/2 massages for $30 each. They left no stone unturned....if you know what I mean.
Thanks guys!!

Room Tip: We had a room close to the restaurants, pool, entertainment, beach. Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Playa Conchal for 5 days from March 3rd to 7th. The resort service was first class. The Costa Rican employees were superb. The resort is located on the beach with the accommodations being several hundred feet inland. The beach is public, so the resort provides security. The food was good considering the number of guests to be served. There are many separate restaurant's on the property. However, you need go off site to experience the culture. We had dinner at the Golden Shrimp and the service, food couldn't have been better. The Costa Rican people are wonderful.
Having been on an all inclusive resort before, we wanted to experience the country, and not the resort so we headed out on a tour each day. The resort tour service was Arenas. We used them for all but one tour, and were very satisfied. They were flexible, and changed tours as our scheduled changed. We contracted the Buena Vista tour (all day), Sunset Catamaran,and ATV tour (2 hours). Each tour was worth the time and cost. The River Tour was contracted off site on the beach front with a guide named Jeffrey. He is the guide, salesman and sets up the transportation, etc. Jeffery knows his way around. The river tour's success is determined by nature and your guide and captain's expertise. Jeffrey made it happen. Other than the expected of seeing birds, crocodiles, and lizards, Jeffrey made our tour outstanding. White face monkeys come into the boat and socialize with us. Further down the river, a crocodile came up to the boat for a snack of 'chicken', and we met him personally. If you decide on the River Tour go out to the beach by the main pool, and ask for Jeffrey. We'll go back to Costa Rica but next time to the inland or rainforest areas. Such a small country with so many option.... don't miss it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it - stay in the Royal Beach area and ask for Tower 1 or 2 - they are right by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaegersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel was everything we hoped and more. We spent one week here and arrived after sundown, so we really didn't get a good sense of the place until the morning. But on arrival we were whisked away to the Royal Beach(adults only)lobby instead of the main lobby and were greeted with drinks before checking in!
We were definitely treated like royalty and loved having our own concierge and 24 hour room service(all included), as well as a pool for only the people who had paid for this Royal Beach service. The restaurants were ok, we liked the Meditereanian and Latin ones the best.
We booked our excursions through Arenas Adventures who are located just inside the gate to the beach. We likely paid more booking with them then the groups on the beach but we felt better knowing they are assocoated with the hotel.
The beach was amazing, sand and water both perfect!
Tamarindo was neat to visit with a lot of souvenirs and locals surfing.
Costa Rica is an amazing country with so much to do for every person, no matter if they love thrills or lounging by the pool or beach.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is my first ever review. The stay at this resort would have been five stars except for the issues with check in at the hotel. First, let me say I was traveling with my extended family which consists of 4 families and totals 13 persons (including 4 children under 9).
Arrival at the new airport at Liberia and transfer to the Hotel went very smoothly. We approached check-in as a group and discovered the families were spread out in different buildings. The resort is big and this was not at all what we wanted. The travel agent had contacted the hotel (by email) requesting 4 rooms together. However, this did not work out at all and my family of 2 adults and 2 children ended up at a room with just 1 double bed! None of the rooms were ready so we went to the pool for the afternoon. At about 3pm we returned and still nothing had changed. By the evening this still had not been resolved so I went back to the front desk. I met the Front Desk manager on duty Yovan. He is a young man who will try very hard to resolve any problem. We were eventually moved to a room with two beds for the night and then moved the next day to be in a building with our family. Although we still ended up with one family in a different building from the others. For me, this did detract from enjoying the start of the vacation as we moved rooms twice and did not unpack until the end of second day. But that aside, the very nice pool and the fact you are on vacation takes over after a while. Yovan did offer some things to make up for it such as free internet in our rooms and arranged for all our evening restaurant reservations to be taken care of. Some of the other things he suggested never materialized but we never followed up either. So for me the vacation did not start until 24 hours after arrival but from then on I would agree with the majority of other reviews on this site.
The rooms and ground are some of the nicest we have stayed in (This is our tenth vacation as an extended family usually in the Caribbean or Mexico) The pool was fabulous for the kids and the adults. The staff at the swim up bar were very tolerant of the kids requesting their non-alcoholic beverages (They were not allowed to go in the afternoon when things were a little livelier ).
The food was very good. The buffet was a hit with the kids and the staff were very friendly (except one which I will put down to an off day) We ate evening meals as a family group of 13 on 3 occasions times, twice in the Italian (Faisanela Restaurant) and once in Mediterra, all three meals were very good. Considering we were a large group I thought the staff coped very well, (there was just the odd hiccup a missing starter, wrong desert etc). During the day we usually ate at Mitra (buffet) but we also enjoyed the Pizza (Spirula) and the food at Caricola at lunchtime.
For the excursions I went out back and met Erik and the other staff of Conchal Adventures. I did not find them to be pushy, they ask your name to start conversations about the various trips they offer, but at other times a polite no thank you is enough and they leave you to enjoy the beach. My experience of their tours are reviewed elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
31.2 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,517 reviews
17.6 km away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
28.4 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
15.8 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,187 reviews
4.7 km away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Property: The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price range (per night): RM1,433 - RM3,424
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing