We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Tico, but very nice!”

Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$13
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Where art meets fine eating, Congo coffee, art & design Costa Rica opens from 8am until 8pm Monday thru Saturday, Sunday from 8am until 6pm. Everything is made locally with fresh ingredients bringing you great coffee selections, healthy salads, sandwiches, desserts and much more. Come and join us, we are the meeting place of Costa Rican traditions, great food, art and design.
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Congo Café is a casual restaurant in the upscale Pacifico shopping center. Half the space is a shop selling arts and craft items, casual clothing, jewelry and nicer souvenirs. The other half is the cafe. Bright, clean and cheerful, it has an international resort feel. The food was surprisingly delicious: great mushroom crepes, omelets, sandwiches, salads and smoothies. And, on a hot day, the A/C is divine!

Thank LinnieSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CongoAdmin, Manager at Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Thank you for taking your time to write the review and providing your feedback!! We support Costa Rican artisans and offer their best and exclusive work... Congo is a family owned company; my parents were "adopted" by this beautiful country many years ago, so they feel ticos but with a mix of their origins (Argentina and Cuba)!!!! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2016

Love the Congo pasta! Love the atmosphere! Love the people! You can shop for very unique gifts before or after you eat! Enjoy the AC!!!

Thank KellyCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CongoAdmin, Manager at Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

So nice of you to write this review!!! We surely enjoy that our customers feel welcome and comfortable in our Congo!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

I have been a client of Congo's for years now since I used to live very close by, now that I live in San José I only visit when in town. Congo's is best known for its variety of specialty cold and hot coffees and scrumptious desserts, my favorites being the lemon pie and banana bread. Many people take their laptops and business meetings there because of the casual atmosphere, free wi-fi and air-conditioning. Congo's has a very nice boutique and souvenir shop within the restaurant so you might want to look around and splurge a little. Enjoy!

Thank Lasibarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CongoAdmin, Manager at Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you for your loyalty!!! We appreciate taking your time to share your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Our family ate here three times for breakfast, we just loved the food and feel of this place. The price was very reasonable and the staff was always smiling!

Thank Lissah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CongoAdmin, Manager at Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Hello! So happy that you enjoyed our food and service!!! Thank you for taking your time to post this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I eat breakfast there occasionally, food is good, coffee is good, service is good, selection is limited.

Thank Lon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CongoAdmin, Manager at Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Thank you for taking your time to write this review! We are currently working on new plates for the menu... hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing