We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable setting”

Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$13
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Where art meets fine eating, Congo Coffee, Art & Design Costa Rica opens from 8am until 6pm Monday thru Sunday. Everything is made locally with fresh ingredients bringing you great coffee selections, healthy salads, sandwiches, desserts and much more. Come and join us, we are the meeting place of Costa Rican traditions, great food, art and design.
Reviewed 2 May 2018

The Congo cafe is a very comfortable place with kind and pleasant staff. We enjoyed great lattes and mochas. A Cuban sandwich was very tasty, as was the scrambled eggs with mushrooms, cheese and onion. Outside seating under the umbrella is great for watching activity along the road, but safely back about 50m.
Attached arts and craft store is a nice complement to the coffee shop.
Single banjo is clean and bright.

Thank Luv2BTrekking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CongoAdmin, Manager at Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Very kind of you for taking your time to share your experience! Hope we can have you back some day! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Looking for breakfast, lunch, a smoothie or coffee break in Playas del Coco? The air conditioned Congo Café and art/artisans gallery in the Pacifico complex is a good choice. For breakfast, eggs with rice. beans or yummy pancakes are made by cooks in the open kitchen. Smoothies, fresh juices and coffees, including cappuccino and latte, are delicious. Luncheon salads and sandwiches are tasty. But my very favorite is the mushroom crepe, creamy and mildly spicy, served with a small salad. So good, I remembered it from a visit a few years ago…and was delighted to find it just as good. The modern café has comfortable seating and displays of art and craft works that draw you into the gallery where these items may be purchased. Browse among the cards, prints and paintings, leather, wood, jewelry and clothing. It’s a nice selection of local art and crafts. The place is run by sweet, welcoming staff. Helpful, but not pushy. Stop in for a bite…and pick up a colorful scarf or caftan, hand made earrings or necklace, monkey or toucan pictures or carved wooden pieces in cool comfort. A very pleasant place to choose gifts to take home or mementos for yourself.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LinnieSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I live in this area of Costa Rica, full time - and Congo Café is my go to place for lunch. Locals who live in this area always seek good food at normal, non-tourist prices. You will get this at Congo Café.

Luxuriate in the artistic setting of the cafe, with an art gallery (items for sale), in the same location. With air-conditioning, and awesome food, Congo Café is the perfect place to chill and have a Cubano sandwich and an iced coffee milk-shake while watching the main street of Coco roll by.

This is a regular eating place for me, here on the Golden Coast of Costa Rica!

Thank DuCharmeDuCharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We stopped in to look at the art and ended up having lunch. I had the tomato soup and a Burrito, it was awesome. Then we stopped in for breakfast once and same thing, it was great. along with the good food was the best coffee milkshake that I have ever had! Service was always quick, food and drinks always great! you got to stop and experience!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keenan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CongoAdmin, Manager at Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Good morning! Thank you so much for your feedback and for coming back to Congo! We appreciate your time for sharing this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

This is located in the Pacific Office complex across from the Automercado, it has excellent breakfasts and a selection of sadwiches which we found were all good

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frannie1155040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CongoAdmin, Manager at Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Good morning! Great to have your review! Thank you so much for your time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Congo Cafe, Arte & Diseno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing