We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing property two seconds from heaven”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
IMG 1638 Poolside Lounging
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
IMG 1638
Poolside Lounging
Outdoor shower
Terrace lounging
Dual hood BBQ
Terrace dining
Living room
Kitchen
Dining room
Master Bedroom
Spare bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeff S
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing property two seconds from heaven”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

La Villa Blanca is a spectacular property at playa samara. The property is beautiful and the pool is really awesome after a long day at the beach. My wife and I loved the outside patio - the lounge chairs, grill and table make dining and chilling a treat. The house had modern appliances and is perfect for two couples (two bedrooms). There is a safe, AC, washer/dryer and everything is really well maintained. I stayed here for 5 days and by the end, wished I extended my stay another 5. I regularly rent houses all around the world and was pleased with the quality, price point and location of this gem.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habibtij
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This is our second stay at the Villa Blanca, and I still cannot say enough about it. I wondered if it would have become a little 'tired' after a couple of years, but so not the case. The owners clearly keep up with their property, and surely the fact that they live in town makes all the difference!

Incredibly comfortable outdoor furniture with options of lounging in the sun or shade. The beds are delicious, and the proximity to the beach cannot be beat! So many great restaurants and bars within a stone's throw, and Monika (owner) is incredibly helpful with regards to information within the area. The pool is so cute, and we had to drag the kids out of it every night. Nice to be able to see the pool from the kitchen when you have little ones. Even better if you leave the little ones at home and come with friends!

If you want a villa in a fantastic town that gives you direct access to the beach, come to Villa Blanca. You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyBhr...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kick back and relax”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A couple of buddies and I went down to Costa Rica to do a 'little work'. Through word of mouth we were told to go to Samara and stay at La Villa Blanca. Our two days in Samara ended up being five and if it weren't for us having to return back home, we would have stayed much longer. To begin, getting to Samara was super easy from Liberia airport a quick two hours on paved roads....in North America we tend to take paved roads for granted....it was an easy ride. Once at La Villa Blanca it was a two minute walk to the sandy beach, and plenty of relaxed spots to enjoy a cold beer . La Villa Blanca itself was clean and beautiful. Full kitchen, outdoor seating area, pool and bbq....all in downtown Samara. The town of Samara itself was easy to navigate and very affordable. I kept saying to my friends that it felt like there were visitors there rather than tourists......you really felt like you a part of the fabric of this little town. Anyways, i can't thank Quinn enough for his hospitality down there. He is a great resource to have full of recommendations.....
Quinn, hope to see you soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuckArt
White Salmon, WA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfy, Casual-Lux Digs; Home Away From Home In Sweet, Sweet Samara”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in April 2012

First let me say, I am soooo slow when it comes to getting around to writing vacation/travel reviews! So sorry, Monika and Quinn. We are repeat guests at Villa Blanca, and we will be coming back as often as we can. My husband and I consider ourselves travelers as opposed to tourists, and throughout CR, we have camped, and have stayed in hostels, tree houses, humble quarters, and high-end eco-lodges. We tend to steer away from the extremely touristed areas of the country. When there is a must-see in a touristy area, we find a quite, humble rental or hostel. In our late 50's now, when we travel, besides desiring beauty, ambiance, value, a grand cultural experience and an inside peek into the real community of a place, we've added to our list, comfortable beds in a calming environment! ;)

That said, Samara gets its share of tourists. Nevertheless, Samara is a small town, and since we have lived the past 3 decades w/ great zest in a small town in the U. S. Pacific NW, we feel very much at home in this quaint yet lively, little beach town. And, thinking back over the years, our times at Villa Blanca have been some of the most beautiful, stimulating, and relaxing of vacations.

What makes that so? Lots of factors. In part, our personal expectations of what defines a good time. But let me add other reasons, and in no particular priority order, why Villa Blanca simply rocks: a) the location; toss a coin, it's fun by the villa pool, and fun on the beach, and such a short walk in the heat b) Monika & Quinn know how to be very helpful & available w/out being cloying c) the verdant landscaping and cooling pool d) the lovely privacy and the security e) net service f) simple yet elegant, calming interior design g) every amenity we could want or need, outside a hot tub (the pool at night suffices) or fireplace (too hot for that kinda thing). g) spaciousness h) nice bbq for grilling fresh fish, and if you decide not to cook, lots of excellent restaurants near by i) overall great value for one's moolah.

The first time we visited, it was a romantic get away for two. This last time, we celebrated our 30th anniversary and then made preparations for our daughter's wedding at a secluded beach near town, finishing up the week by sharing the Villa with 2 folks in the wedding party, and spreading the rest of our gang out over The Logan, another lovely property belonging to Monika and Quinn. Everyone had a blast!

Alas, I need to wrap this up now, and give Monika a call re another booking, before you read this glowing review and beat me to it! If one makes their way to Samara, I can't imagine that anyone would not adore Villa Blanca.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, spaciousness, owners atitudes, service, privacy, security, pool, comforts of home
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LC4466
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
“Great location - worked perfect for our family”
Reviewed 4 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We would stay here again. The pool was great for our young kids. Easy walk to the beach and town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and outdoor area.
Liked least: Screen in master needs fixed.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$200
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing