We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Matilori
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montelaguna Boutique Hotel(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Flying Crocodile(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lodge Las Ranas(Playa Samara)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Tangerine B&B(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach(Playa Samara)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Paraiso(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
105
21
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
21
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome in costa ricaother guestsbed dormone nighton arrivalstay nightscentral locationplace to staypura vidasuper markethot showerclean roomswould definitely stay here againlaid backthe ownergrocery storein town
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at Matilori, there's only 2 dorms so it's nice and small and easy to get to know other guests. The owners Jenny and Fran are lovely and welcoming, it's not often you get to meet the hostel owners. I was only meant to stay 3 nights but ended up staying 6, it was hard to leave!
In the 6 bed dorm we each got our own fan to use, which was nice on a few really hot nights.
My only cons were that with no staff or night manager on site the quiet time is not enforced, one night the majority of dorm guests came back at 3am, and sat in the kitchen being loud. It's not easy to ask a large group to be quiet because you're trying to sleep.
Apart from that I loved my stay, thanks Jenny and Fran!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We were hesitating at first to stay at a hostel in Samara, since it can be great fun if the people are fitting but it can also become the worst nightmare. The latter is something I would like to avoid in a 2 week vacation. Gladly, it turned out to be the absolute best choice we could have thought of.

The rooms and facilities of the hostel are very basic standard, but cleaned daily and very comfortable for even a longer stay. Unfortunately, Samara is a very expensive town and so is also the hostel probably one of the most expensive ones we have ever stayed in. But well, that's something you should expect in such a setting. The absolute best about the hostel are the two hosts, Fran and Jen (and also their volunteers), who try to make your stay absolutely fantastic. They are super kind, always around to help you with requests (hiring bikes, finding great places to eat, etc.) and are also organizing exciting events for all people willing to join (like a bonfire on the beach with BBQ). Thanks Fran and Jen for being such great hosts!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Saskiaphilipp T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel in July 2016. After reading great reviews, we reserved a three night stay. We are seasoned budget travelers and staying at a hostel is not out of the ordinary for us. We are a family with two kids, and we were also traveling with another couple that also has a child.
Unfortunately, when we arrived, the first thing we did was step on cat poop. They have a resident cat, so if you are allergic, this isn't the place for you. The cat poop did not bother us at first, until it followed our friends into their room (downstairs next to the kitchen) and sprayed their things.
Our room (upstairs) was poorly lit, the fans barely worked, and the outlet that one of the fans was plugged into was broken. So all night, the fans would turn on and off because it wouldn't stay plugged in, and it got suffocatingly hot. The upstairs bathroom was extremely small. The kitchen downstairs was filthy with unwashed dishes, clutter, and a refrigerator that haven't been cleaned out in a while.
What drove us over the edge was that the guests they had at the time were really loud, even past quiet time, and they partied in the kitchen which was situated next to our friends' room. And then there was someone chopping coconuts right outside the room at 1:00 am in the morning. We found coconut chunks in the bathroom the next morning.
We decided to leave the next day, before check out time and explained what happened to the managers. The main reason for this "poor" review was because we were taken back by how rude they were. They wanted us to pay for the three nights even though we stayed for only one, saying that we reserved three nights. And they even told us that we should have told their guests to be quiet if they were loud. When we told them about the cat problem, they tried to pretend they didn't have one by saying, "what cat?" Really? That's their response? How about the one they are feeding? Although we did have a three day reservation, we very much feel that it is the management's job to make our stay pleasant. We shouldn't have to tell their guests to be quiet after hours. The place should be clean, and rooms should be in working order. Then the management even asked us, "didn't you know this was a hostel?" Of course we did! We have stayed in hostels before. And most of the hostels we have stayed at were quite nice. Basically, the manager should have listened to criticism and tried to make things better, not come up with excuses.
If you are a young backpacker, enjoy the party scene, want to meet other young travelers, and you don't care too much about clutter or cleanliness, this place would be fine. But for families, maybe not the greatest stay.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer A, Manager at Hostel Matilori, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

It is very unfortunate that you didn`t enjoy your stay with us. Please be aware that this is a hostel and not a family hotel. We cant ask our guest to go to bed at 8 so your kids can sleep. We have a reasonable quiet time at 11 well readable for all guests and if someone doesn`t respect that you have the right to remind them. If something in our rooms is broken or not working properly than please tell us so we can fix it. Also i would appreachiate if you stick to the truth if you write a review. I never said we don`t have cats cause obviously we have 2. I simply ask you to close your rooms if you don`t want the cat so visit you. I`m quite interested were you find the cat"poop" cause actually they are trained not to "poop" in the patio and I never saw them doing so. And about the payment. We ask you to pay 1 more night not all 3. Cause if you reserve for 3 nights and you leave the next day in the morning I don`t know which hostels or hotels will give you a refund for the extra 2 nights cause normally the cancellation policy of 24 hours. So it was actutally very kind of us that you just needed to pay for the 1 night in the end. About the cleanness I have to say that our kitchens and bathrooms are cleaned every day, sometimes even twice also in the evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

A nice hostel near the beach! Staff were really helpful, the common area had a good selection of games and a nice book exchange! The two kitchens were great as the space was never crowded and they were well equipped, and the little kitten Simba provided entertainment!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kayla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Hostel Matilori was one of my most favorite places while traveling trough costa rica for the second time. A home away from home in an amazing place Samara. Very clean for a hostel and the perfect place to relax and get the real Pura Vida feeling.
Jen & Fran arranged a dolphin tour and it was amazing. They help you out with any questions you have. And i will never forget the fun games of 10.000 and amazing pizza place at the beach they took me too, because i wanted good pizza :)
I all ready miss this place!!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews