We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Casa Bambora meets all needs with a casual and...”
other travellers have booked this property
The pool at Casa Bambora
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The pool at Casa Bambora
Waterfall at Casa Bambora Observation deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The pool at Casa Bambora
Waterfall at Casa Bambora
Observation deck
View from Casa Bambora
The outdoor community kitchen/bar
Pool
The bar/outside kitchen
Playa Grande view
View of Playa Langosta
View of San Francisco Estuary from Casa Bambora
pool/waterfall
Play Grande view from observation deck
Casa Bambora's pool with waterfall
The bar/outside kitchen
Casa Bambora
Sunset from Casa Bambora
Casa Bambora studio
Studio at Casa Bambora
Studio at Casa Bambora
Casa Bambora studio
Casa Bambora studio
Bathroom in studio
Private bathroom, Casa Bambora studio
Playa Grande view from observation deck
Grilling up the catch of the day at Casa Bambora
View of Isla Capitan
Outdoor kitchen/bar
Casa Bambora
Raya and Scrappy
The bar
Casa Bambora
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SpinnerJ
Springfield, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Casa Bambora meets all needs with a casual and relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My two friends and I arrived at Casa Bambora on February 8, 2013 after traveling for 14 hours and 32 hours with out sleep. We were transported by the shuttle arranged by the owner without any problems. Upon our arrival we found our lovely studio apartment to be exactly as advertised. Plenty of space, very clean and well appointed with two very comfortable beds. The wrap around balcony offered seating and a hammock which was immediately put into use. The pool area was clean, beautiful and boasted additional hammocks. Theresa saw to our every need despite having a hectic day. We strolled into town to have an early dinner, returning by taxi after enjoying the sunset on the beach and a quick trip to the grocery store. ($4 one way). After a great nights sleep we awoke to bird song and a gorgeous view of the ocean. We enjoyed the facilities so much we only left for dinner the next day, content with the pleasures of the pool and socializing with the fellow residents. The wifi was great through out the property. On the following days we would get up early to enjoy the cool breeze, prepare breakfast and lunch in the unit or at the outdoor kitchen, enjoy the pool (and the dogs) and venture out for shopping, beach walking an dinner after a nap in the hammocks during the heat of the day. Theresa set up a sunset cruise for us with Marlin Del Ray that was hugely fun and included lunch, an open bar snorkeling, a tour of the shoreline and ending with a quiet sail back to the bay to watch the sunset. She also recommended some of our favorite restaurants, including Nibbana's. There was many options for food, entertainment, tours and shopping just a short walk away. On the beach you will find Pedro's where you can purchase fresh caught fish and shrimp (1 kilo of tuna or shrimp $16) which we prepared on the grill by the pool. We also found many vendors of fresh fruit, including the best pineapple I have ever eaten along the roadsides. In the evening it was very quiet although you could hear the live music wafting up from town. We felt like we were in our own little world, although there were houses nearby the grounds are landscaped so well it felt very private. Each of the units had a private balcony and shared the rooftop deck that offered a stunning view of the sunsets and a brilliant vista of stars in the evenings. We had booked the room thinking we would spend little time there but loved it so much we ended up spending the majority of the week poolside in utter relaxation. A tv with cable was provided if you felt the need to connect with the outside world as well as an ipod dock. The kitchen had everything necessary to prepare and enjoy meals. Hot water was Hot and abundant even with three people taking showers. By the pool was a bathroom so you did not have to return to your unit while using the pool or the bar area.. Laundry facilities were also available for use. At the end of our week, the owner, Joey, arranged transportation for us to our next destination (thank you Edgar). All of the fellow guests were personable and interesting individuals who were open to socializing in the public areas. Over all Casa Bambora was everything we expected and much more.
Key things to remember:
It is a longish walk to town by the road but there is a short cut down a dirt path. It is not the easiest to traverse but everyone made it up and down with no problems.
The blender at the bar transforms the delish local fruit into tasty smoothies and beverages.
There are two small grocery stores with in an easy walk that will provide most anything you want at reasonable prices. Every where we went accepted US dollars at a good exchange rate.
We did not see any bugs including mosquito's during our week long stay.
When eating fruit on the balcony the birds will attempt to get their share.
The three resident dogs and two cats are friendly and unobtrusive.
Joey and Theresa are extremely knowledgeable about the services and businesses around Tamarindo...take their advice. They not only gave recommendations but also set up transportation and tours that were well run and a good value.
If I had to come up with a negative it would be having a single room key....for most couples it would never be an issue but with a group of three wanting to do solo activities on differing timetables it did make planning a little complicated on a couple of occasions. This was a very minor concern and did not hamper our enjoyment in the least.
Casa Bambora is an excellent value for the cost.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere...the feeling of privacy and yet have the option of wonderful company with the fellow guests. Landscaping, location and customer service.
Liked least: Hard to come up with...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Reviewed 28 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2012
Thank you for your review,

I just want to add that I do provide flashlights to my guests that don't have there own and the water pressure problem was due to my pressure switch malfunctioning and it has been replaced so the water now flows evenly again.

Joey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Reviewed 27 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WA
Reviewed 15 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Penperth
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personalized hospitality that goes the extra mile”
Reviewed 7 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at casa bombora. The room itself was great value and neat and tidy with a tv and icy cold air cond, we had two balconies and the views were stunning. We had rapid wifi in our room, and the owner fielded phone calls for us to help organise activities in town. The property is very safe and secure, and his dogs are adorable. The kitchenette was great and helped us save a little money on food. The bigger honeymoon suite looked amazing, but we stayed in the second floor studio which was perfect for us.

The property has been lovingly built by the owner Joey. He bought the place years ago before tamarindo was so deceloped, so he has the most prime spot on the hill in town. Although this means that its an easy 10 minute walk to the beach, casa bambora enjoys breathtaking view to the ocean both to the north and the west. In the morning would check the surf from our balcony and trot down to the beach for two surfs each day.

Joey seemed to be forever tinkering, with any empty studios and making improvements here and there. He clearly takes pride in his work and in ensuring that his guests enjoy there stay. Even though he is busy and unintrusive we would seek his advice every day regarding where to surf and the best places to eat and watch the sunset. He was extremely helpful not only for our stay in tamarindo, but he gave us invaluable advice for planning the rest of our trip through central America. He even emailed us after we left with contacts and tips to help us with our onward journey.

Overall, we were very happy staying at casa bambora. If wereturn to tamarindo we will definitely stay there and we might even stay in the honeymoon suite!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing