We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Amarilla
Nearby Hotels
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luamey(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ten North Tamarindo Beach Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$360
US$333
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$221
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda JJ(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Botella de Leche Hostel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
199
16
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
16
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshot of tequilabanana breadplace to stayother guestshome away from homeevery morningoctopus roomcosta ricafriendly dogsperfect location on the beachnew friendslaid backgreat folksclean and comfortable roomshotel ownersfresh fruitpura vida
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We drove from La Fortuna to Playa Tamarindo and booked our stay at Hotel Villa Amarilla. We were a group of 5 and our stay was amazing. Both Cinde and TJ were such great hosts I felt as if I was staying at a family member's home. They were very accommodating and made sure that we were comfortable. The rooms are clean and great air conditioning. We were literally steps away from the beach when we got up in the morning. Couldn't have asked for a better stay. Thank you guys for making our vacation memorable.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tvilla_155033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that your experience at Hotel Villa Amarilla was a memorable one. We hope in the future that you will always make Villa Amarilla your home away from home. Pura Vida
See you soon.
Cinde and Tj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Villa Amarilla is our go to favourite spot to stay in Tamarindo. Cindy & TJ are very welcoming & know exactly how to make you feel at home.

We always joke with TJ & Cinde about living at the hotel permanently, thats how much we love it.

The rooms are clean, offer AC, Mini Fridges, Flat Screens, and the comfiest beds in Tamarindo.

You can walk from your room directly to the surf and then shower off after. Don't forget to spend some time in the hammocks and also the onsite massages ($20.00 for half hour).

You can book any excursions through Diego at the front of the hotel. If you need to arrange rides he can take care of that too.

A grocery store directly beside the hotel for convenience

Shared common area & kitchen to cook up whatever you would like.

Cant wait to stay again

Room Tip: All rooms offer something great
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Byron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

There should be a point system called Frequent Sleeper Snoozes.
Because you two just keep coming back from Canada ... and we love seeing you all the time. Thank you so much for your wonderful words.....
Oh and Byron and Kait ..... see you soon.
Cinde and Tj
p.s. Discovertamarindo rocks! I saw our video on youtube..... along with other brands you are marketing... cool

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Cinde is spectacular. Welcomes you to her perfect location in the middle of playa tamarindo with a beautiful smile and a shot of tequila. Great meeting spot for lovely ex pat locals and repeat tourists. What a wonderful place to have in Tamarindo. Rooms are very comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Kevin
Thanks so much for the great review. We hope that you and Rachel will return soon. Remember this IS your home away from home.
See you two soon.
Cinde and TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

It's not my first time in VILLA AMARILLA , and I can tell you that is the best place to enjoy Tamarindo beach.
TJ and Cinde are so welcoming, kind and helpful, that makes our stay incredibly enjoyable and relaxing .
Just like they said, arrive as strangers, leave as family.....I'll certainly be back soon .

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlinif70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Franco
You guys are the best.... and we love that you make Villa Amarilla
your home away from home.... see you soon friends..
Cinde and Tj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Just like they said, arrive as strangers, leave as family. TJ and Cinde are so welcoming, kind and helpful. They made our stay so relaxing and enjoyable. The accommodations were outstanding! Very clean and comfortable rooms and the small extras they provided (yummy muffins and fruit for breakfast, beach towels, sunscreen) were a great added touch. All the additional services were nice to have right on-site if you were interested in purchasing like the massages, surfing lessons, excursions, ATV rentals and more. My husband and I came alone this trip to check out the town and surrounding areas. We had such a great time that we will be back again this year with our kids and as many friends that we can gather to join us. Thanks so much Hotel Villa Amarilla for an incredible vacation....Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Upstairs had a quiet, comfy sitting area. It was covered so we sat out there at night watching the rain, thunder and lightning storms!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonCarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Sharon
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you had a great time.
Diego does do a great job of taking care of all the excursions and all the extra fun.
Looking forward to seeing the whole family here.
Until then. Pura vida
Cinde and TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews