We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cabinas Las Olas(Playa Avellanas)
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Casa Blanca Tamarindo(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarindo Inn(Tamarindo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Antema Lodge(Tamarindo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
200
16
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
16
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshot of tequilabanana breadplace to stayother guestshome away from homeevery morningoctopus roomcosta ricafriendly dogsperfect location on the beachnew friendslaid backgreat folksclean and comfortable roomsair conditioning worked wellhotel ownersfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

No joke I've never woken up happier than the week I stayed at this property. Right on the beach!!!! Sunsets to die for!!!! Massages on-site for a great deal!!!! Chocolate chip banana bread every morning.... Need I say more.

Food, drinks, fun, surf and sun right outside your door.

My hats off to the owners at this hotel! here. Can't wait to come back! Thanks for the turkey on Thanksgiving too!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hahahaha Brian
So glad you had such a great time.
You are so welcome for the thanksgiving dinner
Cinde and TJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Very hospitable. On site massage service highly recommended.
Even if your not a dog-person, Corona (the landscaper), Thor (the regulator) and Chance (the hearthbreaker) will make your stay more entertaining. The garden is right on the beach, excellent location. The breakfast banana bread is addictive, muffins and the fresh fruit very tastefull. Rooms, communal kitchen, garden, everything super clean.
Cindy, muchos gracias for your hospitality, we will come stay with you for sure on our next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank frankvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

I kind of want to NOT tell you, but this is THE spot to stay in Tamarindo. The hosts Cinde and TJ are the best. You may come here as a stranger, but you will leave as family. Right on the beach, in heart of Tamarindo where you can walk to any place. The white sandy beach, the people, are out the door. Beautiful grounds, friendly people, great clean rooms, all individually artistically done. Best views from the upstairs balcony, and the hammocks, just the best place to hang your bag for a night or a week. Small and unique.
Hotel Villa Amarilla is a very special place. I spend lots of time here and it has always been an experience. Laid back and comfortable. No stuffy shirts, just a great vibe to the surfing that abounds.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have awesome views of the sunsets and beach.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Lori
Thank you for such a great review. It was so nice to have you here for Thanksgiving. Though the next day we didn't have a lot of leftovers, the memories we have are always fun. See you soon.
Cinde and Tj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We drove from La Fortuna to Playa Tamarindo and booked our stay at Hotel Villa Amarilla. We were a group of 5 and our stay was amazing. Both Cinde and TJ were such great hosts I felt as if I was staying at a family member's home. They were very accommodating and made sure that we were comfortable. The rooms are clean and great air conditioning. We were literally steps away from the beach when we got up in the morning. Couldn't have asked for a better stay. Thank you guys for making our vacation memorable.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tvilla_155033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that your experience at Hotel Villa Amarilla was a memorable one. We hope in the future that you will always make Villa Amarilla your home away from home. Pura Vida
See you soon.
Cinde and Tj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Villa Amarilla is our go to favourite spot to stay in Tamarindo. Cindy & TJ are very welcoming & know exactly how to make you feel at home.

We always joke with TJ & Cinde about living at the hotel permanently, thats how much we love it.

The rooms are clean, offer AC, Mini Fridges, Flat Screens, and the comfiest beds in Tamarindo.

You can walk from your room directly to the surf and then shower off after. Don't forget to spend some time in the hammocks and also the onsite massages ($20.00 for half hour).

You can book any excursions through Diego at the front of the hotel. If you need to arrange rides he can take care of that too.

A grocery store directly beside the hotel for convenience

Shared common area & kitchen to cook up whatever you would like.

Cant wait to stay again

Room Tip: All rooms offer something great
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Byron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaamarilla, Owner at Hotel Villa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

There should be a point system called Frequent Sleeper Snoozes.
Because you two just keep coming back from Canada ... and we love seeing you all the time. Thank you so much for your wonderful words.....
Oh and Byron and Kait ..... see you soon.
Cinde and Tj
p.s. Discovertamarindo rocks! I saw our video on youtube..... along with other brands you are marketing... cool

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews