We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tamarindo Inn(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Casa Blanca Tamarindo(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Trailz Hostel & Surf Camp(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabinas La Playa(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Liz 27(Veintisiete de Abril)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cabinas Las Olas(Playa Avellanas)
US$124
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveller rating
732
30
7
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
30
7
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classspa treatmentsother guestscouples massagesunset massageour honeymoonbody scrubromantic dinneramazing spaheaven and earthopen airdaily laundry servicequeen roomminute massagecommunal tablegourmet lunchcosta rica
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 776 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have not stayed at Los Altos but we have been to the day spa twice. It features three treatments and a light lunch with wine. It is an incomparable outdoor setting and the staff are superb.
It is not easy to find so getting detailed directions is a must.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoRoemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband and I spent a week here for a honeymoon long overdue (5 years!). I had very high expectations of Los Altos de Eros because of all of the raving reviews and pictures. I am definitely the "planning-type", and booked this trip WAY in advance...looking at every single review and picture on TripAdvisor over the time leading up to our vacation (actually I got extremely excited with each review and picture, so I just kept going!). NOTHING could describe the experience you will have staying here. Everything, from the delicious food, to the spectacular views and sunsets, and the wonderful staff will make you feel like you're in Heaven. You will feel like family here. Everyone is very accommodating and will bend over backwards for you, whether you want to plan a last-minute trip to the town/beach, activity, or just to make a fresh smoothie (by the way...the mango, pineapple and papaya smoothies are to DIE for...also the pina coladas).The wild-life around the property is very amusing- every single day we had the pleasure of lounging around the pool with 2 iguanas (about 3 feet long...they LOVE the fruit on the end of your smoothies and you will find them coming up to your chair for it, so don't freak out lol). We also saw tons of howler monkeys (they can sound really creepy at night and I woke up a few times to them because we had the windows open). The toads loved to come out by the pool at night during dinner, also. It was like clock-work almost! All of the managers (Yanina, Tatiana, and Anya, etc) were all wonderful, as were the housekeepers, chefs, drivers (thanks Antonio and Lionel!), etc! Sorry if I misspelled anyone's name! Calvin, the owner, came by almost everyday to see how we were doing. He is a wonderful person and has really made the most perfect place on Earth. We had the most wonderful time here, and we are sad to leave. We met some wonderful people who were other guests as well (hi, Bryan and Annie, John and Brittany, and Al and Katie!). As other reviewers have mentioned, you will eat your meals with other guests around one large table. We were not too sure how it would be, but it turned out great! We were lucky to have such great couples here at the same time. Some other words of advice: take the cooking class! SO fun! Bring smaller bills to make it easier for tipping and buying things in town (although you can tip at the end of your stay). Know the exchange rate ahead of time in case people elsewhere in town might try to take advantage of you when buying things. You don't need to bring a lot of laundry (they do it daily for free! WONDERFUL service). Do the couple's sunset massage and dinner! I wish we could have had more money and time for another massage, but sadly we had to go without. We went horseback riding with Go Adventures (1 hr Playa Conchal, 1 hr up and down the mountains/jungle-AMAZING. If you have the time one day (a few hours), do it!!! Also, surf lessons with Rudy in Tamarindo are a must! Canopy tour was great also!

Do yourself a favor and book your vacation here, even if it can only be for one night. You will not regret it!

Pura vida!

Thanks every at Los Altos de Eros! We will miss you!
-Mary & Chris

Room Tip: We had the King room- I think it's more private than the Queen-further away, and you have your own patio with chairs
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryandChris16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I had a long description of our stay written out, but the internet crashed and I lost it all. So... I'm going to keep this 2nd one short and sweet.

We stayed 2 nights as part of our honeymoon, which was a BIG MISTAKE - that was WAY TOO SHORT. We were depressed when we had to leave, and we were already planning when we could come back. The service was amazing, the property gorgeous, plenty of animals, and the outdoor shower was incredible.

I would highly, HIGHLY recommend the sunset dinner and massage. We had that our first night, and it was one of the best nights of our lives. They gave us an hour and a half massage in front of a beautiful view (best massage I've ever had), and then they gave us strawberries and champagne to enjoy while watching the sunset. After awhile, they came and served us a wonderful dinner by candlelight, and the only noise we could hear was from the small waterfall behind us and the birds and howler monkeys.

Altogether, an AMAZING place, the best place we have every stayed or probably will ever stay, and we are already planning our trip back.

Room Tip: Any of the 4 poolside rooms were great and probably the same, with outdoor showers and A/C if you need it. If you can, try and stay in the Eros suite, which we were able to take a look at and it blew us away. Next time we come, we will try and stay there!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We have been staying in Tamarindo and touring around. Needed a day at the spa to regroup. The ladies at Los Altos de Eros were amazing and we did not want to leave! 1/2 day, 3 treatments, fabulous lunch and all the wine you can drink! Ask for Jessica!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlarsenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Everything is exactly as everyone has written... this place in perfect. All needs are taken care of, from meals, drivers, laundry, food, smoothies (yum), beer and wine, your personal concierge and the most incredible view. And you get to wake up to the sound of monkey everyday! Hard to get back to reality after spending 5 nights at this wonderful resort. It is a little pricy, but when you think about everything being included it's really not.

Do not make the mistake of passing up the spa. Best massages that I have every had in my life.. and I've had quite a few!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieYoung733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews