We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming, convenient and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Guarana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Guarana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2010

I loved it here! Very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated rooms. An easy walk to Puerto Viejo beaches and activities.. The have a cool little tree house/platform that offers a picturesque view of the town. I really enjoyed staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2010

We arrived in Puerto Viejo without any plans, and we stumbled across this lovely little hotel. We were very pleasantly surprise. Once you enter the courtyard it is almost like you have been transported into the middle of the jungle. All of the rooms are situated around this lovely courtyard and from our little veranda we couldn't see another sole. So lovely and so peaceful! The bed was very comfortable, by far and away the best sleep we had on our trip around Central America. Just a few minutes walk from the beach and the centre of town, but very quite. The staff were very friendly, multilingual and very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel for 9 nights in January 2010. We were greeted by Alma the friendliest receptionist ever and felt at home immediately. The staff was eager to help with planning excursions or calling a cab. The rooms were kept more than clean and you felt great about the hotels efforts to be green. The owners are environmental advocates, which is great. The hotel was built by the owners and you can feel the love they have out into the place. This is a wonderful hotel for the price range, you feel safe and comfortable. The hammocks and porches were wonderful touches, we loved relaxing in them in the evenings. If we ever travel back to Puerto Viejo we would surely stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serenetraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Nice , clean , decorated and spacious rooms , with mosquito net over the bed , a prívate safe box and even a great hammock on your prívate terrace over a small , wild tropical garden …loved very mutch the kitchen that is for everyone’s use and coffee and tee were free all day.The owners and receptionists are helpful and extremely friendly to meet all our needs.They do have WIFI and a computer is available in the reception area. The location is excelent, near the best restaurant , markets and the beach is only few minutes walking.
The hotel is unbeatable , especially for the price and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KookNoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

I was pleasantly surprised by how charming this place was because the price was so reasonable. The reception area has been beautifully done by the owner and is very inviting. The rooms are very bright and large with very clean bathrooms. What really makes this place though are the people who run it. Everyone who works there are courteous and very helpful when booking tours. We were there when there was quite a bit of rain and we still found a lot to do because of their suggestions.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msvivie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
665 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,507 reviews
1.7 km away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Pura Vida
Hotel Pura Vida
#8 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
258 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
240 reviews
7.2 km away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#75 of 113 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guarana

Address: Avenida 69 | 50 m. from Megasuper, Puerto Viejo Center, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 41001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: RM171 - RM275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Guarana is a small hotel full of colors and good energy. We have 12 rooms individually ,uniquely decorated. We are situated in one of the most quiet and central streets in Puerto Viejo, 200 m. only steps to beach and restaurants. The hotel is safe, private and set in a lush tropical garden of flowers and fauna. Services include; Wireless, Laundry, Safe in room, Parking, communal kitchen totally equipped. English, Spanish, French & Italian spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guarana Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Guarana Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing