We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$76
Agoda.comUS$76
PricelineUS$84
Hotels.comUS$76
eDreamsUS$76
CheapTicketsUS$76
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
79
96
36
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
96
36
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puerto viejo spent three nights plenty of hot water the jaguar rescue center howler monkeys full kitchen beautiful beach pool property balconies town caribbean insects tiles beaches cr landscaping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2020 via mobile

We came here with all the family. The staff is very polite and helpful. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Morning breakfast is included. It is served with nice detail of bowl of fruit. The hotel is infront of the beach. The Beach is not the best in the area, but still very nice. There are plenty of restaurants around including the one in the hotel and one right adjacent to the hotel. It is 3km from Puerto Viejo. I recommend this place.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank mikebU7587OA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2020 via mobile

This is a great place! One of the few that are directly on the ocean. It has its own beautiful beaches. They aren’t really for swimming because of corral and at least when we were here strong riptides, but fun for playing in the sand with the shade of the palm trees.
It also has a really beautiful pool that is great for kids although the waterfall feature is tempting to jump off but it’s very dangerous. The breakfast was delicious and the service was very friendly and helpful. One of the best features is a hiking trail directly from the property that walks along the beach with beautiful views.
The restaurant is really great, and the next-door pizza/pasta place is also delicious! Great value.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank LilyRussoYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020

This is a simple hotel located in spectacular surroundings in the rain Forest on the beach. All rooms face the ocean, the rooms are very simple very clean with no telephones and large glass doors that open in the back to the ocean and paths that lead directly to the ocean from each room. The ocean views are spectacular but one must be careful of the reef and the tides. We walked long distances on the beach and enjoy the amazing scenery and and listen to the birds all day long but more especially early morning. They have 2 restaurants
One of them serves a good simple breakfast but the lunch and dinner are just OK, the other Restaurant is closeby and the food there is excellent. esp the pizza and the steaks. Both restaurants have open seating and ocean views.
The staff is very friendly. Jesse and Carol were super good to us. All the others were also very nice
We went kayaking on the river and it was a lot of fun and also the hike in the rainforest was perfect.
All rooms have AC
I would go back there and stay longer.

Room tip: Ground floor rooms are more convenient. First floor rooms have hammocks and are more sunny
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shakirak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2019

Our two-bedroomed house was just metres from the sea and was surrounded by fantastic tropical vegetation. Squirrels scuttled up the trees and colourful birds swooped from branch to branch. However, inside the property is tired verging on grotty. The tiled sofa was a sight to behold and although everything was clean it was also old and tatty. However, the air conditioning works, the fans work and there is plenty of hot water. Breakfasts are basic but fine. The location is pretty good, outside town and with a beach. We found the staff friendly. Plenty of towels, etc. Not bad at all.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank julietyjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2019

Just got back for the second time from a delightful visit to Puerto Viejo, CR. Our stay at Villas del Caribe has been fantastic both times! They have rooms for every budget from basic to condo style. The rooms are very clean and just steps to the ocean. The landscaping is absolutely beautiful. We saw sloths and howler monkeys multiple times on the premises. In the past, we have seen huge orange iguanas. The staff at Villas del Caribe is awesome and will do whatever they can to help you and make you feel very welcome. Alvaro and Jessie are absolutely the best!!! Villas del Caribe is one of the few places close to Puerto Viejo that also has a pool. In addition, they offer bike rental. They have two restaurants onsite. Both are really good places to eat. The Jaguar Rescue Center is right across the road and definitely worth a visit. They take in injured wildlife and rehabilitate. We look forward to our next visit to Villas del Caribe.

Room tip: The condos are better rooms if you have are a light sleeper.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shayla65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews