We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
275
170
42
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
170
42
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica the owner private path to the beach fresh fruit playa chiquita nice pool individual bungalows ceiling fan loved this hotel an incredible experience front porch poison dart frogs three nights wildlife jungle monkeys nature
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed the lodge park. Each lodge stands in its own and is very spacious with a front veranda incl hanging matras. Breakfast is good but the same every day. Also diner tasts really good. No lunch option. Note the lounge is close to the road, which you can hear well in some lodges. It also is 6km outside of Puerte Viejo. Beach on the other side of the road, as 5 min walk.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

We recently stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay. However, the beds were extremely uncomfortable... it felt mostly like coils with no padding on the mattress. Other than that, we really enjoyed everything else about this property. Breakfast is included, but is the same each day- fruit, toast, eggs, and coffee. Wifi is only available in the main lodge and not in the bungalows, but it was nice to be unplugged while on vacation. The beach is across the street from the property and there is a path from the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. There are lots of birds and howler monkeys that will wake you up early each morning, but that is just part of the jungle charm! I loved the open showers and the unique tile work in the bungalow. This would have easily been a 5 star review if the beds were different, but unfortunately not having a comfortable bed is a big downfall for me.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here in August and had a great time. The lodges are lovely but a little dark because It’s situated right in the jungle. Beds can be damp on occasion as nothing drys here.
Howler monkeys wake you up early, which is lovely although we thought it was a boar!!
The food is lovely, we had both breakfast and ate in the restaurant most evenings.
The only criticism I have is on booking.com it states it is on the beach, but it definitely isn’t, you have cross the road and walk for about 5-10 mins, but the beach is amazing!
Overall really enjoyed the lodge and would recommend it to families.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank emmahF1486SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

A lovely stay in lodges that felt like we were in the heart of the jungle - the howler monkeys, agouti, frogs, geckos and many bird calls were an amazing soundtrack to our stay, very special. A delicious breakfast and beautiful dinner, superb food and a top notch margarita. Such friendly staff and a gorgeous setting - we’d love to return here.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jet724138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

I liked this place but it seems like no one was trying to make it special. We stayed for three nights and hardly saw anyone else except for a few other people at dinner. The bungalow was clean but we could have used a small table or two to set our suitcases on. Finally got hot water on the third night. The wifi is very iffy. The pool is next to the road and though you don't really see the cars or people on bikes, you definitely hear them. They have no restaurant or bar service during the day but there are some nice places within walking distance to eat and have a drink. Was a nice place to stay but nothing memorable or special about it.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Freebie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews