We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lizard King Hotel Resort
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Clean, tidy, good wifi and TVs with a few English channels. Pool is nice enough but wouldn't sit around it during the day as it's in a shaded spot and not much room. The breakfast is adequate, but no way would I walk in off the street and pay $9 for it. Overall it's a decent place to lay your head.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
code333, Owner at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Daniel, thank you for taking the time and effort for posting your experience with us here at the Lizard King Hotel. We place our best efforts so that you can have a pleasant stay. We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The location is ideal for it is in the main area of Puerto Viejo and nearby all the surf towns/coastline. We are across from the beach, walking distance to the restaurants, bars, and shops in the little beach town. This place is a home away from home when you want to get away from it all, get off the grid and be in a safe area as well as sleep on a clean bed with a/c and a bathroom with hot water. They only have the basics here so don't expect a fancy style resort or anything like that...The roads have lots of pot holes, stray dogs and people hanging out after all. They do provide towels for the pool and do offer a pluthera of information in terms of activities and excursions in the area. Pretty much everything you need there is a surcharge for it. Wifi is free, the pool is cool, the floors are clean and the neighborhood is safe for walking around and hanging out. Two thumbs up!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Coachjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
code333, Owner at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Coachjo1, thank you for taking the time and effort for posting your experience with us here at the Lizard King Hotel. We place our best efforts so that you can have a pleasant stay. We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

The room was nice, very basic but had everything you needed including two fans!! Staff were very nice. The pool inside the hotel was nice and clean. Breakfast was a buffet, there wasn't a lot of choice but what was there was nice enough to eat. Overall good place and I would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
code333, Owner at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Sammy, thank you for taking the time and effort for posting your experience with us here at the Lizard King Hotel. We place our best efforts so that you can have a pleasant stay. We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Nice room and location, but that was everything. There was no friendly service (only when you book the room) nobody talked to us. There was (no good) atmosphere at all. And the pool looks good but there are tons of chloride in it!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank skeet1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizard K, Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Hello Skeet1975,

Pools require a certain amount of chlorine to function as an antiseptic solution. We apologize if you didn't get to have a conversation with the staff. We are always working on bettering our customer service so that you have a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

When we arrived to Puerto Viejo we did as recommended and walked into different hotels in town asking for special offers. We got some and the best was from the Lizard King Hotel. Should we stay more than one night, we would get a discount of 8% per each night. We payed one night (regular price) in advance, slept, took breakfast and went for a short beach time. When we came back, after 12, staff wouldn't hand us our keys, thus blocking all of our stuff and car (we had also left the car keys at the front desk).
So we decided to pay the second night in advance too. But the hotel wanted to charge us the regular price (186 US$) again. We protested and demanded to speak to the manager who came see us. We told her that the price they're asking for is higher than on booking.com and that the front office worker (male) the day before had given us an 8%-discount (170 US$ per night) if we stayed more than one night. Since he had to ask his boss the day he gave us the discount he had written him an email to ask.
The manager refused to look at this email, saying that since they had not payed the 13% taxes we were getting an even higher discount than we were asking for. This is unacceptable. And this attitude is even worse coming from the hotel manager.
1. The manager was there the day we got the offer so it would be safe to assume that she was supervising her co-worker at the front desk.
2. We had a deal with the front desk co-worker of 170US$/night, if we stayed more than one night.
3. The email where this co-worker asks for permission to give us this offer would prove it.
4. The hotel "confiscates" our belongings to put us under pressure to pay another price than we had accorded.
5. Obviously - in our cases - the hotel doesn't pay its taxes.

As for the rest: The rooms were quite comfy. The TV very small. The staff (mostly) friendly, but after that episode we were not treated very well anymore. The included breakfast is bad. It's not like promoted on the huge sign in front of the hotel. There's no croissant, no muffin, no bagel, no orange juice or any other fruits on the picture. No drinks from the bar, we didn't even get a slice of lime. And the pool is only about 4 times 4 meters.

Room Tip: Away from the street, can get really loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Picadores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
code333, General Manager at Lizard King Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

First of all, thank you for extending your stay several times. However there were some misunderstandings. From the first night on we offered you a special reduced price with 8% discount, not just the second and following nights. We explained to you that booking prices are shown without 13% tax and that is why at first sight it seems cheaper but during the reservation process taxes are added. Our prices include 13% tax. At the end it is the same price and we gave you 8% discount on that. We always approach our customers in a friendly and polite manner and would never refuse to hand out any keys, block cars or anything like that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Escape Caribeno
Hotel Escape Caribeno
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
158 reviews
0.3 km away
The Lotus Garden
The Lotus Garden
#27 of 55 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
175 reviews
0 km away
Cabinas Coconut Grove
Cabinas Coconut Grove
#21 of 55 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
244 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Perla Negra
Hotel Perla Negra
#26 of 118 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
201 reviews
4.1 km away
Finca Ardilla
Finca Ardilla
#20 of 55 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizard King Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard King Hotel Resort

Address: Calle Principal - 600 metros sur del Banco Costa Rica, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: RM273 - RM463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lizard King Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lizard King Hotel & Suites is in a great location, friendly service, fun amenities, beautiful wooden rooms and building structure. Free WiFi, Free Coffee and Snacks, Parking, Free Swimming Pool Access - Bus-stop Shuttle to Hotel,Great Location - Next to Everything & across the Street from the Beach.LaundryService, Orthopedic Mattresses, Air Condition, or fan, Mini refrigerator, Mini Bar, Cable Television, Coffee, and Tours and Attractions Appointment Management Onsite. Massage Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lizard King Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard King Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing