We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Evergreen delivered. We arrived jetlagged and exhausted, bemused by the 40min commute to the hotel but we were not disappointed. Our initial room seems more like a hostel accommodation and when we mentioned that this was not what we had expected they immediately upgraded us with no extra charge (it seems the initial room was for families and had we have stayed we'd have been sandwich between several families with kids). The food was good, not massively complex but sustainable and the breakfast one of the best we had on our trip. The staff were brilliantly friendly and efficient and the tour guides excellent. They were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Just what you need to put your mind at rest after you have just arrived in a new country. We saw the most amazing wildlife, has Howler monkeys above us as we slept, saw white faced monkeys hanging out near the restaurant, we met some cool people and I'd thoroughly recommend Evergreen.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKRachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    294
    58
    13
    9
See reviews for
141
368
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Evergreen was our first stop in Costa Rica, and it is one that will remain in our memory: the location is great, the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is very helpfull and so friendly! We forgot the baby's stroller in San José (how stupid can you be...) and the staff + touroperator did everything to get the damn thing to destination. I did my first canopy tour, and enjoyed every minute of it. The food (buffet) is excellent. And they have a babychair. The shower: very hot and a nice abundant waterjet.
In one word: a place I would recommend to my friends.
William, Senta & baby Ella

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Our stay at the Evergreen Lodge was great! You definitely felt like you were in the rainforest. The rooms had no air conditioning, no tv, no internet, and no windows (just screens). It was cool to hear all the animals living in the rainforest; it kinda put you to sleep. All meals were included and so were tours of the area. The hotel grounds also has trails and little canals where you can go kayaking. I would say the only downside, was that if you wanted to go anywhere outside of the hotel grounds, you had to take a boat. Overall - clean rooms, good food, and great experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KPTravelAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Tortuguero National Park is reached only by water, a one hour boat trip into the rainforest. Evergreen Lodge consists of individual wooden cabins on stilts in the forest. The cabins have windows down both sides which have mesh instead of glass. They are basic but do have shower rooms and a veranda with rocking chairs if yu are brave enough - the mosqitoes are hungry! You can get a real feel of the rainforest here but if you are not fond of insects, frogs, monkeys and lizards this is probably not for you. Food is good, staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Take a mozzie net - some of the mesh has holes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, OK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This lodge and the available activities were the highlight of our 12 day trip to Costa Rica. Outstanding restaurant with stunning fresh flowers at each meal and attentive service. Heidi, the manager, is tops. We watched the endangered green sea turtle hatchlings as they rushed to the ocean, cruised down the canals through the jungle, watched monkeys frolic through the trees outside our door, and were awakened each morning by tropical birds. We couldn't find a fault with anything. It's an effort to get here, but well worth it for a lifetime of memories.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twohumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
3.2 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,044 reviews
2.2 km away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
472 reviews
0.7 km away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,051 reviews
2.1 km away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 34 in Tortuguero
836 reviews
9.5 km away
Turtle Beach Lodge
Turtle Beach Lodge
#6 of 34 in Tortuguero
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Property: Evergreen Lodge
Address: 5 minutes by boat from the main entrance to Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 11502, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price range (per night): RM1,175 - RM2,079
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Evergreen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing