We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle experience !”
Review of Evergreen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
152 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Jungle experience !”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a location ! Takes you 2 hours by boat to get there. Once arrived you discover a beautiful lodge, surrounded by tropical garden. Terrace with rocking chairs. It is not necessary, though strongly recommended, to leave the cottage to discover nature : you are in the middle of it!
Very friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet and dinner. Real jungle experience !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YolandeRousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    293
    58
    13
    9
See reviews for
140
362
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We booked our trip through Gecko Tours. Our guide, Manfred was fantastic. His knowledgeable about the critters and the plant life was excellent. He was also very funny, which also helps. We stayed at the Evergreen Lodge and the accommodation was very well appointed. If you have time it is very well worth the trip. Birders just get out of bed early and walk around the grounds it is worth the effort. We also saw all three of the Costa Rica monkeys on site.

Steve & Val
UK

Room Tip: None they we all good rooms in terraces of 5 and reasonably spaced
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Throstle-Bower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Don't stay at Evergreen if you're looking for plush 4 star accommodation - the experience you get staying here is unique but it's not the Ritz! What you do get the opportunity to sleep in a room on stilts with no glass in the windows (only mosquito netting) with Anteaters, frogs, vultures and various monkeys. Being woken at 5:25am by Howler monkeys in the trees directly above you is an experience I'll never forget.

Evergreen is really about the location not the accommodation, so we spent much of our 2 days here (as part of a VJV Central America's Garden of Eden tour) out on the water looking at the wildlife which was absolutely fabulous.

I've never been anywhere like Evergreen and I'll remember this fantastic experience for a very long time

Room Tip: With all rooms in the middle of the forest and an early morning Howler monkey alarm clock I would su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I signed up a three day and two night tour with Jungle Tom's Safari, we took the economy package which is $220. It includes all the food (soft drink and alcohol extra), three tours, the tour only runs in the morning. Our 2nd afternoon was empty so we decided to take a canoe tour for $20 each person. The lodge is out of our expectation. It was clean, spacious room and bathroom. We stayed in the room #40 which is very close to the turtle shape pool. You can also spot animals while swimming, it is incredible! The lodge is finally functioned with electricity, hot shower and Internet!!! There is wifi in the reception, a nice surprise for me!

The food provided by the lodge is very good. It is buffet style but we never got bored with the meal and it is tasty and fresh. (their coconut dessert is to die for!!)

Overall, I would recommend everyone to spend a little bit extra if you want to visit and stay in Tortuguero, it is a pleasant experience and you will love it!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank comicpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Evergreen delivered. We arrived jetlagged and exhausted, bemused by the 40min commute to the hotel but we were not disappointed. Our initial room seems more like a hostel accommodation and when we mentioned that this was not what we had expected they immediately upgraded us with no extra charge (it seems the initial room was for families and had we have stayed we'd have been sandwich between several families with kids). The food was good, not massively complex but sustainable and the breakfast one of the best we had on our trip. The staff were brilliantly friendly and efficient and the tour guides excellent. They were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Just what you need to put your mind at rest after you have just arrived in a new country. We saw the most amazing wildlife, has Howler monkeys above us as we slept, saw white faced monkeys hanging out near the restaurant, we met some cool people and I'd thoroughly recommend Evergreen.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKRachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
3.2 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,023 reviews
2.2 km away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 8 in Tortuguero
466 reviews
0.9 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,195 reviews
1.1 km away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,037 reviews
2.1 km away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 34 in Tortuguero
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge

Property: Evergreen Lodge
Address: 5 minutes by boat from the main entrance to Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 11502, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price range (per night): RM1,124 - RM2,077
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Evergreen Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Evergreen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing