We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Treat!”
Review of Mawamba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mawamba Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
402 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A Real Treat!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Mawamba Lodge is very special. Reachable only by boat or small airplane, Mawamba is located on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica in the Tortuguero National Park. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are cute but rustic. Be prepared for no air conditioning. We loved the excellent typical Costa Rican food and fruit drinks! The highlight of our visit was boat trips into the Tortuguero National Park waterways where we experienced crocodiles, caymans, boa constrictors, lizards, and many indigenous birds, to include herons, egrets,and others too numerous to mention.

Room Tip: Be prepared for no air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    446
    117
    33
    26
See reviews for
215
529
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Mawamba Lodge is very unique. Reachable only by boat or small airplane, Mawamba is located on the East coast of Costa Rica in the Tortuguero National Park bordering the Caribbean. This area is home to the nesting Green Turtle which lays eggs between March and August each year.

This was our second visit to Mawamba. In 8 yrs, the facility hasn't changed much...it's still as delightful as ever. The rooms are still quite basic but very clean and comfortable. No tv, telephone or a/c but wifi is available in the restaurant, bar and lobby areas. Food was as good as before with some of the best homemade bread we've ever had! Staff is friendly and helpful, especially in the dining area. Tortuguero Town and the Sea Turtle Conservancy is located a short 10 minute walk from the Lodge. Don't expect a lot of fancy shopping however. Likewise, the Caribbean is just steps away from Mawamba where a nice walk on the beach is possible..

Part of the delight of the Mawamba Lodge is getting there. Most come by boat which takes approximately 1.5 hours. It's possible to see all sorts of wildlife along the way, including monkeys, birds, snakes and caiman. For those wanting relaxation, wildlife, lazy days and a very unusual experience, the Mawamba can not be beat!

Room Tip: All the room are great and the hotel is ideally situated to explore the National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fruebertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Mawamba Lodge is located on a strip of land a stone's throw from the Tortuguero River and the Caribbean Sea (Atlantic Ocean). It is only accessible by boat. Be prepared: The rooms are better than primitive - very clean - with no air conditioning (only a ceiling fan), screens instead of windows, thin walls, a tiled shower, no phone, TV, in-room safe, or clock. Each unit has 2 rocking chairs, so it's a delight to sit outside and the setting is beautiful. Having said that, it's cool in the evenings and usually rains during the night, so you don't need A/C! From each room, you could hear the ocean waves. The pool is beautiful, service and food are great, and wait staff at the bar is good. Take the happy hour cruise to see the sunset - worth the $$. There's a nature center on the property (don't miss it) and you can walk the beach or into the town of Tortuguero (no sidewalks or streetlights, so bring a flashlight). The town itself is a cultural experience - poor, but friendly people. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others. My only wish is that the litter was picked up from the beach, perhaps by volunteer groups or school children.

Room Tip: This is not a big resort, so location of rooms doesn't matter. Take a flashlight with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilthd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed at Mawamba as part of a lage package tour, so it's hard for me to comment on the value, but this place provided an awesome experience for our whole group. The boat trips to & from the Lodge were enjoyable & our guides took care to point out howler monkeys in the trees - apparently it's a bit uncommon to see them like that, but it was a great way to start off the visit. The rooms were small & basic but comfortable... Despite the lack of A/C, I slept fine. The showers were tricky - we had no hot water on day one, but that may have been a result of "operator error"! Ask for help if you're struggling - it's easy enough to spot Lodge employees (in uniforms) roaming the grounds. Beware - if you're not fond of camping, this may not be the place for you... We had a small gecko in our room & a thin snake on our porch, plus there are (huge!) ants everywhere, including the restaurant area. Still, I had no concerns about sanitation and everything was neat & clean. The structured meals were reminiscent of summer camp, but the food was good. We had no trouble getting chairs at the pool or bar, although the Lodge seemed a bit empty while we were there. I would highly recommend the boat trips for the flora & fauna; a walk into town via the beach; napping or reading in a hammock; and touring the butterfly & frog gardens. Overall, a lovely experience, and unlike any others I've had!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteffiLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this lovely lodge in November, 2011. We had a lot of rain but that's what to expect in a rainforest area. The highlights are the boat safaris on the canals of the Tortuguero National Park and the flora and fauna of the Lodge itself. The accommodation is very well appointed with spacious clean rooms. The food, at the buffet style restaurant, was excellent. Saw lots of different wildlife such as : iguana, otters, sloths, monkeys, herons ( 4 species ), colourful frogs and butterfiles as well as spiders and lizards on the night walk. Alas no turtles when we were there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
2.6 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.6 km away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.5 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.4 km away
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
#2 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.4 km away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 36 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawamba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawamba Lodge

Property: Mawamba Lodge
Address: Tortuguero Canals, Tortuguero 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price range (per night): RM1,186 - RM2,024
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawamba Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the lush rainforest of Tortuguero Canals, Costa Rica, Mawamba Lodge and Tortuguero National Park are worth visiting year round. What makes us different? *Unbeatable location on a strip of land between the Tortuguero Canals and the Caribbean Ocean, providing direct access to both * The closest Lodge to Tortuguero town within walking distance (no need to take boats to town) * Free WI FI in selected areas of the hotel * Complimentary safety deposit box in your room * Unlimited free visits to our MAWAMBA PARK: where we offer two butterfly gardens, one iguana and one frog garden. A guided visit is also included in our 3 day / 2 night package * Private nature trais for nature walks * Exciting optional tours including night walks in the forest, kayaking, fishing and the NEW! Katonga floating restaurant for sunset tours or dinners / lunches on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mawamba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawamba Lodge Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing