We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of heaven in the hills overlooking the ocean”
Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Moana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Hotel Moana was absolutely amazing. Nestled in Mal Pais away from busy Santa Teresa, the hotel is in the hill overlooking the ocean. This was exactly what we were looking for and could not have been more pleased with the staff and the facilities. When we arrived, we were thrilled when the receptionist told us that we were upgraded to the junior suite. Talk about spectacular views (there are a number of steps up to the room so this is probably not ideal for anyone who has issues with stairs.) The walk up is worth it. Panoramic views of the Pacific, trees filled with monkeys all around you, and a tastefully decorated room awaited us. The room had outdoor and indoor showers - it was pretty cool to rinse off while looking out at the ocean. The bed was comfortable and there was a large sitting area to read/relax. The porch was a great place to watch the phenomenal sunsets. You will most likely see monkeys jumping through the trees. Everyone at the hotel went out of their way to be helpful - from the maintenance men who kept the grounds looking great to the kind lady who checked us in. Make sure you get breakfast in the morning - the huervos rancheros was great. Overall, a lovely place to stay. I would highly recommend it for couples, families, friends!

Room Tip: Splurge on the junior suite - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

This is just what we were looking for, quiet, romantic, beautiful setting, and different. Love the natural touches throughout. We are staying in the Jr Suite and I am so glad I decided to spend more for it, loving the view from our deck. Lots of breakfast options too! Only thing I wish they had were comforters on the bed. There was a fleece blanket in the closet but other than that it is only a sheet. Not complaining, that is just my preference to have some weight on me. It doesn't diminish the trip and would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kraboin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moanamanager, Gerente at Hotel Moana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Kraboin,
Thank you so much for your stay and thank you for writing a review.
We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us, specially that you enjoyed one of our ocean view rooms and our breakfast options.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in Costa Rica and looking forward to your next visit.
Pura vida!!

Bruno Demarco Quiroz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

My best friend and I visited many cities in Costa Rica. We stayed at different hotels but this one was our favorite!!! Great room, spacious and clean. The staff is super nice friendly especially Bruno. He helped us book our travels from Tamarindo to Hotel Moana and booked fun activities and great prices. He also booked our travels to our next city which was tricky to get to but he made it happen!! I can't express how welcoming and helpful he is!! Makes you feel right at home when you're miles away from home. Oh and the breakfast that is included so yummy, Gallo Pinto there was my favorite;) it's a must have! Free beautiful breathtaking view on deck is included with breakfast! Can't wait for my return to Mal Pais and stay at Moana!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Delia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moanamanager, Gerente at Hotel Moana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Delia,
Thank you so much for your stay and for your review.
We are very glad to know that our hotel was your favorite one in Costa Rica.
It was very nice to host you and was my pleasure to help you to organize your trip. We always do our best to make clients feel at home.
Looking forward to your next visit!!
Pura vida

Bruno Demarco Quiroz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

I can't recommend this place enough. We stayed in several places in Costa Rica and this was our favourite. The rooms were really good value for the price point and were modern, spacious, clean, and well kitted out. The staff were really cool and went well out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We spent most of the daytime out and about but still managed to see loads of interesting wildlife in the hotel grounds (including an armadillo strolling past casually, a skunk, a racoon, frogs and some cool little red and purple crabs). It's right in the middle of Mal Pais and Santa Theresa so easy access to everything (beaches, restaurants, ATM, etc). Breakfast was really good (the best gallo pinto we'd had as the eggs were perfectly runny) and there were loads of other options for those who don't want the local food. As it was low season the restaurant wasn't open in the evenings but there are loads if good places nearby if that is the case

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RichardBurrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moanamanager, Gerente at Hotel Moana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Richard thank you so much for your stay and your nice review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay so much. For us was very nice to have you two staying in our hotel and we hope next time you will be able to stay longer. Keep enjoying Costa Rica and safe trip back home.
Cheers,

Bruno Demarco Quiroz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Close to the beach around 7min walk, free breakfast, great location.. it is easy to find it. ATM, restaurants and convenience stores are close as well... and the restaurant has an awesome view of the beach.. ;)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moanamanager, Gerente at Hotel Moana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Luis G,
Thank you so much for your stay with us and for this nice review. It makes us very happy to know when clients enjoy our hotel, the breakfast and the amazing views from the restaurant.
Looking forward to receiving you soon.
Pura vida!

Bruno Demarco Quiroz
Hotel Moana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.2 km away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
519 reviews
0.4 km away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
41 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
173 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
0.8 km away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Address: 1.5 kilometers to the south, Playa Carmen, Mal Pais 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range: RM286 - RM598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moana is a small private luxury ocean view hotel. Located in the magnificent tranquil region of Mal PaÌs Beach on the Pacific Coast of the Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica. During your vacation with us you'll encounter high quality modern hotel suites and rooms that blend comfort with style leaving you with an unforgettable personal experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing