We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Vacation Spot”
other traveller has booked this property
CasaTolteca - Your private luxury estate nestled in the Manuel Antonio Rain-Forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
CasaTolteca - Your private luxury estate nestled in the Manuel Antonio Rain-Forest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
CasaTolteca - Your private luxury estate nestled in the Manuel Antonio Rain-Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

mbkt
Ruston, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation Spot”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Tolteca was perfect for our family vacation. There were thirteen of us and we were able to be together and spread out for private time too. It was wonderful to have a private bathroom for each bedroom and our teenage boys loved have a space just for them. Each level has a sitting area and kitchen so water and drinks could be on all levels. Angie was WONDERFUL!! I could not have managed the trip without her. I corresponded with Michael and Thomas before we arrived but on site Angie was the contact person. She arranged all of our activities, some at the last minute. She was there for advice and to offer help any time we needed. A couple of times we needed help with something at the house and she was always gracious about coming to our aid. Make sure you understand how to work the ac remotes before she leaves. She explained them perfectly to us but we arrived late and were tired so we did not listen well!! I would not want to plan the trip without Angie. She is such an asset to any renter. Marisol is an amazing chef. We had children and adults age 8 to 71 and she kept each one of us happy. She cooked a tuna we caught the last night and it is the best tuna I have ever eaten. We did eat out a couple of times to have that experience too but wished we had only eaten out once, her food is better than any restaurant we ate in and the grandchildren were always sad when we did not have her cooking, me too! Some of our favorites were the Huevous Rancheros and fruit smoothies for breakfast and the best shrimp quesadillas and guacamole. There was not one thing we did not like. The pool is small but lovely and well maintained. Even with 9 of us in it at a time we still had room to play and enjoy ourselves. The view from the outdoor porches is beautiful and we felt like we were living in a zoo. The monkey visits were a highlight for us. The clothes dryer is very slow in drying clothes and towels so keep that in mind when planning to use the dryer. We almost never saw the maid because we were always out creating memories in the Manuel Antonio area. It has lots to offer in the way of activities. However, it is so nice to have her and come home to a clean house each day. Our trip to Costa Rica and stay at Casa Tolteca was just what we hoped it would be and more. We created wonderful, lasting memories and recommend it highly.

Date of stay: June 2016
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thanks again for the great review. We enjoyed having you stay in our home and hope you come back to visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindajt47
Exeter, New Hampshire
1 review
“I would love to come back and live in the house!”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Ii thought the house was lovely and just what we were looking for. There were 12 in our party and we were all comfortable. Especially nice was the fact that the dining table fit all of us and we could hire a chef instead of going out to dinner which really gets old after a couple of days. I loved the view for our deck of the rain forest and ocean and the close proximity to the beaches. I couldn't ask for anything more. I loved being able to pick up the phone and connect with Angie or Thomas to make plans. They were a godsend. Also they connected us to very good guides and tours. The casita bathroom shower needs to be fixed. We had to use someone else's shower-not a very big inconvenience.

Date of stay: June 2016
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location, the helpfulness of our contacts, the fact that the house was perfect for us especially with teenagers along.
Liked least: the bathroom shower in the casita
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Thanks for great review and letting me know about the shower in the Casita. We will have that fixed immediately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GwenandJo...
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Casa Tolteca exceeds all expectations!”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in January 2016

It's been over 6-months since our trip to Costa Rica and the glow from that trip is still around! My husband, family, friends and I (12 adults in all) went to for my 40th birthday back in January and it was perfect. Everything about the trip exceeded expectations!

The house had a great layout and we never felt like we were in anyone's way or space. The pool was so refreshing at all times of the day and evening swims were nice too. The pre-stocked kitchen was without a doubt the best thing we could have done for ourselves. They even found me Dr. Pepper which was not an easy task! All the staff was amazing, super friendly and willing to help with any of our needs. The house was perfect!

So many beautiful sunsets from the top porch and wildlife all around. We had two kinds of monkeys visit us at the house, the squirrel monkeys and the white-headed capuchin monkeys. We could hear the howler monkeys but never saw them at the house.

We did the butterfly house and the jungle night tour where I got to see my red-eyed tree frog! Manuel Antonio park is closed Monday's and Tuesdays are very busy as we found out - go early! Cafe Milagro ended being our go to place for breakfast and dinner one night, amazing food! It was super easy to get around on the bus and our friend rented a car - kinda scary but worth it if you're the brave type. We all highly recommend the sunset sailing excursion to end your trip, but plan those early too!

When a trip exceeds everyone's expectations & everyone is still glowing from it 6-months later, you know it was a good trip!

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the layout of the house and the private pool.
Liked least: limited amount of house keys - too many people going different places, not all could have keys
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thanks for taking time to write a review. I'm glad it was such a memorable experience for you that you are still glowing about it even 6 months later. I hope you will be able to join us again in our home before too long. I know your next experience here will make you love Manuel Antonio even more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washburnp...
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
“Unforgetttable!”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our extended family of nine people, ages 5 to 89 spent one wonderful week at Casa Tolteca. The home provided us with memories that will last a lifetime. We definitely saw more wildlife at close range at the house than we did anywhere else during our visit to Costa Rica. We often felt as if we were part of a National Geographic special! A group of squirrel monkeys including a couple of females passed by one morning, paused along the railing long enough to nurse their babies and allow us to take photos before heading back into the rain forest. The resident iguanas were very much at home on the roof and didn't seem to mind sharing the outdoor space with us. A shy agouti passed by a couple times as well.
The house itself is beautifully situated overlooking the Pacific and the layout allows a great deal of privacy while still providing nice areas for larger groups to gather. The steps down to the house from the road ensured that we were in better physical shape when we left than when we arrived! Although the house is located such that walking to the nearby public beach and local restaurants is possible it is not particularly safe since the roads are narrow and winding with no accommodation for pedestrians.
One of the best parts of our visit were the meals that we had prepared at the house by local chefs, Marisol and Israel. The food was amazing and their warm personalities made the whole experience very special. We ate dinner out a couple of nights and especially enjoyed the restaurant Emilio's which had a gorgeous view as well as delicious food.
We were happy that we decided to rent a van while we were in Costa Rica so that we had more flexibility to explore the surrounding area. We visited some of the beaches to the south including beautiful Playa Dominical and Playa Hermosa which we probably would not have done otherwise. A group of us spent one day zip lining at MidWorld Costa Rica which everyone agreed was a highlight of the trip. We would highly recommend this experience both for the adventure and the friendly and accommodating personalities of the guides. The Mangrove Boat Tour by Manuel Antonio Expeditions and led by Pablo was another highly recommended day trip. Although the amount of wildlife we saw was a bit underwhelming it was interesting to see an entirely different habitat and enjoy a wonderful meal prepared in our guide's home. It was also a great trip for all ages.
Although we never met Michael, the owner or Thomas, the concierge they were patient with my many questions and quick with their responses both before we left for our Costa Rican adventure and once we arrived at the house. Angie, who met us at the house when we arrived, was a wonderful source of information and advice on the area. She possessed the same warmth and welcoming personality that we experienced from almost everyone we came into contact with while exploring this beautiful country. I would highly recommend Casa Tolteca to anyone in search of an unforgettable experience.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thanks for taking the time writing such a nice review. We love to hear how our guests enjoyed our home and our town. It sounds like you took full advantage of all the fun things to do in town! We look forward to having you back again for your next trip to paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Great Location, Great Amenities and Great Staff”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The location of the home was perfect. The amenities (WiFi, AC, appliances, etc) were reliable. The home was beautiful, modern and in a perfect location. The Staff that cleaned the home, pool and managed our schedule and meals were stellar. You need to hire the Chef for meals when in the property. phenomenal quality and presentation.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thanks for spend a week of your vaction with us in Manuel Antonio. We really do appreciate your nice review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.