We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Price range: US$2 - US$80
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Five Star Hotel Restaurant, La Luna offers a totally relaxed atmosphere, serving mostly Costa Rican gourmet cousine with some international alternatives, in general, with lower prices that other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio - Quepos Area and currently the only Restaurant with a Costa Rican Gourmet Menu. Happy hour offers an array of tapas from 4 to 6 pm offers and a magnificent view of the Ocean, the Mountains with a 360 degree view of the area.
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Fantastic dining experience! The hotel takes you in a golf cart up from the parking lot to the restaurant on the top of the cliff. When we went, they had a live band playing. The service and food is top notch. Interestingly, they had a full vegan menu alongside the usual menu. Highly recommend this place - the best dinner we had in Costa Rica.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rebetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for a wonderful 5 star review. We are truly humbled by the words you have shared
with other readers on this TripAdvisor forum.

We hoe to see you again when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We did not stay at this hotel but saw that the restaurant was rated highly so took a taxi to the hotel. At the entrance they take you up the hill in a golf cart. The setting of the restaurant is beautiful. The cocktails and ceviche appetizer were great. We were not as impressed by the entrées. I had the ginger tuna which came with a heavy panko crust and was over cooked. It was served with mashed potatoes on some mixed vegetables. It was slightly sweet and not great. My husband had the Mahi and it was just okay. For dessert we ordered the pineapple ravioli, which were thinly sliced pineapples with cream cheese inside. They were served cold and we didn’t really like it. I think they would have been better it they had been grilled and served warm. Overall, we enjoyed the evening and the service was excellent.

Thank Karodega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments and we have taken your suggestions to our executive chef for consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Perfect evening!
Dinner on top of a mountain overlooking the Pacific Ocean.
Magical sunset view.
Impeccable service.
Beautifully prepared dishes. Save room for dessert!

Thank Andistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanking our recent guests for their great 5 star review. I truly believe you said it all.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Outstanding food and the best service from at waiter Joxan figueroa .
I always look forward to a great meal when in Manuel Antonio and the top of my list is eating and relaxing at this grand place . I've being going to the Luna dining lounge every time I'm in the area and this time with out a doubt was a 10 out of 10 . The food was outstanding the service was what can I say puravida at its FINEST. Thank you Joxan and the staff for a great night .

Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Dave for your great comments. And thank you for your repeat business.

We always love seeing you here at La Luna Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I went to this restaurant at the top of the Adults only Gaia resort on our last night in Manuel Antonio. We were picked up at the bottom in a golf cart and rode the steep windy way up to the elevator that took us up to this beautiful restaurant. Great art and sculpture all around with stunning views from the top at sunset. After sunset, it’s too dark to see the sea. We ordered the Mahi Mahi ceviche that was the best I’ve ever had. We then split the spicy shrimp fettuccine that was also the best pasta I’ve had. We had no room left for the fish in coconut curry sauce we ordered so we packed it to go and presented it to our concierge at Si Como No for her wonderful recommendation for our last dinner to top off an excellent trip to Manuel Antonio.

Thank VancouverFarzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are truly happy we exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing