We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing secluded paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Ziplining in the middle of the jungle! One of the many many tours you can do while here!
Kayaking around the stunning Manuel Antonio beach. You can also snorkel on this tour.
Mangrove tour in the Damas Estuary.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Travel320...
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing secluded paradise”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed at the villa in January and had an amazing time. The villa is secluded yet within walking distance to restaurants. You are guaranteed to see wildlife. Highlights during our stay included 3 types of monkeys, a toucan, and an iguana that seemed to live in the roof tiles. We found the animals to be most active in the early mornings and just before sun down. You just have to look for them!

The layout of the villas was perfect for our trip. My husband and I had a villa and my sister and her family had the large villa. The pool in the center made for a perfect meeting spot each evening before we retreated to our separate villas.

We tend to be more active when we travel and booked a catamaran trip, guided tour of Manuel Antonio, parasailing, and the trill seeker zip line tour. We enjoyed them all but loved the zip line tour. I was worried about my 9 year old niece, but after one zip line she was hooked!

Hazel was great at responding quickly to all our questions. Thanks for everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Thank you for a great stay. Easy payment, easy check in, easy stay. Hazel was very helpful, as were all the books and handouts left for guests. The pools is lovely, plenty of seats to accommodate larger groups, and the outdoor dining table is a treat. Maid service is reliable and thorough. Even though she is at the house for 1/2 the day, she is discreet. Just a tip, if you do ask her to do laundry, it is not free as some of the listings state - a requested donation of $10 is mentioned in the "house book". (Very reasonable, but a surprise as the listing I used had mentioned it was included with the cleaning service). The bus is dead-easy to get to and use....bring a flashlight with you if you return to the house after dark as the trek up the hill, although lit, is a wee bit dark. Comfy beds, and a well appointed kitchen - although, if you are going to cook, be sure to pick up salt and pepper, as there are no "food items" provided. The monkeys came all but 3 of our days - it's clear that people have fed them in the past, as they certainly arrive expecting something....we just observed their playful antics and kept our distance. Cable TV is primarily in Spanish, but wi-fi is reliable and Netflix filled our TV watching void....I suppose we could have learned a second language! :)
Thank you again, we LOVED Costa Rica!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rappel14
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing Response to Theft”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Myself, my wife and our two young kids (8 and 6) were part of two families that stayed at this property from March 21 - 29, 2015. Our friends wrote a review below, also rated at 2 stars. Like them, we have traveled extensively around the world, and rarely have had problems. I have also lived in five countries, and together, all of us consider ourselves experienced international travelers. We follow common sense practices in terms of not wearing flashy jewelry, leaving valuables in the open, locking up doors, etc.

In most cases, this was a great vacation and property, but the ending of our trip and lack of response from Amy and Hazel was very disappointing and left a really bad impression on all of us. Hence, our low rating.

First the good. This was our first visit to Costa Rica, and the country, people, climate, adventures and overall experience were tremendous. We had timely and helpful planning from Amy and Hazel before our arrival, who coordinated various activities which were great, such as surfing, zip lining, nature walk, onsite chef and beach and restaurant recommendations. The house, pool and grounds were clean and accessible to a road to town. A bus picked us up and brought us back to San Jose on a timely basis. Cabs came right to the property.

After our arrival, we started our daily excursions. Within a few days, we noticed a pair of sunglasses, camera and cash from wallets missing from both houses. At first, we though we had left the sunglasses and camera behind at a restaurant, but we called and stopped by the places we had dined, and they reported no lost and found. We couldn't account for the missing cash - nobody recalled spending it. We reported our losses to Hazel halfway through our stay, who called up two restaurants and also stated "no lost and found". She had no explanation otherwise.

Within another few days, two more sunglasses went missing. At this point we also confirmed with Hazel that a second house key was missing from the main house, which we never used. As we packed up on our final day, we discovered a hairdryer was missing. Our early suspicisions of theft were confirmed by this - why would we take a hairdryer out of the house? The only people who had access to the house were us, Hazel, the house cleaner, who had visited twice, or the visiting chef, who also visited twice. The net is we experienced theft from this property. We talked to Hazel on the last day as we packed out, and she advised us to file a report with the police department. She was surprised at our situation, and when I raised the option of crediting us, or covering for some of our transportation expenses as a way to recoup our losses (we estimate ~ $700 USD), she said she'd talk to Amy.

Later that night, Hazel emailed us that Amy was sick and not able to respond. We returned to the US, and sent another message to Amy and Hazel within a few days asking for a response and possible credit or other compensation. Since our last night in Quepos on March 29, we haven't heard from either Amy or Hazel. No apologies, no offer of compensation, no response. Hence the review below, and mine, with our low scores. The ending of our trip was very troubling, as we outlined objectively what had happened and the extent of the losses. I do not recommend this property for other travelers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, open floor plan, modern and clean
Liked least: Lack of response and follow-through to our theft
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa and pool
Liked least: We had to leave!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
agraziano
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A MIxed Bag - Beautiful House, but theft from our villa”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This review has two parts. The first about the house and location and the second covering some service issues with the property owners. For starters, the house, the lead up and planning was top notch. Hazel took great care to plan out all our activities (zip lining, rappelling, surfing, nature walks) and make sure our stay would be memorable. We did multiple tours (which I've reviewed separately) and even arranged a local chef to come cook for us. The house has two beautiful villas and pool and is a great place to come back to after a day of activities.

But there was one major issue that left us with a very negative feeling about our accommodations and hosts. During our stay we had multiple items, including a camera, 3 pair of nice sunglasses, money from 3 different wallets and hair dryer (yes, a hair dryer) stolen from the villa. As part of the "service" a cleaning person comes every other day. There was also a private chef who had access to our villa. We informed Hazel of the multiple thefts and she in turn said she'd take it up with the owner and cleaning team. We never got any resolution or response back from the property owner, whom we contacted separately. Hazel told us we could file a police report on the day we were leaving which I found quite laughable. We haven't heard back from Hazel or the property owner since our stay. It was a disappointing way to end our visit given everything about the place was beautiful. Unfortunately the service of the property owner fell down quite flat which means I would not recommend. As someone who's booked accommodations and activities in 19 countries I've never been a victim of theft.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and entire house
Liked least: Service of the property owner and team
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing