We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European Style Hotel suffering from a Design Mishmash”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2009

The Hotel is up on a cliff/high point, essentially, in a hip, tourist area in the Central Pacific region of Costa Rica. The views from the hotel are spectacular, and the room we had -- a small suite in the new wing -- was well appointed and super comfortable. We had an outdoor jacuzzi tub, a large bathroom area, a plush king size bed, a bar area, a flat screen TV, and a host of other high end amenities. If you are looking to lay by the pool and sip Guaro Sours (the local drink), you will be happy here, and for that purpose this is a four star resort. Our building (suites) had its own pool for the guests, with a waterfall and boundless views of the Pacific Ocean. The service by the pools, for food and drink, was excellent, and we were able to relax at the end of our Costa Rican adventure.

My criticisms of this property might be minor to others, and the property truly has its high points. First, the property is relatively large, and you have to be prepared to walk for a drink, walk for food, and walk to the lobby -- up and down hilly paths. Second, the designer of the place was possibly blind, as nothing makes sense. You have a Spanish Colonial theme with Roman and Greek statutes (cheesy!) all over the place. The room, however, was modern, and the pool bar played Jamaican reggae. It was like a world wide mishmash of styles, and it was somewhat disconcerting. Third, the restaurant was great for breakfast, but for dinner I would suggest you eat out. Try some local "Tico" food, and there are many places with great views, cheap prices, and good grub! Jump a taxi ($10 or so from the hotel to a decent restaurant) and then have the restaurant call one for you to take you back (they give you a Taxi ID Number so you know which one is "yours"). Finally, the beach is basically inaccessible, as it's down the mountain and crowded with locals. You are essentially relegated to the pools (unless you get a tour guide to take you around, which we did -- and found out that the snorkeling nearby is absolutely horrible!). This is the kind of hotel that some might like (obviously, many Europeans do, judging from the clientele), but overall was not our cup of java.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodmaster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,718 - 1,722 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2009

we spend wonderful 2 nights here.
if you are planning to spend your days at a beach, then prob the parador is nothing for you.
but when you want to visit manuel antonio and relax after a hot and strenous day, then the parador is perfect. the hotel offers a complimentory shittle bus to the parc which I would recommend using since driving and parking there is hell.

the poolbar offers wonderfull cocktails that you can sip while watching the sunset in the water. the pool area tends to get to very crowded in the late afternoon and unfortunately the pool area is far to little for the amount of people who stay there!

dinner was lovely although pretty expensive. but on the second night we found the 2. restaurant, that is located above the reception area and offers cheaper food!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

If you are going to get away and stay at a resort and don't plan on leaving, this is the place for you! This is located 2km at the top of a hill that is not walkable or safe to walk on and is one of the worst roads in Costa Rica (which is saying alot!). There is a beach that is close, but is actually a small cove and is very crowded with locals.

Although, the hotel is beautiful and everything was lovely, I was there to also see Manuel Antonio and Quepos. I wold not stay here again. This was my least favorite hotel of the 4 I stayed in during my stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrockinLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed here for four nights after an 8 day tour of Costa Rica and it was a great place to relax. The hotel is large and built in a rather flamboyant style but the grounds are beautiful and the views over the pacific are just fantastic. We had a garden room which I think is probably the most basic. It was fine in terms of size and amenities but I think I would recommend upgrading if you can as the promised garden view was disappointing and other room types looked as though they had much better aspects. Having said that we didn't spend much time in our room anyway. There is a good sized family pool and adjoining outdoor bar/restaurant, and a wonderfully situated adults only pool. Service was excellent - from the cool towels and drink on arrival at reception to all the bar and restuarant staff. Food was very good , the main restuarant and bar is in a wonderful position to take in fabulous views as you eat and the buffet breakfast is excellent. If you book for dinner you do get very nice tables reserved for you but really none of them are bad at all. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus to Manual Antonio - a busy but charming town with a truly great beach. You can also get access to the National Park from there although you don't need to stray from the hotel to see wildlife - it has plenty of iguanas and raccoons and lots of birdlife. There is a small beach in a lovely sheltered cove about 10 minutes walk away and we saw monkeys and a sloth the day we went. The hotel will arrange trips further afield for you - but there is a nature trail, mini golf and spa here also to keep you occuppied if you get tired of the pool. The hotel shop is quite well stocked with souvenirs and also snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixie_dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

The weather in Quepos is HOT and so is this hotel. We stayed here on a Disney tour and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are well air-conditioned but small - the "wow" is their great views. The three vanishing edge pools are beautiful (one is for adults only) and the swim up bar is fun and convenient. The lobby offers two computers for free per half hour, yet they did not keep track of the time when my husband used one for business. They offer many activities for kids including reasonable spa massages. The only criticism is that they undercook the meat - we had a really difficult time getting anything well done and restaurant service is slow. Breakfast is great - the woman on the grill works her fingers off. The hotel offers shuttles over to Manuel Antonio and back. I saw rates on Expedia for $50 - $100 less than what the hotel personnel were willing to quote so book through the internet.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.6 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,634 reviews
0.6 km away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
605 reviews
0.3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
555 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,510 reviews
1.7 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: RM1,028 - RM2,321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing