We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wonderful details!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2009

I had the luxury of spending 5 days and 6 nights at the Parador Hotel. I was welcomed after a long day of traveling by an accomodating staff, a cool lemon towel and cold island drink! The gentlemen who greeted us was friendly, very polite and spoke pretty good english. He brought our luggage up to the room for us while we got settled in. He also gave us a brief tour of the resort and all of the accomodations. He reminded us that we get FREE breakfast evry morning! It is buffet style and delicious food. We loved to wake up to the delicious menu everyday. Coffee is superb, best I've ever had.
The room was super clean, had a great view of the garden and the Pacific ocean. The towels were folded in animal shapes adorned with flowers. A complimentary bottle of champagne was ready and on ice with 2 beautiful glasses. The tub was huge and garden style. Shower had a removable head and the water was excellent pressure.
Anything you could ask for was there. Air conditioner was excellent and you can adjust it yourself. Blow dryer, coffee pot, and fully stocked refrigerator were all present.
On the resort is anything and everything one needs to have a perfect vacation. There are 2 beautiful swimming pools with ocean views. Jacuzzi's and poolside service for drinks and food. The waiters do not sit and wait for you to order or bug you. They come only if beckoned. Lots of room to spread out and ample room to dine at the poolside tables in the shade. Towels are given complimentary for guests to use.
If you want to play board games you can get them for free right next to the pool at the tour booth. Tennis rackets and balls are also available to use on the properties lovely tennis court! There is a mini golf course right on the resort in the garden. Clubs and balls are also at the tour booth. A fully equipped exercise/gym room is available and yoga in the morning at 8am overlooking the garden. These services are all free!
The restaurant prices are not bad starting at $8.00. The restaurants are directly next to each other and if you choose the one overlooking the pool it's a little cheaper. The iguanas and birds come up close and personal at the restaurants in the mornings. They are not agressive and they are enjoyable to see and photograph. We saw monkey and sloth right outside of our room in the tree. They stayed close and we took alot of photos.
The gift shops are equipped with any personal item you may need. Prices aren't to bad and there are some cheap souvenirs available. There is a gift shop next to tour booth and one upstairs as well.
The free guest bus comes everyday at 9:15, 11:15, 2:15, 5:15 and 7:15. You can take this to Manuel Antonio Park and pick it back up after your tour. It will drop you anywhere along the main drag of Manuel Antonio. Also, taxi's are available anytime. Parador is up on a mountain and the road to get to it is very very potholed and bumpy so the taxi driver will charge you about $9.00 to get up there. I would not suggest trying to walk it, it is one difficult uphill hike!
The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous, maintained and perfect! You will be struck breathless at how beautiful and filled with foliage and nature it is! It si completely safe and tucked away on a mountain top. It is quiet at the resort and not crowded at all. There were hardly any guests, and we were happy with that. There is a beach that guests can walk to but it is a bit of a hike up and downhill. Go to Manuel Antonio beach for the best beach experience.
Internet is available and guests get a complimentary half hour each day.
The spa is very lovely and you can get a GREAT massage for 90 minutes and a tropical mango milk bath for $90!! That comes with an hour of sauna too.
The staff were all wonderful, very accomodating and spoke good English. Special thanks to Giovanni at the outside swim up bar, William at tour booth and Andres at the indoor bar for making our vacation fun with your extra friendliness, humor, and information.
I would rate this hotel a 6 on a scale of 1-5!!! Perfecto!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcoope28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,713 - 1,717 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2009

This was the 3rd hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica, and by far the worst. On arriving down a very long bumpy unmade road, we were extremely disappointed. I have no idea what the architect was thinking, but old spanish castle with dark wood is not ideal in a tropical setting. The first room we were taken to (premium) had a balcony overlooking the carpark. We complained and a very helpful busboy showed us 2 other rooms nearby, and the new suites in the new wing. These new rooms are lovely and modern. although quite small, and show that the hotal owners recognise a need to modernise. They are considerably more expensive than other rooms though. According to signs & literature, this is in the top 3 hotels in Manuel Antonio, a boutique hotel, and the best hotel in Central America - all absolute rubbish.
Having established that we could not get a refund on our prepayment, we decided to stay in the best of the rooms shown to us. Dinner was actually quite nice, and service was OK. Prices, particularly for drinks were very high though.
On the 2nd night, the barman was downright rude - ignoring us sitting at the bar for many minutes whilst he fiddled with bills.
Breakfasts were OK, not spectacular, and service was slow.
Finally, we did choose to leave a night early, and went to a brilliant boutique hotel in teh hills above San Jose.
Loved Costa Rica - hated this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizMulliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

The housecleaning staff went through my luggage and took a pair of very sentimental earrings, and expensive!
The hotel management did NOTHING!! to help me.
The overall staff was terrible, no one knew about tours and what to do around the area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rpadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I had stayed here with my parents and this hotel has Costa Rica charm written all over it!! The road that you turn onto from the main road it a bit hairy, about 2 km, filled with potholes, but when you arrive, it is all forgotten! It feels like an old mansion that they turned into a hotel, so much charm and character and the views are breathtaking!! We upgraded our room to the Premium Plus and had 2 ocean views and worth the upgrade. They have a "monkey trail" that if you go in the morning, around 7-8, you are surrounded by monkeys, that it's not even worth going to Manuel Antonio Park. Truly, we saw more monkeys and sloths at the hotel on this walk, than we did at the park. However, if you do visit Manuel Antonio, bring a bathing suit and plan to stay for a period of time just to enjoy the beaches, this was our mistake. The beaches here are the best in town!! Hotel Parador does have a walking beach that is about a 10 minute hike down and a disappointing beach (still pretty) but does not have the clear, blue waters of Manuel Antonio.

The restaurant here is great for dinner, a bit pricey. But they do offer a very nice breakfast, which is included. The views from the infinity pools are breathtaking as well!

If or when I return, I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iheartmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We stayed at hotel parador from 4/10-4/15. From the moment we arrived, I loved this place. It was easy to check in, quiet and we were able to upgrade easily. The hotel is so well-maintained and clean. The grounds are beautiful and serene. We loved our room!! We had a superior room, not a suite or anything but it was clean, a perfect size and the bed was sooo comfortable that I slept like a baby!!! We had a nice view of the grounds and alittle bit of the ocean. It was nice to wake up and sit on the balcony and have the in room coffee. Let me start by saying the staff is professional and efficient. They are very accomodating and friendly. The only negative thing that happened was we did ask the conceirge to make a reservation for us and when we got to the restaurant, there was no reservation but it didnt really matter because we sat anyway.
The pool and pool area is picturesque! The pool bar was great. It was very relaxing at the pool. The views of the pacific were unbelievable! The food at the hotel was ok. I wouldnt rave about it but we didnt eat there for dinner, only breakfast and lunch. We really did enjoy the big buffet breakfast. The food there was great. There were many choices of fruit, cereal and even omelettes and costa rican dishes. My husband couldn't get enough of the rice and beans! The hotel was quite empty when we were there which I was surprised about being that it was easter week and spring break but we never had to wait on lines, never had problems getting chairs at the pool. The monkey trail was great! We saw so many monkeys and a worker pointed out a sloth for us! We took a ton of pictures. Overall, we had a really nice experience. People complain about the road getting intot he hotel, wich is not all that fun, believe me but you do get used to it and as long as you are prepared to take a 10 minute bumpy ride in and out of the hotel everytime you leave, its ok! It didnt really bother me and hey you are in costa rica! Deal w it!!! Overall, we loved it and would come back for sure!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.6 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,634 reviews
0.6 km away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
605 reviews
0.3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
555 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,510 reviews
1.7 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: RM1,028 - RM2,321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador
Parador Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing