We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,923)
Filter reviews
2,923 results
Traveller rating
1,950
661
210
63
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,950
661
210
63
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey trail vista suite tour desk costa rica garden room premium room adult pools breakfast buffet swim up bar howler monkeys manuel antonio park main pool national park main restaurant small beach free shuttle happy hour
Filter
Updating list...
1,954 - 1,959 of 2,923 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2009

This was the 3rd hotel we stayed at in Costa Rica, and by far the worst. On arriving down a very long bumpy unmade road, we were extremely disappointed. I have no idea what the architect was thinking, but old spanish castle with dark wood is not ideal in a tropical setting. The first room we were taken to (premium) had a balcony overlooking the carpark. We complained and a very helpful busboy showed us 2 other rooms nearby, and the new suites in the new wing. These new rooms are lovely and modern. although quite small, and show that the hotal owners recognise a need to modernise. They are considerably more expensive than other rooms though. According to signs & literature, this is in the top 3 hotels in Manuel Antonio, a boutique hotel, and the best hotel in Central America - all absolute rubbish.
Having established that we could not get a refund on our prepayment, we decided to stay in the best of the rooms shown to us. Dinner was actually quite nice, and service was OK. Prices, particularly for drinks were very high though.
On the 2nd night, the barman was downright rude - ignoring us sitting at the bar for many minutes whilst he fiddled with bills.
Breakfasts were OK, not spectacular, and service was slow.
Finally, we did choose to leave a night early, and went to a brilliant boutique hotel in teh hills above San Jose.
Loved Costa Rica - hated this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizMulliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

The housecleaning staff went through my luggage and took a pair of very sentimental earrings, and expensive!
The hotel management did NOTHING!! to help me.
The overall staff was terrible, no one knew about tours and what to do around the area.

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rpadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I had stayed here with my parents and this hotel has Costa Rica charm written all over it!! The road that you turn onto from the main road it a bit hairy, about 2 km, filled with potholes, but when you arrive, it is all forgotten! It feels like an old mansion that they turned into a hotel, so much charm and character and the views are breathtaking!! We upgraded our room to the Premium Plus and had 2 ocean views and worth the upgrade. They have a "monkey trail" that if you go in the morning, around 7-8, you are surrounded by monkeys, that it's not even worth going to Manuel Antonio Park. Truly, we saw more monkeys and sloths at the hotel on this walk, than we did at the park. However, if you do visit Manuel Antonio, bring a bathing suit and plan to stay for a period of time just to enjoy the beaches, this was our mistake. The beaches here are the best in town!! Hotel Parador does have a walking beach that is about a 10 minute hike down and a disappointing beach (still pretty) but does not have the clear, blue waters of Manuel Antonio.

The restaurant here is great for dinner, a bit pricey. But they do offer a very nice breakfast, which is included. The views from the infinity pools are breathtaking as well!

If or when I return, I would stay here again!!

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iheartmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We stayed at hotel parador from 4/10-4/15. From the moment we arrived, I loved this place. It was easy to check in, quiet and we were able to upgrade easily. The hotel is so well-maintained and clean. The grounds are beautiful and serene. We loved our room!! We had a superior room, not a suite or anything but it was clean, a perfect size and the bed was sooo comfortable that I slept like a baby!!! We had a nice view of the grounds and alittle bit of the ocean. It was nice to wake up and sit on the balcony and have the in room coffee. Let me start by saying the staff is professional and efficient. They are very accomodating and friendly. The only negative thing that happened was we did ask the conceirge to make a reservation for us and when we got to the restaurant, there was no reservation but it didnt really matter because we sat anyway.
The pool and pool area is picturesque! The pool bar was great. It was very relaxing at the pool. The views of the pacific were unbelievable! The food at the hotel was ok. I wouldnt rave about it but we didnt eat there for dinner, only breakfast and lunch. We really did enjoy the big buffet breakfast. The food there was great. There were many choices of fruit, cereal and even omelettes and costa rican dishes. My husband couldn't get enough of the rice and beans! The hotel was quite empty when we were there which I was surprised about being that it was easter week and spring break but we never had to wait on lines, never had problems getting chairs at the pool. The monkey trail was great! We saw so many monkeys and a worker pointed out a sloth for us! We took a ton of pictures. Overall, we had a really nice experience. People complain about the road getting intot he hotel, wich is not all that fun, believe me but you do get used to it and as long as you are prepared to take a 10 minute bumpy ride in and out of the hotel everytime you leave, its ok! It didnt really bother me and hey you are in costa rica! Deal w it!!! Overall, we loved it and would come back for sure!!

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

The Hotel is up on a cliff/high point, essentially, in a hip, tourist area in the Central Pacific region of Costa Rica. The views from the hotel are spectacular, and the room we had -- a small suite in the new wing -- was well appointed and super comfortable. We had an outdoor jacuzzi tub, a large bathroom area, a plush king size bed, a bar area, a flat screen TV, and a host of other high end amenities. If you are looking to lay by the pool and sip Guaro Sours (the local drink), you will be happy here, and for that purpose this is a four star resort. Our building (suites) had its own pool for the guests, with a waterfall and boundless views of the Pacific Ocean. The service by the pools, for food and drink, was excellent, and we were able to relax at the end of our Costa Rican adventure.

My criticisms of this property might be minor to others, and the property truly has its high points. First, the property is relatively large, and you have to be prepared to walk for a drink, walk for food, and walk to the lobby -- up and down hilly paths. Second, the designer of the place was possibly blind, as nothing makes sense. You have a Spanish Colonial theme with Roman and Greek statutes (cheesy!) all over the place. The room, however, was modern, and the pool bar played Jamaican reggae. It was like a world wide mishmash of styles, and it was somewhat disconcerting. Third, the restaurant was great for breakfast, but for dinner I would suggest you eat out. Try some local "Tico" food, and there are many places with great views, cheap prices, and good grub! Jump a taxi ($10 or so from the hotel to a decent restaurant) and then have the restaurant call one for you to take you back (they give you a Taxi ID Number so you know which one is "yours"). Finally, the beach is basically inaccessible, as it's down the mountain and crowded with locals. You are essentially relegated to the pools (unless you get a tour guide to take you around, which we did -- and found out that the snorkeling nearby is absolutely horrible!). This is the kind of hotel that some might like (obviously, many Europeans do, judging from the clientele), but overall was not our cup of java.

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodmaster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews