We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful outside, disappointing inside.”
Review of Cabinas Espadilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Espadilla
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2017

I am traveling in Costa Rica with students on an extended study abroad. For the past three nights we have stayed at Cabinas espadille.
The good points: property is beautifully landscaped, two small pools. Restaurant food and service is very good.
The cabins, ah, the cabins. Very tiny, especially for four people.Very little insulation, so any sound from outside is heard, especially the noise from the bar directly across the street. No wifi, although it is advertised. No hot water, ever. No water one morning. No electrical power for one morning. Very basic bed, shower. Toilet smelled unpleasant all of the time. Limited to one towel per person, one pack of coffee per room. Front desk staff very unpleasant and difficult to work with.
For a cheaper price, this might be acceptable, but the cost is the same as other local luxury hotels- I personally went to each one and checked out rooms and cost. Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DocTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear guest DocTK,

We are happy you liked our property and are grateful about you comentary. Due to the fact, the owners decided to make a remodelation for almost all the cabinas. We´ve just started the rebuild and we are very exited to share it. New queen size beds are installed instead of two double beds, so cabinas have now more space, some windows are relocated to prevent the noise issue.

Regarding the power electricity fail, I have to explain that Manuel Antonio is a touristy village but a bit remote, therefore it is common to have electric cuts and obviously if there is no electric fluid, there is no WIFI, is not in our hands, but our apologies ...

We will give special atention with a view to raise our service in both, cleaning and recepction.

You notes are well received, always with the aim of improving.



Thank you very much.

Milena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

This hotel has two buildings - the Cabinas and the Hotel. We stayed in the Cabinas (across the street from the hotel) with our two small kids (ages 6 and 9) in February. The cabinas and the hotel are in a perfect location - just steps away from the beautiful beach and steps away from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. It was exactly in the location that we were hoping for. The cabinas has one small pool and the hotel has one pool with a bar. You have access to both. The rate also included a decent breakfast every morning. The staff was very kind and accommodating.

The room at the Cabinas had two full size beds, a tiny kitchen and a small bathroom. We don't have a problem with booking one room for all four of us since our kids are still small, but my one issue with the cabinas was that the rooms were extremely small. So small that we had nowhere to put our two large suitcases. They ended up on the ground and then made it hard for us to walk around the room. I'm not sure if the rooms are bigger in the hotel side but that would be something I would explore if I considered this place again. If we would have brought smaller bags, it would have been fine.

I don't think I would stay in the Cabinas again given the same room accommodations for four, but the location was perfect, so it all depends on what you're looking for.

Room Tip: If you are a family with two kids I would definitely explore other options - perhaps at the hotel. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fabiola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear guest Fabiola P,

Thank you very much for yout. We apreciate you gave a favorable commentary about our location as well as the staff service.

Regarding to the space in the cabin, I would like to inform you that at the moment the cabins are being remodeled. I invite you to take a look at our website and see how spacious they are now. It will be of our pleasure that you visit us again an enjoy our renewed cabinas.

all the best,

Milena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Our stay was nice and pleasant, we spent 3 nights there. Air con working well, shower and tv too, very big fridge in the kitchen-kichten well equipment. Tasty breakfast-included in the sisters hotel 2 minuts away. Lound jungel noises mostly at dawn. In the garden you cant spot monkeys, iguara etc. Very close to supermarket. The room is very basic, inside dosen't look nice but big garden and swimming pool - big plus...

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank barbara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear barbara k,

We are glad you enjoyed the gardens, wildlife, breakfast, pool area and also the Cabina´s Ac, Tv and shower worked as spected.

At this moment, we are working on remodelations on our units. We hope you can come and enjoy our new cabinas!

thanks for your opinion!

Cabinas Espadilla Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

When you enter the general gounds is is a very neat hotel. The room that we had appreaed in good condition but was extrmely small and had n othing to put our bags on ar a table. The bathroom was small but clean and up to date.The biggest problem was the at he room we stayed in had black mold in it, this was obvious from the smell that greeted us at the door. The black mold was mostly on the ceiling. When I reported this they immediately made an effort to clean it up, but really only put a coat of paint of the mold. The thing that struck me the most was the amount of animals we saw on the property. We saw several monkeys, a deer, several lizards and one real big iguana. At one time there were 2 large vultures flying over the pool, only about 10 feet up. I think they were trying to find that iguana. There is a resteraunt just up teh street that belongs to the hotle, the food was excellent, the atmosphere unforgetable and the service great. Prices were reasonable. The hotel is extremely close to the beach and several stores and resteraunts.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Darren L,

We are glad you had a pleasant stay at Cabinas Espadilla and found it clean and in good condition. Most of our guests are fascinated watching the wildlife in the surroundings and that is because of our proximity to the National Park.

I want to write about the room, which used to have lack space. Because we are currently renovating the cabins, bathrooms and showers are totally changed and the rooms have 1 double bed and a wardrobe. Our property is in the rainforest - extremely humid, we are sorry about what happened with the mold on the ceiling, thankfully the staff took action and cleaned it right away that you informed.

We hope you can come back and enjoy our new spacious cabins very soon!

Cabinas Espadilla Staff.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

This was a decent hotel with a pool and easy access to the beach and many restaurants. Breakfast is at a hotel over the road. The only reason I took one mark off is because the rooms are too small- I wonder how many people really use the kitchenette? The pool was also too hot!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sou301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you sou30,

Your opinion is very important to us. We are currently remodeling the Cabinas, the units will be more spacious. The perfect temperature for a pool is between 24-28 degrees C. Our pool is in the range.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#30 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
580 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Hotel Playa Espadilla
#22 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
279 reviews
1.9 km away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#25 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#7 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
433 reviews
0.8 km away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#26 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
511 reviews
0.3 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#21 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Espadilla

Address: 300 meters before Manuel Antonio Nal. | Park entrance, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: RM 479 - RM 658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Espadilla Cabins is a beautiful little beach hotel located just one minute from the beach in Manuel Antonio. It has 16 units surrounded by beautiful gardens, a swimming pool and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Espadilla Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Cabinas Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing