We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

This was the last stage in our wonderful journey around Costa Rica. It was also the highlight of our trip. Thanks to our guide Fabian, we saw marine and land based wildlife which was so staggeringly diverse it was almost overwhelming. It was well worth the effort to get there. And we were looked after by the staff as if we were staying in a luxury hotel. There is even a special lookout point to sip cocktails and watch the sunset over the Pacific. The bungalows were beautiful, well equipped and very comfortable. This is a very special place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It seems that you saved the best for last. I don't want to brag but a lot of travel agencies leave our hotel for last to give their clients a good send off. We feel proud of that and try to give them the best for their good bye to Costa Rica. Thank you, Steven Lill owner/founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

We came here as the last destination on our honeymoon in Costa Rica and our experience here blew the rest of our holiday out of the water!

Staff and service:-
The service we received really stood out for us as it was the best we have received, probably ever. From the moment we got off the plane and were greeted by our guide at the airport to the day we were dropped back off for our return flight, our experience of the staff was professional, friendly and made us feel really well looked after. Our waiters/ bar men were so personable and attentive and catered to my dietary requirements (vegan) very well cooking really lovely food for us both. They also make great cocktails! The manager was approachable and on hand at all times with a wealth of info to share with us about the facilities and wildlife. Our personal wildlife guide was amazing, he was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable and went above and beyond to help us see the wildlife that surrounds the gardens and jungle. He was a true professional and a lovely guy.

Accommodation:-
The bungalows are really beautiful inside and are situated in your own private section of garden with a hammock. You are in the middle of the jungle, there and fans but no a/c or wifi in the rooms (wifi can be accessed near the reception). We felt very comfortable during our stay, the fans were more than sufficient and we loved the outside shower (there is also an indoor shower so spoilt for choice!).

Grounds:-
The attention to detail throughout the hotel grounds is clear, the gardens are beautifully designed and maintained and many plants are labelled so you can learn their names. The private beach where you have lunch after tours is really special, a true post card paradise. There are several jungle trails within the hotel grounds that you can walk and go nature exploring. We wish we had had a few more days here as we barely even used the pool or games room and still had some on site walks left to explore!

Activities/ tours:-
The boat rides in and out of Casa Corcovado (there are no roads!) felt like a nature tour in itself, as our guide pointed out crocodiles, herons, whales, monkeys and lizards! Our jungle walk tour into the national park was great fun and we saw lots of great wildlife as well as having a relaxing swim by a waterfall to cool off. You are provided with footwear, ponchos and waterproof rucksacks. Our snorkelling tour was also so much fun. The fish were beautiful and we even got to see Hawksbill turtles swimming about in the water below us. On the way to and from snorkelling we were blessed with some amazing wale watching. This for me was a highlight of my time in Costa Rica. Snorkels and flippers and provided.

To summarise, I have never been anywhere quite like Casa Corcovado. What the owner has built here is inspiring and I believe it is a truly special place to visit. Staying here made our honeymoon the most unforgettable experience and we were very sad to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayleighdaniele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We absolutely loved staying here. From the minute we met our guide at the airport to when we sadly boarded the plane for our flight back, we felt like royalty and really privileged to be staying in such a beautiful place so close to nature. The hotel anticipates your every need - there are torches and umbrellas (never know when a shower will descend!) provided in the rooms, dry packs for boat transfers and rainforest walks, boots, all the snorkelling gear etc.

You have an opportunity to change shoes and freshen up at a little riverside hotel before the boat transfer. Sample a fresh coconut and maybe see an iguana if you are lucky! The captain and guide have sharp eyes and constantly stopped on our way down the river to try and show us animals or birds they'd spotted. We did a little detour through the mangrove forest which was great - got a chance to have a close look at the roots and all the life they support. Then out into the sea and travelling along the coast - lovely views. The website does warn you it's a wet landing - and your guide will remind you of this! So bring sandals that can get wet!! The boat weaves its way through the rocks into a little bay and you hop off into the water (at most knee deep). The staff look after all your bags so you literally just have to look after yourself. It's quite a steep walk up to the lodge from the beach so you can use the "jungle limo" if you want to - tractor and trailer.

The hotel itself is stunning - beautiful gardens, and there is a map listing all the trees etc if you are interested. There are two pools - the top one has a shallow section for children and a deeper bit. The spring fed pool is quieter and cooler, and feels like you are in the middle of the forest. Keep your eyes open - there are animals, birds, snakes and all sorts to see all through out the grounds. Our cabin had both an indoor and outdoor shower which the children loved. We expected a lot of mosquitos but were amazed to have no trouble at all. The lighting is quite muted in the rooms which is great 'cos it doesn't attract the bugs! No glass in the windows so you hear everything - had a couple of huge thunderstorms on two nights - woke us up but the children slept right through it all. Nice to hear all the birds and animal calls.

The food was outstanding. The lodge knew in advance about our son's allergies and they went to such a lot of effort to try and make things for him. He tried all kinds of foods he has never eaten before which was fantastic. They were so observant and thoughtful - they watched what he liked and then made sure he had those items for his snacks and meals. Thank you so much. Our meals were all delicious - struggled to do justice to the wonderful 3 - 4 course dinners. On our last day we had a "picnic" lunch - they took us to a quiet little spot on the beach, set up a table and chairs and then served us a wonderful meal - wow.

We thoroughly enjoyed all our activities - the walk in the rainforest was interesting and we saw quite a lot of birds and animals including the puma! Enjoyed the cooling dip in the waterfall. Cynthia provided us with lots of information on the creatures we saw, and had books to show us the birds we'd seen at a distance. Our trip out to Cano island started very wet, torrential rain to the point I was expecting them to say okay we're turning back - again they'd anticipated our needs and we had heavy duty ponchos to keep us dry. It cleared up when we got to the island and we were lucky enough to see lots of whales and a couple of turtles. The snorkelling was brilliant - we were all nervous so Cynthia had lent us the gear the previous day so we could practise in the pool, and that really helped. So many beautiful fish. Also had an hour on the beach to just swim and relax. Heavenly.

The staff were all really friendly, helpful, and enthusiastic about the birds/animals - they'd call us if there was something to see and patiently answered endless questions about all sorts of things!

If I can offer any advice - it would be to indulge in an extra day (budget permitting) to just relax and take in the atmosphere. I am so glad we had a day to just walk around and look at the gardens, spend some time on the beach and just appreciate the beauty around us. Thank you to all the staff for a perfect few days.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keen2Xplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenLill, Owner at Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

I'm glad that my staff were able to take good care of your son's dietary needs and were even able to get him to try new foods. It is sometimes difficult to keep our young guests happy with the meals without resorting to ''Chicken Fingers'', so I'm glad we made your son happy. I do agree that it is nice to have an extra day to just relax and soak up the atmosphere and maybe have a private picnic lunch at the beach. I think that it's fantastic that your son got to see the ''puma'', I'm sure that is something he won't soon forget. All the best, Steven Lill owner/founder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We had an amazing time at this Lodge. It was a true adventure in every sort of the word. We are a large family of 6. 4 children ranging in age from 11-16 and 2 adults. From the first step on the boat that picked us up in Sierpe to the last when being returned. The location and grounds of the Lodge take you to a place the makes you understand what an impact we have on our surroundings. I loved that fact that this lodge was self sustained on solar and hydro electric. The staff was outstanding. Friendly, knowledgeable and just overall good people. Thank you to Danny, our guide who tirelessly answered all of our questions, taught us so much and pointed out things we would have never seen on our own. When you are here you are in a Living Classroom..LOVE IT. Jose, Kevin and Reyneir (sp?) our waiters were on the ball, working so hard for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Steve the Lodge manager and for the life of me I can't remember his name...the gentleman who was also in the office..SO nice and helpful. I would love to return and hope to do so.

After reading some others reviews...I would like to offer some words of advice. If you are someone who "needs" to have a hairdryer..the place in NOT for you. If you are someone who needs seamless Wifi...this place is NOT for you. If a bug in your bungalow causes you to complain...this place is NOT for you. IF you choose to visit this little piece of heaven..this beautiful place to appreciate and understand what true life is like before humans spoiled so much you have to understand the excess luxury that you are accustomed to are not here. What IS here is a beautiful well appointed bungalow with heavenly beds and pillows. An incredibly romantic outdoor shower. Fantastic meals enough to feed a king and queen. And a Living Classroom for you to learn, appreciate and enjoy.

We personally did not have trouble with bugs biting us, we were pleasantly surprised. We have much worse mosquitoes here in Pennsylvania. In the bungalow, with the doors closed and fans on, No trouble at all.

Please be aware to bring sturdy, slip proof shoes, the walkways can get a little slippery. Also, if you have any chance of getting sea sick, bring Dramamine or Bonine or your anti-nausea treatment of choice. Anywhere you go requires a boat ride, except for the Ranger station hike from the Lodge.

Oh! By the way..on our trip to Cano Island, we saw 11..YES 11 Humpback Whales!!

Oh, one more thing....because this Lodge is self sustained most things are brought in on boat...Even Ice cubes...

I also forgot to mention one more person...Roberto...with his AMAZING captain skills. I have never seen anyone so talented in driving a boat.

My one regret, is that I did not fully appreciate the difficulty in changing your itinerary. To go into the National Park it must be scheduled. I would have liked to go to another Rangers station deeper in the jungle. I was not able to. I guess a good excuse to come back ;)

Thank you all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Pura Vida!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnnagrabusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

This was our last proper stay on our tour of Costa Rica and it is certainly a matter of saving the best until last. This place is pretty small anyway so you are always going to get a personalised service, but there were relatively few guest while we where there so we were spoiled. Wonderful staff, fabulous location, great birdlife especially those Scarlet Macaws. Devastating for all the staff when a tree blew down with young still in the nest.
A word of warning - the Baird's Tapir is much bigger than I ever imagined, it loves the mangos. Also say a Tayra.
Snorkelling is great, so many colourful fish.
Food is absolutely superb, and within reason they will cook anything you want if they have it.
Sunsets from the Sunset bar with a cocktail are a perfect end to the day.
Rooms are really spacious and well laid out, but it can by quite a long way to furthest rooms.
Only slight negative is that they advertise that there founder wanted everyone to have comfortable bed, cold beer and hot shower. The bed and beer are perfect, shame the showers are a bit flaky, taking ages to warm up then going scolding hot then cold again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with consistent hot water supply. If you can't walk well then get one near facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_of_Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corcovado National Park
35 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
324 reviews
9.5 km away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
484 reviews
8.4 km away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
9.2 km away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
192 reviews
37.1 km away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge

Address: Peninsula de Osa, Corcovado, Corcovado National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Corcovado National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Corcovado National Park
Price Range: RM3,586 - RM3,966 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above a palm-fringed beach in tropical gardens, and surrounded by 170 acres of pristine rainforest, Casa Corcovado is the ultimate combination of luxurious comfort and adventure - a place where you can spot big cats on jungle trails, have an entire beach to yourselves, snorkel with manta rays, and relax with a gin and tonic by the pool. The tranquil hilltop setting means awe-inspiring views and the best of the both ocean and rainforest breezes. The lovely bungalows are spaced throughout the lush garden for maximum peace and privacy. Casa Corcovado offers the closest accommodation to Corcovado National Park, the crown jewel of Costa Rica's extraordinary, world-renowned national park system. As the two protected areas lie side by side, guests are able to access the national park on foot via the hotel's private trails - just one of the many guided tours on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Corcovado Jungle Hotel Corcovado National Park
Hotel Casa Corcovado Jungle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing