We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers meets IKEA with added snark”
Review of Hotel Villas Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villas Gaia
Reviewed 21 January 2017

The restaurant service on the evening of our stay (2nd Jan 2017) reached a level most comedy capers only dream of. Table? No, I don't think so. Drinks? Only if you wait 45 mins. Wine? Nope sorry, fresh out of wine. Oops, just found some, in the freezer, but no glasses. Oh yes, true the tables are all covered with used crockery cutlery and, er, dirty glasses. Food? Well if you must (actually it wasn't that bad). Clean towels? Sorry none of those, whoops I just tripped over a huge pile of them.

We wanted to walk to the waterfall and I asked, how far? I kilometre we were told. So we strode off in flip-flops, swimming costumes, pareos. After 1 kilometre I started asking people the way to the waterfall, and received baffled looks in response. After 3 km we reached tumbleweed, accompanied by a lame, but game, tiny dog. After 5 km we found a group of young women bathing in a natural pool, horrified to be seen. We heard the waterfall, true, but couldn't see it. At this point night was falling. We'd forded a stream, braved a pack of more vocal dogs, worn out our shoes & patience. So we stuck out a thumb and were driven back over the ford, past the dogs, through the village, across the bridge to our hotel by a cool, amused, competent young woman & her friends who squeezed us into an ancient station wagon among the cylinders of gas. Thanks friends, you saved our lives (ish). Back at the hotel I found a whole noticeboard explaining that the waterfall was a 10km round trip and permission had to be sought from the local residents to visit it! It was nearly funny. Nearly.

Oh, good pool. And ocean view. And, amusingly, an honesty bar.

Room Tip: Ours was OK but very noisy, major road outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Susie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Quaint and comfortable eco hotel with bungalows set in a lush rainforest setting that is built in harmony with nature!

The staff is super friendly and warm and inviting!

Food is also very good!

The nearby attractions include waterfalls, outstanding beaches, some with tourists, and many hidden secret gems.

You will enjoy your stay if you want to experience the culture, do not mind a touch of rustic comfort.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Terraba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

For the price you pay this place is gorgeous. The rooms could use some upgrading if that matters to you. Me and my family spend most of our vacations outside the rooms so it didn't bother us. The food at the restaurant was very good. The pool and Cabana had the most amazing view of the jungle were you could watch the sunset.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lauren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Nice bed. Bungalow looks old. Breakfast basic for the price you pay. Not much to do in the area accept to go whalewatching or go to a beach. You need a car to go to a swim friendly beach. Playa tortuga is to rough for swimming. Beautifull for a walk tho. Pool was nice.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maartennig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

My husband and I stayed here 10 years ago and have been wanted to go back ever since. It was a tropical paradise! We loved our room in the lush rainforest, watching the monkeys play in the trees, encountering a sloth hanging out in a tree on our way to breakfast in the open air restaurant. I'll never forget the delicious watermelon drink I had, surrounded by bright red and green foliage and listening to the frogs sing to us!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfwalker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Tortuga
1.6 km away
Alma de Ojochal
Alma de Ojochal
#1 of 5 in Ojochal
239 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Lookout at Playa Tortuga
14.8 km away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 13 in Uvita
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
El Castillo Hotel
El Castillo Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ojochal
270 reviews
6.7 km away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
19.4 km away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Gaia

Address: Costanera Sur, Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Playa Tortuga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Tortuga
Price Range: RM 308 - RM 553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Gaia 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villas Gaia offers a home base to experience the wild beauty of Costa Rica's southwest Pacific coast. One of the most biologically diverse regions on the earth. Strategic location on the new scenic coastal road. Convenient access to Ballena Marine National Park, Cano Island Biological reserve, Corcovado National Park and the most extensive mangrove ecosystem of Central America. Hotel Villas Gaia is 14 colorful bungalows (casitas) separately nestled in a jungle setting offering privacy and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villas Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing