We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villas Gaia
Nearby Hotels
US$107
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$75
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahia Azul Hotel(Uvita)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
89
81
40
26
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
81
40
26
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaocean viewhighest pointindividual cabinsbungalows setthe breakfast areaswimming pooljungle settingprivate villabreakfast was includedrooms are basicthree nightsvillas gaiaacdispenserporchnature
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We drove passed this hotel 3 times before actually finding it as it is poorly sign posted ~ a problem in a lot of Costa Rica!!
We had a garden bungalow which was situated a short walk from reception.
There was a patio with seats and a table at the front of the villa.
The rooms were adequate but simple and quite dark.
The swimming pool was a steep walk up as was the area where breakfast was served.
The evening meals were delicious and varied.
Friendly knowledgeable staff.
There is a lovely cafe a short walk away that was open from 6am until 3pm

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank chloeglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Thankfully we had only booked here for one night as we found the whole atmosphere of the place very strange. The reception and restaurant staff were friendly but unlike other lodges that we stayed in, all the guests here seemed to want to keep themselves to themselves and not to converse with their fellow guests. We had cabin 17, the closest cabin to the road, but weren't too disturbed by traffic noise perhaps because it was Saturday night. The cabin was large but needed brightening up. The bathroom adequate but very plain, the air con worked well. The best thing about the property is the beautiful pool set at the highest point of the property overlooking the Pacific. However, there were just 6 loungers for potentially over 30 guests. None were occupied but they all had other people's towels and hats on them making them unavailable to others. We did have a very good meal in the restaurant. When we booked in, the receptionist asked us at what time would we like breakfast. We replied at 7am as we had a deadline to meet in Golfito the next day. We arrived in the breakfast area 2 minutes before 7 to find all of the 6 breakfast tables already occupied. We had no option but to just grab a drink each and then leave without our breakfast as we could not wait for a table to become free. Despite the heat, there was no free water or juice available. All the cabins appeared to be set in deep jungle foliage keeping them cool but dark.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms closer to the pool if you must stay here
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

The restaurant service on the evening of our stay (2nd Jan 2017) reached a level most comedy capers only dream of. Table? No, I don't think so. Drinks? Only if you wait 45 mins. Wine? Nope sorry, fresh out of wine. Oops, just found some, in the freezer, but no glasses. Oh yes, true the tables are all covered with used crockery cutlery and, er, dirty glasses. Food? Well if you must (actually it wasn't that bad). Clean towels? Sorry none of those, whoops I just tripped over a huge pile of them.

We wanted to walk to the waterfall and I asked, how far? I kilometre we were told. So we strode off in flip-flops, swimming costumes, pareos. After 1 kilometre I started asking people the way to the waterfall, and received baffled looks in response. After 3 km we reached tumbleweed, accompanied by a lame, but game, tiny dog. After 5 km we found a group of young women bathing in a natural pool, horrified to be seen. We heard the waterfall, true, but couldn't see it. At this point night was falling. We'd forded a stream, braved a pack of more vocal dogs, worn out our shoes & patience. So we stuck out a thumb and were driven back over the ford, past the dogs, through the village, across the bridge to our hotel by a cool, amused, competent young woman & her friends who squeezed us into an ancient station wagon among the cylinders of gas. Thanks friends, you saved our lives (ish). Back at the hotel I found a whole noticeboard explaining that the waterfall was a 10km round trip and permission had to be sought from the local residents to visit it! It was nearly funny. Nearly.

Oh, good pool. And ocean view. And, amusingly, an honesty bar.

Room Tip: Ours was OK but very noisy, major road outside.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Susie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Quaint and comfortable eco hotel with bungalows set in a lush rainforest setting that is built in harmony with nature!

The staff is super friendly and warm and inviting!

Food is also very good!

The nearby attractions include waterfalls, outstanding beaches, some with tourists, and many hidden secret gems.

You will enjoy your stay if you want to experience the culture, do not mind a touch of rustic comfort.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Terraba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

For the price you pay this place is gorgeous. The rooms could use some upgrading if that matters to you. Me and my family spend most of our vacations outside the rooms so it didn't bother us. The food at the restaurant was very good. The pool and Cabana had the most amazing view of the jungle were you could watch the sunset.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lauren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews