We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villas Gaia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
89
81
40
26
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
81
40
26
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricaocean viewhighest pointindividual cabinsbungalows setthe breakfast areaswimming pooljungle settingprivate villabreakfast was includedrooms are basicthree nightsvillas gaiaacdispenserporchnature
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Yes, we knew it was located right at the carretera 34. Yes we knew there were some low ratings due to the noise from the lorries and cars passing all night. And therefore we challenged our tour operator that we'd prefer another place. But I guess, it was a big mistake in the end that we let ourselves being convinced by our Dutch tour operator. A mistake. The management is (as everywhere in Costa Rica) super friendly but this doesn't mask up the many deficiencies in the hotel. (1) don't eat there. The food isn't good. Full stop. I ordered a Cazpacho the first evening and it was as if I was handed a bottle of vinegar. The fries of my kids were completely oversalted. The breakfast is way below average in terms of quality and food offering. (2) it is really loud at night - actually all day. Eventhough we had from the start upgraded to their best villa room #9. (3) the bed covers and bed sheets are super old and have ugly stains (even blood stains on the pillow in our room). The only highlight for our kids: the pool. Would I recommend it?

No.

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank MITCH-is-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

This hotel has individual cabins or villas. They are fairly spartan but clean with a comfortable bed and bath. There are few amenities but it is a great place to relax. Other reviewers mentioned highway noises but I wasn't bothered by it. It would be nice if the owners put small mini refrigerators in the rooms and also ice buckets.

Room Tip: Closer to the pool would be advantageous
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank michaeladecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This was our last stop in our 2 week trip to Costa Rica and was a very enjoyable one. The accommodation was rustic but comfortable with AC and the best shower we encountered in Costa Rica. Breakfast was served in the "bar" next to the pool and eggs cooked to order. Dinner was served in the restaurant and was excellent. In fact the food was some of the best we had in Costa Rica. The staff were very friendly and efficient. One highlight was, when we were having breakfast, we saw 10 macaws flying past.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roblynn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Villas Gaia was a sanctuary and a tropical haven. The kind-hearted staff works together to create the serene, clean, and luxurious setting while cultivating a rustic and cozy atmosphere. Our private villa was an oasis—very comfortable, spacious, and complete with AC and private patio. We had front row seats to the tropical world, waking up to howler monkeys and toucans outside our door! The pool over-looks the ocean, and the cooking is top-class and yet affordable. The pina coladas are second to none! We didn’t feel a need to go anywhere else! A special thanks to Alex for his professional yet relaxed service, and setting up our tour to Corcovado National Park (Gaia is only a 40min drive from the boating dock....a must-do day-trip!!)

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mcpb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We drove passed this hotel 3 times before actually finding it as it is poorly sign posted ~ a problem in a lot of Costa Rica!!
We had a garden bungalow which was situated a short walk from reception.
There was a patio with seats and a table at the front of the villa.
The rooms were adequate but simple and quite dark.
The swimming pool was a steep walk up as was the area where breakfast was served.
The evening meals were delicious and varied.
Friendly knowledgeable staff.
There is a lovely cafe a short walk away that was open from 6am until 3pm

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank chloeglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews