We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping in the jungle”
Review of Cacao Monkeys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cacao Monkeys
Reviewed 2 December 2014

This family run hotel with 5 spacious cabins in the jungle is the closest you'll get to the rainforest without actually going on an expedition. Howler monkeys wake you up in the morning, white-faced monkeys join you for breakfast and iguanas and waterbirds frequent the small creek. Spend a relaxed afternoon sitting at the terrace just watching wildlife before your eyes. Or take the 10 minute stroll to town to organise a tour in the park. The cabins are very homey and clean, the family is always helpful and very kind. One thing we sometimes missed was a warm shower, but given the constant warmth outside that is not a real problem. And the setting makes up for it easily!

Room Tip: They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Quiet, rustic cabins on the edge of town with basic but functional accomodation. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and very keen to ensure that you enjoy your stay. The breakfast was very good, beds were comfortable but the bathroom could have been a bit better. Not dirty as such but appeared a bit worn/faded. Good opportunities to observe wildlife without leaving the site. Very peaceful until Costa Rica's natural alarm clock let rip in the morning. Those howler monkeys sure live up to their name.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

First I would like to say: THANK YOU to Patricia, the owner of the Cacao Monkeys. I stayed there with my friends for 4 nights, it was excellent: the birds awaking you, the relax moments on the hammock observing the electric blue butterflies with the noisy sounds of the monkeys. it;s perfect place to start your trip to Corcovado National Park. And last but not the least: fantastic breakfast served over the best in class CostaRican coffee. Plus a lot of helpful information. If you like nature, it;s perfect spot for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A fifteen minute walk from the centre of tiny Puerto Jimenez this really was a lovely spot. The welcome was warm and the cabins were clean and delightful, bathroom was spotless. We lay in bed surrounded by the sounds of the forest and awoke to howler monkeys. Included in the price was a delicious breakfast of pancakes and fruit taken on the veranda overlooking the garden where we watched a basilisk. Amazingly, even though it felt in the middle of nowhere there were even street lamps for the walk into town when we went out for dinner. The roads in the area are stone not tarmac so if you have heavy luggage you can take a taxi for a couple of dollars. Puerto Jimenez is a perfect place as a centre for seeing the rest of the Osa peninsula which is the most beautiful and inaccessible part of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silencingthebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Cacao Monkeys is a great place to stay in Puerto Jimenez. Its a 5 minute walk from downtown - close enough to get to easily from anywhere, far enough to be out of the urban environment to allow you to taste the surrounding rainforest. The property includes trails to explore; guided hikes are available which will allow you to spot wildlife you wouldn't see on your own. Cabins are basic but comfortable. Large fans provide as much cool as you need for easy sleep. While there is no hot water in the shower, the water is warm enough to be comfortable, cool enough to be refreshing. Complimentary breakfast was always delicious. Staff was friendly and helpful - they allowed me to store my bags while I was off hiking in corcovado. Its a beautiful spot; I enjoyed my stay, and would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank robertjames000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
3.2 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
342 reviews
1.0 km away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
74 reviews
1.0 km away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
322 reviews
15.0 km away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
0.7 km away
Cabinas The Corner
Cabinas The Corner
#5 of 13 in Puerto Jimenez
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cacao Monkeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacao Monkeys

Address: Calle del Gimnasio. | Del BM 150mtrs hacia Matapalo. Calle a mano derecha, última propiedad., Puerto Jimenez 12345, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: RM231 - RM453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cacao Monkeys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to visit us and stay in one of our Bungalows surrounded by a small secondary forest really close to Puerto Jiménez centre.Some of the main species of trees in our 3,5ha property are the cocoa tree, ceiba tree and the guarumo tree. Also mammals as the houling monkey, the Squirrel monkey and the capuccin monkey are common visitors. We also count with internal trails.Come and enjoy the Osa Peninsula and it´s intense nature.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cacao Monkeys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing