We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet spot ”
Review of Cacao Monkeys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cacao Monkeys
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Very rustic spot at edge of Puerto Jiménez. Basic cabins in a jungle setting. Friendly owner hosts. Breakfast was great. Nice area to hang out in to have breakfast, read, or just enjoy nature. We saw spider monkeys and macaws right by our cabin.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2017

These little cabinas are not insect or lizard-proof because the walls and doors essentially have gaps in them. We had a little too much wildlife going on to my taste: tons of insects, ants and a gecko. I could not sleep before we set up the mosquito net we had with us. Also very rustic, borderline dirty. To be fair, at around $65 per night, this stay was inexpensive so I guess this is what we paid for. Come with the right expectations.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank losgatosadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We booked this place because of the beautiful photos on the website and good reviews on trip advisor. Though we were disappointed. Indeed the location is great: nice looking wooden cabins in the jungle. And apes on top of the canopy. And walking distance to town centre. But we were in the wet season (although it only rained in evenings and at night) and we found our cabin very, i mean very humid.

Is was so humid that nothing dryed. Quit the opposite: al our clothes stored in the backpacks turned humid as well. More worse: the wood of the cabin seems here and there begon to rotten, and there is a fungus damp inside as well which irritated our nose and throat.

Because of the wood is rotten with some holes some animals come in (we had a bat, mosquitos and some huge crickets) so an mosquito net is usefull. Also there was no (optional) breakfast in this period.

Staff is friendly and helpful. And maybe things are much better in the dry season. For the wet season: there are much better places to stay in Puerto Jimenez for $ 60 a night.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Willem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Cacao Monkeys. The owners and staff were very pleasant. They don't speak English so we had to rely on our very basic Spanish to communicate. Breakfast was ample and delicious and was served at the time we chose. There are a few small trails on their property, which we enjoyed. The cabins are located a short walk from the reception and kitchen area. Our cabin was clean and simple, with a bar fridge, double bed and two twin beds in a loft. I would recommend this cabin for two people or two adults and kids as the loft got very hot. There was a security guard that sat near the cabins for most of the day. We were not told who he was so I was alarmed when I saw him walk by our cabin at night. I would recommend staying here if you're looking for a no-frills cabin in a jungle setting.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KareAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

Super clean!

We stayed at cacao monkeys for 1 night the accommodation is at the edge of town and against the jungle
It has 4 basic cabanas with private bath and a loft to sleep 4
The cabanas are located crossing a small bridge direct next to the restaurant ( wifi) in a natural jungle setting
As other travellers mentioned , yes the howler monkeys are there , so are toucans , morphos, big lizards etc
They have a small trailsystem to explore on your own on the premisses , very neat
We paid $ 50 incl breakfast with coffee eggs and fruit
If you like to be away from the crowds but in walking distance 10 minutes from town and experience a bit of jungle , a good place to stay

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank 123mickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Jimenez
3.2 km away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
342 reviews
1.0 km away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
73 reviews
1.0 km away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
322 reviews
15.0 km away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
0.7 km away
Cabinas The Corner
Cabinas The Corner
#6 of 13 in Puerto Jimenez
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cacao Monkeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacao Monkeys

Address: Calle del Gimnasio. | Del BM 150mtrs hacia Matapalo. Calle a mano derecha, última propiedad., Puerto Jimenez 12345, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Puerto Jimenez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Jimenez
Price Range: RM233 - RM412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cacao Monkeys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to visit us and stay in one of our Bungalows surrounded by a small secondary forest really close to Puerto Jiménez centre.Some of the main species of trees in our 3,5ha property are the cocoa tree, ceiba tree and the guarumo tree. Also mammals as the houling monkey, the Squirrel monkey and the capuccin monkey are common visitors. We also count with internal trails.Come and enjoy the Osa Peninsula and it´s intense nature.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cacao Monkeys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing