We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
23
10
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
10
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san jose costa rica steak fresh oysters seafood calamari fruit lagoon restaurant dinner lots tanks car mangroves airport coffee booking
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

I just checked into the hotel and came downstairs for dinner. The ambiance in the whole place, including the restaurant, is fabulous, elegant and inviting. The steak was huge and a little undercooked for a medium rare, but was probably because the steak was so thick and meaty and tender.
I will let you know about the hotel experience, if TA will let me edit this later.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank LXGXFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Visited the place with a group of 18 persons. Service was a bit slow do to the size of the group. Food was Excellent and the view of the lagoon breathtaking. Place is close to the beach. The fresh lobster is picked out of the fish tanks and taken directly to the kitchen to prepare your plate. Can’t get any fresher than that

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank G2492QCcarlosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We stayed at this small family run hotel for 2 nights prior to going on a Windstar cruise. The owners are orignally from Croatia and make you feel one of the family. Get a room with a balcony overlooking the lagoon. It is a birdwatcher's paradise. Then go downstairs in the fabulous seafood restaurant overlooking the lagoon. The local fishermen deliver their catch early in the morning. We had some of the best seafood we ever had, fresh seabass, grouper, jumbo shrimp, paella valenciana and bouillabaise with a whole lobster tail in it. EXCELLENT. Lots of interesting conversations with the owners who also run a bar across the street with a nice swimming pool the guests of the hotel can use. While dining we saw lots of stingrays and other fish swim by, an unforgettable experience. The owners will drive you to the Windstar embarkation point which you can see from the hotel, no need to take a taxi, what personal service!! We booked a private transfer through booking.com from the airport in San Jose, did not want to rent a car because you must return it to San Jose and our cruise ended in Panama. The private driver was waiting at the airport with a large van and it took 11/2 hrs leisurely drive to this hotel. The transportation was also a lot cheaper than that offered by the cruise line. If we are ever in this part of Costa Rica again will definely stay at Hotel Costa Del Sol.

Room tip: Ask for room with balcony. Rooms have very good AC
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mckinneyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Never stayed in the hotel but have been going there for lunch many times over the years.It's well worth the drive from San Jose. We get there early so we can have a front row seat on the balcony and bird watch while we indulge in fresh oysters, lobster, calamari and other seafood delicacies, including whole grilled fish. Try the Red Snapper, couldn't be fresher and is delicious.The service is top-notch and some of the wait staff speak English.They will provide a doggy bag if your appetite is unable to handle the large portions, or eat a whole fish. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank intrepidtraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Great seafood restaurant, good clean rooms (get one with a window, some are windowless), and walking distance to beach. Lots of birds, since the hotel sit on the waterfront in a lagoon near mangroves.

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews