We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
83
93
36
13
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
93
36
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nicoya peninsula pool area is stayed one night face cloths costa rica san jose nice hotel no hot water apartment hairdryer units replacing remote iguanas adventure locals
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Needed to find a place to stay that was within a couple hour of San Jose. Drove down to the light house walked around a little bit seems like Puntarenas has seen better days lots of closed down places. Stayed in the towers rooms were nice suite living room kitchenette 1 bedroom washer and dryer in room 1 and 1/2 bathrooms. went down to the bar and had a nice dinner next morning breakfast was complimentary.

Room tip: Tower suites have washer and dryer in room
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BobHPhoenix_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear BobHPhoenix_Arizona

We are happy that you found the best place to stay at Puntarenas, as our Tower Suites. Thank you for your nice review, and for recomending Puerto Azul Boutique Resort.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for four days. The hotel mainly caters to locals but the staff are friendly and front desk staff will help arrange tours if you have a specific company or make phone calls on your behalf.

Breakfast was included and was hearty, full meal.

The pool area was lively w a DJ on weekends, a full service bar, and plenty of lounge chairs.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 883erinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Director de Recepción at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Erin C.

Thank you for your nice review of our resort.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina.

We appreciate you have taken time for telling the web that, this is the best hotel in Puntarenas.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

We checked into this "hotel" went to the room and took a look around the shabby, dirty falling down room, went for a walk around the dirty, overcrowded and never maintained ince 1965 pool area. And checked out 30 mins later.. I wouldn't recommend this dump to campers.. you would be safer sleeping on the beach.
Disgusting

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Mary T.

Thank you very much for your review, we take our guest's satisfaction seriously so, i'd like to invite you to contact me to provide me more details of your stay so we can take your suggestions to consideration to enhance our services.

Please feel free to mail me to info@hotelclubpuertoazul.com.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We stayed one night in Feb 2018 prior to taking the day-long cruise to Isla Tortuga. They upgraded us complimentary to a one bedroom apartment. Clean, spacious, modern. Everything functioning nicely. Staff was courteous. Decent dinner and breakfast poolside. It is a gated, guarded entrance so we felt fine leaving our car all day long. Really good value!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CynthiainChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi CynthiainChicago, Greetings for Puntarenas.

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina.

I'd like to thank you, as well, for letting us know the great experience you had staying with us. Specially for recognizing our staff as one of the best things we have.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

This old hotel (Colonial) now redesigned and transformed into a nice tiny hotel is located 1 hour away from San Jose. The staff is nice. Should change the towels and bedding to keep it status. Had a little mouse visit us at 3 am...no big deal.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank vmv205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi Viviana M.

Thank you for staying at Puerto Azul Boutique Resort and Marina.

We aprreciate your review, as you mantion, our property's lacation es perfect for getaways, in case you get tired of jams and stress we offer a new Oasis of joy and relaxation just about an hour away.

We are alreadey looking forward to serve you again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews